We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty nice Hamtpon and reasonable for the area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22700 Holiday Park Drive, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersGold level
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pretty nice Hamtpon and reasonable for the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Our family suffered an extended power outage in July 2012 and I had the foresight to reserve a room right after the power failure for a couple of nights. By 10AM the next morning, you couldn't buy a hotel room in metro DC due to over a million homes being without power. When we checked in at the appointed time, the desk was understandably a madhouse and we had to wait about 45 minutes to get our room. Once in the room, it was typical late-model Hampton decor, tastefully done and comfortable (2 queens). The only negative we experienced during our stay was the lack of cooling in our room. We were never able to get the room lower than 75F and it was most uncomfortable sleeping at night. However, it sure beat 90F in our powerless home. I brought this to the attention of the front desk three separate times and they said they would take care of it but nothing was ever addressed. I am a Diamond Hilton Honors member and spend 60-80 nights a year, almost exclusively at Hilton properties. Given the helter skelter nature of the three nights we spent at this Hampton, I understand the problems of keeping up with every crisis that presents itself to the hotel staff. However, I would think that I would've received some type of update as to the cooling problem. After the third night with little sleep due to the warm room, we checked out and moved to a Doubletree up the road a piece.

Overall, a nice Hampton but the customer service could use some polishing. Also, very close to Washington-Dulles airport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    62
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
68
59
36
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We loved this hotel! Very well-kept. Very clean. Breakfast hot & tasty & kept well-stocked by cheerful people. Only small problems: the internet connection in our room was broken, but they would have moved us had we asked; the pool was kept at 85 degrees & was too cold to swim in comfortably; wish our room could have gotten a little cooler, but we were there during a heat wave. Wasn't bad - just a degree or two too warm for my taste.

We could have stayed in a Marriott for the same price but it wouldn't have had any breakfast unless you purchased it.

Our room was clean & cleaned well every day. We were there a week. Breakfast menu changed some & there was lots of variety. We had several people & everyone was happy with the breakfast every day. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Being new to planning larger events, I found plenty of assistance through HotelPlanner.com. The ease of the site, the constant attention to details, the prices we were able to negotiate were beyond excellent!
The Hampton staff were amazing, attentive to our varied needs and became personal friends!
Over 30 rooms were booked with 45+ total. We had an amazing time. The facility was clean, accommodating, classy, with a friendly atmosphere! The shuttles were readily available.
Not a single complaint, WOW! Everyone was impressed and satisfied!

Room Tip: Most of us choose the King Suites and were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed at this Inn just one night. We had a very early flight so did not have a chance to partake in the breakfast. The one and only complaint we have is that the comforter/duvet on the bed was too heavy and we were awakened many times as we were overheated. When throwing off the comforter for a bit, we would become chilled and try the comforter again only to get overheated again. In fairness, we have experienced this at numerous hotels during our travels - although the comforters/duvets are pretty, they are not practical. This hotel & others would be much better served by going back to blankets, or at the very least, provide a choice to the guests by providing blankets that could be interchanged with the comforter if they so chose.
The woman that was on duty when we checked in was very friendly and helpful - she should be commended by the hotel. Also, when we checked out our bill was ready & all was correct. The shuttle driver was waiting, even though it was 4:30AM. The wifi service was excellent and never dropped out of sync. The A/C worked very well and we were able to adjust it to our liking. Although there is no restaurant at this hotel they do offer the option of ordering from local restaurants which will deliver to the room. A service we used and it worked amazingly well. We would stay again at this Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed here for work. Checked in very late and decided to order room service since we had been on the road all day. Room service was awful.

Chicken was bad, other chicken order tasted stale. However, when I called the restaurant, they remedied the situation, but I warn you, don't eat at this restaurant -- way overpriced for what I experienced. Room delivery guy was very friendly and genuinely felt bad about the situation.

No refrigerator to store "extra" food that the hotel gave us, so $75.00 worth of room service ended up spoiling.

Now, the positives: unbelievably comfortable bed, spotless, impeccably clean. Tv was easy to use and the free wifi helped, especially since I had a few deadlines that I had to meet. Staff, overall, was friendly. We rented 9+ rooms and had a function at this hotel the next day. The staff was great at meeting my last-minute requests for room set-up.

Overall, would stay here again, but would NOT eat at O'Malley's.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I found this hotel quite by accident during the aftermath of the June storm that knocked out power to more than a million homes in Metro DC, including mine, in 100+F heat. I arrived sight unseen after calling the Hilton 800 number. Very comfortable stay. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The location is excellent for Dulles, and for "stay, park and fly" travelers who want to save money on airport parking.

Excellent decor, well-maintained. Great hot self-serve breakfast.

The only potential negative is that the best access is via a toll road from eastern Washington and environs (or if you can use the free Dulles Airport Access road if you have "business" to conduct there on the airport grounds); otherwise, it's a circuitous toll-avoidance route to get from DC or other areas.

Nice savings for AAA and AARP members, too.

Room Tip: Wireless Internet is spotty, especially at the ends of the halls. Even the wired service is no spee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just got back from Washington DC. Stayed at this hotel. Great room, good breakfast. Really good value for money. The staff are excellent, nothing is too much trouble. Cookies, coffee and apples always on tap. The shuttle to/from the airport and the Udver-Hazy Centre was so convenient. But the best thing of all is the staff - so efficient and helpful. On our last day they sorted out a problem with our luggage (totally our fault I hasten to add) so full marks to them. Can't recommend this high enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport

Address: 22700 Holiday Park Drive, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sterling
#1 Business Hotel in Sterling
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#2 Family Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles Airport provides lodging near Dulles Airport and Dulles Town Center. We are conveniently located near area attractions, such as Chantilly Expo Center, Wolf Trap and Nissan Pavilion entertainment venues. We are positioned near the brand new National Air and Space Museum Dulles Annex - Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center. Additionally, we are in the heart of the Route-28 business corridor, which affords close proximity to area businesses like America Online and Fair Oaks Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sterling
Sterling Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.