We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22700 Holiday Park Drive, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersGold level
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed at this hotel over Labor Day. Great location, close to Metro, and Reagan Airport. Good breakfast and very nice staff. Short walking distance to area dining, and 7 Eleven store. Underground shopping mall is also near.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    62
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
68
59
36
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

going on a 3 week trip, they were so kind about caring for us and our car. the shuttle to the airport was uber-efficient. there's a small pool with a jacuzzi, nice after a transatlantic flight. the breakfast was plentiful. the staff seemed genuinely concerned about us and recognized us on our return. hard to believe, but small town feel in a big city in a big hotel. would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: our room was huge! i think we ended up with a handicapped room somehow, but the beds were comfy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night and we're very impressed with this Hampton. It served it's purpose perfectly. Nice room -- clean and comfy. The breakfast was satisfying -- better than the average continental ones at other hotels. I would recommend and would stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here twice due to flights through Dulles. On both occasions, the amenities and customer service were superb. The rooms were spacious, clean, well-maintained, and well-equipped. The complimentary breakfast was well done and the breakfast room space more than sufficient for the guests. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. On our second visit when I asked about the possibility of a room with a refrigerator for some perishable items, the desk clerk upgraded us to a suite at the same room rate. While the location is a bit far from downtown DC, it is perfect for Dulles flights. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I can't really add much to the other reviews except to add that there are many, many touring groups that pass through here on a daily basis. In the mornings, they are waiting to board their buses and really clog up the breakfast area with their suitcases so it's easier just to carry food back to your room because there's no seats. I've never had a problem with the food running out, but if you're leary of crowds in the morning this isn't the place to go.

Also, the maids are very busy cleaning the rooms for the people coming in and out, so if you're staying there for longer than one day don't expect your room to be cleaned. After 2 days of no cleaning, I requested a time and was rudely told by the desk clerk, 'we'll get to you when we get to you.' They didn't get to me that day either.

For some reason our key would stop working at least once a day and we'd have to go down for a new one (usually waiting for others to be checked in first.) Internet was very spotty, sometimes good but never available in the evenings.

On the plus side the laundry is free.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Hello chollmann,

I would like apologize for the experience you had while staying with us at Hampton Inn and Suites Dulles. We strive ourselves on customer service and making sure that all of our guests leave satisfied. I sincerely apologize for the team member’s reaction when you asked for your room to be cleaned. I can assure you this is not the type of service the hotel provides and this is unacceptable.

You are correct that we do get many tour groups in the summer season and sometimes our breakfast area does get a little busy. We usually set aside a meeting room for our tour groups where they can have breakfast and this way it avoids the high volume traffic in the breakfast area. On days that all of our meeting rooms are occupied, we are unable to set aside the extra room for tour groups. Our Breakfast team works hard to ensure food is refilled quickly and tables in the breakfast area are cleaned as quickly as possible.

Hampton stands behind our 100% Hampton Guest Satisfaction Guarantee and we would be more than happy to apply this to your stay. Please contact the hotel directly and we can take care of this for you. Again, I am very sorry about your experience and I hope that next time you are in the area you will give us another try.
Sincerely,

Kristen Robertson
General Manager Hampton Inn and Suites Dulles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Our family suffered an extended power outage in July 2012 and I had the foresight to reserve a room right after the power failure for a couple of nights. By 10AM the next morning, you couldn't buy a hotel room in metro DC due to over a million homes being without power. When we checked in at the appointed time, the desk was understandably a madhouse and we had to wait about 45 minutes to get our room. Once in the room, it was typical late-model Hampton decor, tastefully done and comfortable (2 queens). The only negative we experienced during our stay was the lack of cooling in our room. We were never able to get the room lower than 75F and it was most uncomfortable sleeping at night. However, it sure beat 90F in our powerless home. I brought this to the attention of the front desk three separate times and they said they would take care of it but nothing was ever addressed. I am a Diamond Hilton Honors member and spend 60-80 nights a year, almost exclusively at Hilton properties. Given the helter skelter nature of the three nights we spent at this Hampton, I understand the problems of keeping up with every crisis that presents itself to the hotel staff. However, I would think that I would've received some type of update as to the cooling problem. After the third night with little sleep due to the warm room, we checked out and moved to a Doubletree up the road a piece.

Overall, a nice Hampton but the customer service could use some polishing. Also, very close to Washington-Dulles airport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We loved this hotel! Very well-kept. Very clean. Breakfast hot & tasty & kept well-stocked by cheerful people. Only small problems: the internet connection in our room was broken, but they would have moved us had we asked; the pool was kept at 85 degrees & was too cold to swim in comfortably; wish our room could have gotten a little cooler, but we were there during a heat wave. Wasn't bad - just a degree or two too warm for my taste.

We could have stayed in a Marriott for the same price but it wouldn't have had any breakfast unless you purchased it.

Our room was clean & cleaned well every day. We were there a week. Breakfast menu changed some & there was lots of variety. We had several people & everyone was happy with the breakfast every day. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport

Address: 22700 Holiday Park Drive, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sterling
#1 Business Hotel in Sterling
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#2 Family Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles Airport provides lodging near Dulles Airport and Dulles Town Center. We are conveniently located near area attractions, such as Chantilly Expo Center, Wolf Trap and Nissan Pavilion entertainment venues. We are positioned near the brand new National Air and Space Museum Dulles Annex - Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center. Additionally, we are in the heart of the Route-28 business corridor, which affords close proximity to area businesses like America Online and Fair Oaks Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sterling
Sterling Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.