We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good experience, but stay away from O'Malley's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22700 Holiday Park Drive, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersGold level
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overall good experience, but stay away from O'Malley's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed here for work. Checked in very late and decided to order room service since we had been on the road all day. Room service was awful.

Chicken was bad, other chicken order tasted stale. However, when I called the restaurant, they remedied the situation, but I warn you, don't eat at this restaurant -- way overpriced for what I experienced. Room delivery guy was very friendly and genuinely felt bad about the situation.

No refrigerator to store "extra" food that the hotel gave us, so $75.00 worth of room service ended up spoiling.

Now, the positives: unbelievably comfortable bed, spotless, impeccably clean. Tv was easy to use and the free wifi helped, especially since I had a few deadlines that I had to meet. Staff, overall, was friendly. We rented 9+ rooms and had a function at this hotel the next day. The staff was great at meeting my last-minute requests for room set-up.

Overall, would stay here again, but would NOT eat at O'Malley's.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    73
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
78
66
40
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I found this hotel quite by accident during the aftermath of the June storm that knocked out power to more than a million homes in Metro DC, including mine, in 100+F heat. I arrived sight unseen after calling the Hilton 800 number. Very comfortable stay. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The location is excellent for Dulles, and for "stay, park and fly" travelers who want to save money on airport parking.

Excellent decor, well-maintained. Great hot self-serve breakfast.

The only potential negative is that the best access is via a toll road from eastern Washington and environs (or if you can use the free Dulles Airport Access road if you have "business" to conduct there on the airport grounds); otherwise, it's a circuitous toll-avoidance route to get from DC or other areas.

Nice savings for AAA and AARP members, too.

Room Tip: Wireless Internet is spotty, especially at the ends of the halls. Even the wired service is no spee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just got back from Washington DC. Stayed at this hotel. Great room, good breakfast. Really good value for money. The staff are excellent, nothing is too much trouble. Cookies, coffee and apples always on tap. The shuttle to/from the airport and the Udver-Hazy Centre was so convenient. But the best thing of all is the staff - so efficient and helpful. On our last day they sorted out a problem with our luggage (totally our fault I hasten to add) so full marks to them. Can't recommend this high enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff, good coffee and bfast, clean, and conveniently located

Stayed June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My family of four (two adults and two boys 14 and 12) stayed here for one night after arriving late afternoon from the west coast. I chose this spot so we could visit the Udvar-Hazy Air and Space Museum the next day, before moving on to our longer term stay in Alexandria. It's much more convenient than having to drive back out to Dulles from DC or vicinity, plus it was great being so close to the airport after the long flight.

Aside from being conveniently located near the airport, this Hampton Inn is close to many area restaurants and shopping centers including a Costco, where we stocked up on bottled water for the week.

The hotel itself is fairly typical of Hampton Inn's that I've stayed at, which is generally a good thing. The room itself was a bit small, but not any smaller than other properties, again more consistent than anything else. It was fine for one night, but a week would have been a challenge (we stayed at a Residence Inn in Alexandria for the week).

The public facilities including the pool, spa and exercise room were all in excellent condition and very clean. The exercise room had a sufficient variety of equipment and several TVs including the ability to plug in personal headphones which was very convenient, though I was the only one in the room at the time so I didn't need to use them.

The lobby and breakfast area were nicely furnished and again clean and comfortable. The food typical, but again, not a bad thing. I do like consistency in products which makes for more predictable experiences.

Finally, the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. There's nothing I can complain about this property!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and even though the property is near the highway, did not have any proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This park-and-fly experience could not have been easier or more delightful. Left my car at this property, knowing I was returning 8 days later too late to drive home. First of all, the van drivers were incredibly helpful, even in the driving rain. The desk staff was superior in every way, the property lovely, and the room one of the best I've had in the generally good Hampton chain. The van driver and desk staff made great recommendations for food delivery, which I needed after a long flight from abroad.

But this was what fueled my enthusiasm more than anything else: The hotel was packed with a tour group, so breakfast was very, very busy. Nevertheless, the food was ample, a bit better than most chain "flaked and formed" breakfasts, the attendant was super attentive to the presentation and cleanliness, and cheerfully roamed the room between cleanings with a basket of water, fruit, and snack bars that guests could take with them along with the very good coffee and tea. I'm not accustomed to that perk at this "price point."

This was my first flight out of Dulles, which I would choose again if given a choice of departure airports--both because of the pleasantness of the airport (free wi-fi, a clean and quiet atmosphere, and more) and because of the availability of this particular park-and-fly option.

Room Tip: If you need quiet, ask for a room at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very convenientnif flying into Dulles with free shuttle bus. We stayed for a week and used shuttle daily to IAD then 5a bus to central Washington. As seniors this was a great way to get downtown as only $2 each way for a 40 min bus trip to DC.
Hotel staff were great and shuttle was available to visit local amenities including restaurants etc, Smithsonian Air & Space Museum annexe, which has more exhibitis than the downtown museum.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying near DC.

Room Tip: No restaurant for dinner although breakfast is included. O'Malley's restaurant is within 4 m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport

Address: 22700 Holiday Park Drive, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sterling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#4 Business Hotel in Sterling
#4 Green Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles Airport provides lodging near Dulles Airport and Dulles Town Center. We are conveniently located near area attractions, such as Chantilly Expo Center, Wolf Trap and Nissan Pavilion entertainment venues. We are positioned near the brand new National Air and Space Museum Dulles Annex - Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center. Additionally, we are in the heart of the Route-28 business corridor, which affords close proximity to area businesses like America Online and Fair Oaks Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sterling
Sterling Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.