We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inns are the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22700 Holiday Park Drive, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersGold level
Ware, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hampton Inns are the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just got back from Washington DC. Stayed at this hotel. Great room, good breakfast. Really good value for money. The staff are excellent, nothing is too much trouble. Cookies, coffee and apples always on tap. The shuttle to/from the airport and the Udver-Hazy Centre was so convenient. But the best thing of all is the staff - so efficient and helpful. On our last day they sorted out a problem with our luggage (totally our fault I hasten to add) so full marks to them. Can't recommend this high enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    66
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
69
60
37
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff, good coffee and bfast, clean, and conveniently located

Stayed June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My family of four (two adults and two boys 14 and 12) stayed here for one night after arriving late afternoon from the west coast. I chose this spot so we could visit the Udvar-Hazy Air and Space Museum the next day, before moving on to our longer term stay in Alexandria. It's much more convenient than having to drive back out to Dulles from DC or vicinity, plus it was great being so close to the airport after the long flight.

Aside from being conveniently located near the airport, this Hampton Inn is close to many area restaurants and shopping centers including a Costco, where we stocked up on bottled water for the week.

The hotel itself is fairly typical of Hampton Inn's that I've stayed at, which is generally a good thing. The room itself was a bit small, but not any smaller than other properties, again more consistent than anything else. It was fine for one night, but a week would have been a challenge (we stayed at a Residence Inn in Alexandria for the week).

The public facilities including the pool, spa and exercise room were all in excellent condition and very clean. The exercise room had a sufficient variety of equipment and several TVs including the ability to plug in personal headphones which was very convenient, though I was the only one in the room at the time so I didn't need to use them.

The lobby and breakfast area were nicely furnished and again clean and comfortable. The food typical, but again, not a bad thing. I do like consistency in products which makes for more predictable experiences.

Finally, the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. There's nothing I can complain about this property!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and even though the property is near the highway, did not have any proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This park-and-fly experience could not have been easier or more delightful. Left my car at this property, knowing I was returning 8 days later too late to drive home. First of all, the van drivers were incredibly helpful, even in the driving rain. The desk staff was superior in every way, the property lovely, and the room one of the best I've had in the generally good Hampton chain. The van driver and desk staff made great recommendations for food delivery, which I needed after a long flight from abroad.

But this was what fueled my enthusiasm more than anything else: The hotel was packed with a tour group, so breakfast was very, very busy. Nevertheless, the food was ample, a bit better than most chain "flaked and formed" breakfasts, the attendant was super attentive to the presentation and cleanliness, and cheerfully roamed the room between cleanings with a basket of water, fruit, and snack bars that guests could take with them along with the very good coffee and tea. I'm not accustomed to that perk at this "price point."

This was my first flight out of Dulles, which I would choose again if given a choice of departure airports--both because of the pleasantness of the airport (free wi-fi, a clean and quiet atmosphere, and more) and because of the availability of this particular park-and-fly option.

Room Tip: If you need quiet, ask for a room at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very convenientnif flying into Dulles with free shuttle bus. We stayed for a week and used shuttle daily to IAD then 5a bus to central Washington. As seniors this was a great way to get downtown as only $2 each way for a 40 min bus trip to DC.
Hotel staff were great and shuttle was available to visit local amenities including restaurants etc, Smithsonian Air & Space Museum annexe, which has more exhibitis than the downtown museum.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying near DC.

Room Tip: No restaurant for dinner although breakfast is included. O'Malley's restaurant is within 4 m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I drove from Williamsburg Virginia to fly from Dulles and so stayed a night at the Hampton Inn and Suites there. Warmly greeted by Bambi who had helpful information and a manner that made me feel immediately at home. Mo the airport van driver was also great. Would definitely stay here again when I have another early morning flight.

Room Tip: Great park and drive arrangement. A better rate than extended parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Standard Hampton Inn room was enhanced by an excellent bathroom with a huge shower. But the real highlight here is the staff. I had emailed asking for a late checkout, and when we checked in the desk clerk had already set up a checkout at 1:30 the following day. At Dulles Airport the following afternoon, my husband discovered that he had left his phone charger in the room when we checked out. I called the front desk, and the employee on duty had the room checked while I stayed on the line. The phone charger was found, and the hotel's shuttle driver brought it to us at the airport. We really appreciate the wonderful service!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Hi pegloe,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is always great to hear from our guests.

I would like to start by saying on behalf of the entire team that you are more than welcome. We are very happy to hear that we were able to get you the charger left at the hotel before your flight left.

We look forward to the next time you are in the area or flying out of Dulles airport again and we have another chance to serve you.

Sincerely,

Kristen Robertson
General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites Dulles -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport

Address: 22700 Holiday Park Drive, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sterling
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#2 Business Hotel in Sterling
#3 Green Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles Airport provides lodging near Dulles Airport and Dulles Town Center. We are conveniently located near area attractions, such as Chantilly Expo Center, Wolf Trap and Nissan Pavilion entertainment venues. We are positioned near the brand new National Air and Space Museum Dulles Annex - Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center. Additionally, we are in the heart of the Route-28 business corridor, which affords close proximity to area businesses like America Online and Fair Oaks Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sterling
Sterling Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.