We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for a Dulles airport hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22700 Holiday Park Drive, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersGold level
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“good value for a Dulles airport hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hampton continues to impress me all over the USA. A very clean hotel with a good bed and large rooms. they have a very good breakfast and coffee and water available 24 hours a day.
the Hotel shuttle arrived promptly at the airport after our call. The most important thing for a airport Hotel is a safe, reliable shuttle that is available 24 hours a day for those of us that travel late at night or early in the morning.

Room Tip: 24 hour airport shuttle is a huge bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    66
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
69
61
37
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stood at this hotel on August 1, 2013 for one night due to I missed my flight to Orlando. It was very clean, the bed in my room was so comfortable. Their coffee was very good, although I didn't get to eat their hot breakfast it looked edible. Overall their customer service was phenomenal!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I decided on a Friday to take the family on a quick weekend getaway to see our Nation's capital. I booked the hotel at 10:30pm the night before we left and not only got a great price, but the room had 2 queen sized beds and a complimentary HOT breakfast! When we arrived the lobby was beautiful and the staff were very helpful, even guiding us on how to utilized the city's metro station! The room was spotless, the beds comfortable and the breakfast was absolutely delicious! Would definately recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSuitesDulles, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Tara E -

I am so glad to hear that your family weekend stay was great. We pride ourselves on a clean, comfortable hotel with excellent staff. Should you return to the area we would love for you and your family to stay with us!

Kristen Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Free shuttle from airport to the hotel and back. The rooms were spacious, clean, well appointed, and nice bathroom. The buffet breakfast (part of the fee) was absolutely wonderful. Loads of choices, including make-your-own waffles. Coffee was so good that they kept running out, but replaced quick enough. The cost was moderate for this area, but it was nice. One problem was no meals late at night. TIP: a taxi to mid DC is about $60, but the hotel will provide free shuttle to the airport, and from there you can get the bus for only $6. It leaves every 30 minutes and is comfy and easily takes luggage.

Room Tip: All rooms were the same, so nice. Gym and little pool were adequate.
See more room tips
Green Features: To keep down labor costs they use disposable plastic everything -- cups, breakfast dishes, cutlery. A shame.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Every time I stay at this hotel, everything is always great! I arrived late at night at the airport, the shuttle was waiting for us when we walked outside. We got to the hotel, check in was efficient, the beds were comfortable, and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Yes, this hotel is convenient, efficient and comfy.

++++ : located at 6 minutes by shuttle from IAD, check in is fast and efficient, staff is quick and nice. Rooms are very large and efficient, for business, you get a desk in the room. Special thanks for the great pillows, very very comfy.

++++ : There is a laundry room you can use for free in the hotel (which can be convenient if you stay one night so that you do not have to do laundry back home). The breakfast is more than correct, with plenty of choices, and quality of correct as well for a complimentary coffee. There is a nice business center. I did try the pool or the fitness center.

---- : pick up! There is no phone at the airport to call them and ask to be picked up at the airport. OK, everyone has a phone, right? I called them, and it took 30 minutes for the shuttle to get at the airport to pick us up. TOO LONG ! Especially when the hotel is located at 6 minutes (exact time) from the pick up area. All other shuttles were coming and leaving the pick up area at regular intervals, but not ours! It seems that hotels may have several shuttles whereas Hampton Inn has only one?

----- : no restaurant option in the hotel, you have to walk (which can be not a problem, but can be) for about 7 minutes to get a burger joint.

Overall, I recommend the place, this is a good comfy option.

Room Tip: Had a room on 4th floor which was great
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent, part a a great eco initiative to recycle, use less, and reduce water and plastic consumption
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSuitesDulles, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m glad that we were able to meet your expectations. It is so rewarding to know that we were able to satisfy all your needs and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the shuttle wait time, our hotel is 4.4 miles from the airport and it will take us at least 10 minutes one way. Sometimes the wait time is longer due to traffic. Our shuttle is constantly making trips back and forth from the airport so you might have missed the initial pick up and had to wait for it to return. However, we will make sure that we improve and keep on pushing for lesser wait time. I thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope to see you soon.

Nick Shrestha
Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites Dulles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in early August to celebrate his uncle's surprise 90th birthday party. We were pleasantly surprised by how new everything was; the carpet appeared to be recently laid, and the rooms, public areas, and hallways were fresh and sparkling.

We learned that the hotel is only about six years old. It is convenient to Dulles International Airport, Ashburn, and other northern VA towns,and shopping and restaurants at Dulles Town Center. It is also very close to many antique shops, wineries, and Tyson's Corner Mall. The location is excellent.

Because we stayed on a weekend, we had very reasonable rates. We had the choice of a king room with extra large whirlpool tub or a king suite with sofa bed and kitchenette (extra sink, microwave, and mini-fridge) for just $80 (AAA rate). We took the latter and were delighted with the spaciousness and quiet of the room and hallways. The pillowtop mattress was extremely comfortable!

Our only complaint was that while the pool (indoor) was usable, it was definitely not warm enough to be comfortable. I eventually got in, but my husband wasn't able to handle the chilly temperature. He headed to the hot tub only to learn that while the water was hot, the jets weren't working. We inquired and were told that they were awaiting a part. This was very frustrating, particularly given the temperature of the pool.

Otherwise we had a lovely stay. The breakfast offerings were better than most Hamptons (three hot choices instead of two) and the breakfast seating area was huge. And while we didn't use then, there is a great fitness room and good business center.

We'll certainly give this Hampton a second chance since we have family in the area, but we'll hope to find a warmer swimming pool and working hot tub.

Room Tip: Laundry facilities are on the second and fourth floors, but the fifth floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport

Address: 22700 Holiday Park Drive, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sterling
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#2 Business Hotel in Sterling
#3 Green Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles Airport provides lodging near Dulles Airport and Dulles Town Center. We are conveniently located near area attractions, such as Chantilly Expo Center, Wolf Trap and Nissan Pavilion entertainment venues. We are positioned near the brand new National Air and Space Museum Dulles Annex - Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center. Additionally, we are in the heart of the Route-28 business corridor, which affords close proximity to area businesses like America Online and Fair Oaks Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sterling
Sterling Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.