We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy atmosphere, good service, great crust” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Corleone's Brick Oven Pizza

Don Corleone's Brick Oven Pizza
21018 Southbank St, Sterling, VA 20165
7034444959
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 190 Restaurants in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza, Sandwiches, Delicatessen
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cozy atmosphere, good service, great crust”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Nice, cozy place. I ordered The Chorizo pizza -- chorizo (sausage) with red peppers. Loved the soft crust, the cheese and the sauce. Kinda thought the red peppers overwhelmed the chorizo. But I’ll be back. I’ll just go with something else next time. Service was friendly and brisk. Note: The Don’s doesn’t serve beer or alcohol.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Okay, this is really good pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is truly some really good pizza. It's so good you just want to be alone while you eat this so you could savor and "yummm" to your heart's content! Pizza is made with absolutely fresh ingredients, everything, and you can tell. It does not claim, nor is it anything like a large greasy NYC pizza, not that there's anything wrong with that, you won't be disappointed. Dining there is fine, not fancy, and have tables to sit on the sidewalk. My family loves this place, but be warned, you will pay top dollar for the freshness. Did I mention how ridiculously good the pepperoni is?

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Awesome Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Found Don's Pizza to be the best pizza in the area. Excellent flavor with a great, crisp crust and a well balanced tomato sauce. Also tried the cannoli's which were awesome as well.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best (non chain) Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I'm not a fan of the Papa, Dominos or the Hut so if you're looking for some real NY Style pizza- the Don is the way to go!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, Virginia
1 review
“A pizza you can't refuse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I consider myself a pizza connoisseur, having eaten at literally hundreds of different pizza places around the world over the last fifty years. I can tell you, the Don's is without a doubt in the top 5 of all time. I have brought dozens of people here in the last two years, and always say to them, "If you don't think this is the best pizza in the area, lunch is on me." I have yet to have to pay for anyone else's lunch.

To start with, the Don's has a true wood-fired pizza oven that not only makes for a delicious flavor, but the pizza cooks in a hurry, no long wait at all. I have tried several of their specialty pizzas, and have to say that the "Sicilian Hit" is easily the best meat-lovers pizza I have ever had anywhere. It comes with sausage, pepperoni, ham and meatballs. Personally, I tend to have them take off the meatballs and add extra cheese. The sauce is never excessive or absent, it is always just right.

If you have an issue with gluten, no worries - the Don's has gluten-free pizza. Not in the mood for a pizza? Their chicken caesar salad is excellent!

The owner is a great guy who, if given half the chance, will gladly spend 20 minutes talking with you. He is also friends with a number of the Washington Redskins, and many of their autographed pictures adorn the walls.

There is a small terrace with outdoor seating which is always fun when the temperatures allow.

If I were pressed to say something negative, I would have to say that the prices are a little on the high side, and that the decor is nothing to write home about. Frankly, I have no objection paying a little more for high quality food, and I go there for the pizza more than the atmosphere, so these are inconsequential to me.

If you love pizza and are within 25 miles of the Don's, do yourself a favor and come on over for the best pizza in Northern Virginia - bar none.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Corleone's Brick Oven Pizza also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Don Corleone's Brick Oven Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Corleone's Brick Oven Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.