We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Strasburg is now a favorite start-off place for the Shenandoah National Park and we gladly go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Strasburg

Save Saved
You added Hotel Strasburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Strasburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   213 S. Holliday Street, Strasburg, VA 22657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hotel Strasburg is now a favorite start-off place for the Shenandoah National Park and we gladly go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

http://www.hotelstrasburg.com/
213 South Holliday Street, Strasburg, VA 22657

We had booked two double rooms [we are a family of four with two teenagers], 1 night, for a total of $166.60, which I think is very good value for the money.
On October 18th, 2012, we drove from our home outside Philadelphia down to Strasburg in Virginia, and made the mistake to go through Baltimore and Washington DC which was completely jammed with traffic. The trip should have taken about 4 hours, if we’d follow the roads that MapQuest pointed out, but it took about 7hours instead, so we couldn’t try their dinner menu. Anyway we just wanted to get a good night sleep before continuing the next day up in the Appalachian Mountains on the Skyline Drive through the Shenandoah National Park, watching trees in all shades of colors from green to red. That was really gorgeous!

The experience of this hotel was amazing and we would have spent many more nights here if we’d known beforehand what a nice hotel it was. The staff is knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful. The hotel offers very nice and clean rooms with comfortable beds. We came down to the bar a little late [after they had closed it] that evening but they “opened” it just for us and we could sit down with the owner for a little chat while sipping a glass of wine, which made us feel at home. The next morning we had a great breakfast [buffet or a la carte], before driving into the mountains.
Thank You! We will come back!
They have 29 rooms so book early and arrive early, if you are heading this way.

THE HOTEL. It’s a Victorian-style hotel in Strasburg that features on-site dining. Cable TV and free Wi-Fi are available in every room. Each room features uniquely decorated Victorian style furnishings. Hotel Strasburg Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Signature burgers, seafood, beef and veal are offered. The Depot Lounge serves wings and beer. Live music can be heard on Thursday evenings. If you are interested in museums the Stonewall Jackson Museum is just 1 mile away. Wayside Theatre is 5.9 miles from Strasburg Hotel and Belle Grove Plantation is 4.8 miles away.

THE SHENANDOAH NATIONAL PARK AREA. Strasburg is just about 7 miles from the starting point [Front Royal is the actual name of the little village were the “Skyline Drive” starts] of The Shenandoah Valley which is both a geographic valley and cultural region of western Virginia and West Virginia in the United States. The valley is bounded to the east by the Blue Ridge Mountains, to the west by the eastern front of the Ridge-and-Valley Appalachians. The cultural region covers a larger area that includes all of the valley plus the Virginia highlands to the west, and the Roanoke Valley to the south.
Our last stop in the south was in the town Roanoke, before we went back up again to Philadelphia via highway 81 north, which is a very easy, fast and convenient road.
The word Shenandoah is of unknown Native American origin. The most popular, romanticized belief is that the name comes from a Native American expression for "Beautiful Daughter of the Stars", which I think is very appropriate since it’s a real star among parks.

Room Tip: This hotel is a true “pearl” as a starting-point when going to THE SHENANDOAH NATIONAL PARK and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    40
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
13
65
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hobe Sound
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We discovered this hotel accidentally traveling down route 81 from New Jersey to Florida. The first time happened to be a Thursday night when the bar features live music. The small bar was packed with locals, the food was delicious and the two musicians were also locals, not young, but incredibly good playing guitar and singing the American songbook. When we discovered the hotel is dog-friendly we booked a room for the trip back north. As the other reviews note, the hotel, originally a small private hospital, has been converted into a charming small hotel, not glamorous, but thoughtfully decorated to express its vintage. The staff is welcoming and the rooms, quite small but nicely appointed. A nice continental breakfast is offered. We found the town perfectly charming and would not think of making our twice-a-year pilgrimage without planning around a Thursday night stop-over at Hotel Strasburg.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not just an overnight stay for a reasonable price. We were looking for an unusual place to stay while visiting the Shenandoah Valley and discovered this old fashioned hotel, right down to the bell on the front desk. Complete with creaky foors and a long wooden staircase, this is more museum than a hotel. Lots of history here. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Let me first say that hotel Strasburg is not your regular hotel with lots of luxuries. If that's what you are looking for this is not the place for you. It's a quaint vintage hotel with the warmth and comfort of your grand mothers house. The rooms are not fancy, but they are charming and different. We stayed for one night and slept very well. It was so relaxing. We really needed a nice inexpensive getaway and this was it! I would go visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlion, PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

this is an amazing hotel with the quaint charm and distinct look of the victorian era from the exterior to the rooms. the staff where just as pleasant and welcoming as they must have been in that time as well! each room was decorated and set up in the period even the pub and the dining rooms. if your looking for charm and something that is different this is the place.

Room Tip: all of the rooms were beautiful if there is something specific your looking for just ask when you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Very nice stay. 3rd floor king room was nice size , clean and comfortable. Very accommodating staff. Stairs could be daunting for elderly or handicapped. Dining room was lovely. The bar appeared to be nice. Prices were reasonable to cheap on the menu. Many quaint civil war era prints hanging throughout the hotel. Adequate parking in the hotel lot or on the street.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, WI
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We love to visit unusual historic hotels. This hotel was up to all our expectations. Although the room is small it had all the amenities. The hotel is a a gem. The bed was great, service and staff very accommodating. A wonderful restaurant. It felt like a hotel we would use in Europe. The price was also very reasonable. it is also fun to see the doors open to the unused rooms like a B&B to compare and note for further reference. We had a room on the 3rd floor so with no elevator had to cart our bags up the two flight of stairs but that adds to the charm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Strasburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Strasburg

Address: 213 S. Holliday Street, Strasburg, VA 22657
Location: United States > Virginia > Strasburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Strasburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Strasburg was originally built as a private hospital in 1902 run by Dr. M.R. Bruin. Later in the 1900's the Hotel became a well-known place of lodging and dining in the Shenandoah Valley. Restored to Victorian Age elegance in 1978, its guest register in the lobby reflects a truly cosmopolitan parade of visitors from across the nation and around the world. The property is located about 70 miles from Northern VA and Washington DC in the historic district of downtown Strasburg, VA. It features a fine dinning restaurant and a quaint Pub and friendly staff. Provides Weddings and Wedding receptions as well as Banquete; Catering Services, and customized special occasion events. For outdoor adventure, trek into the wilds of the Shenandoah National Forest, the Massanutten Mountains, and the breathtaking Skyline Drive. Enjoy the many hiking, canoeing, or horseback riding opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Strasburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Strasburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.