We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Taste of Burma

A Taste of Burma
126 Edds Ln, Sterling, VA 20165-5683
703-444-8510
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 207 Restaurants in Sterling
Cuisines: Burmese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Dropped by for lunch. We ordered fish cake salad which was excellent. For entrees we ordered fish curry and green shrimp curry and both were excellent.

Hats off to the cook.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    19
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pretty good Burmese Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I am originally from Burma, so stating that it is hard to find someone that can duplicate my Mom's cooking, well they are pretty spot on and food is authentic in flavor.

I know the family that runs this restaurant and very pleased with all they have accomplished.

First off the restaurant is clean and decorated very well. The have a shrimp appetizer that is absolutely delicious.

The curries are well made and flavorful. The only negative I would have to bring to the table is the portions are a bit on the small side for the prices they charge. If they could just increase the portions then that would be worth the money going to eat here.

If you have never tried Burmese food I would highly recommend this place. It is definitely worth the visit.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We loved each and every item we ordered (7 items between 3 of us) ! We have been fans of Burmese food ( especially their balachao or dried shrimp mix ) since our teen years. This restuarant (which I recently discovered) did not disappoint . The fish soup needed a bit more kick with more dried shrimp powder and salt but everything else was great. Loved the papaya salad and tapioca coconut dessert. The place was clean. The decor is simple with the requisite amount of real Burmese ( not Chinese or Thai) wall hangings and decorative pieces. The cook ( who is probably also the owner) was very attentive to the guests : she was constantly back and forth between the kitchen and dining area , enquiring after the guests and stopping to chat . We will definitely go back !!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best food I ate all week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Was in Dulles area for a week. Restaurant was a little hard to find (hint: it's close to 7-11) but glad I persevered. Be sure to ask for mild unless you like really spicy! Excellent vegetarian options.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Flavors Galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I visited DC and was not familiar with this type of food. It was overwhelming to the taste-buds!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Taste of Burma also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to A Taste of Burma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Taste of Burma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.