We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding customer service in the snow storm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North to your Saves list
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45520 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Washington Dulles)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“outstanding customer service in the snow storm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

I booked a room at Hotel Sierra for my 65 year old mother while she was traveling from Europe to Denver, via Washington Dulles. Her flight to Denver was cancelled due to the snow storm in Washington, DC, and she had nowhere to go in the middle of the night, after 24 hours of traveling. While all of the hotels in the vicinity of the airport claimed to be fully booked, I came across an available room on hotles.com website and booked it. It was hard to believe, that there would be a room available, and when I tried to contact Hotel Sierra directly, my phone calls did not go through - it turned out the phones were out of order that night. My mother took the shuttle to the hotel, and learnt upon arrival, that there was no rooms, and her reservation went through due to system error. There were about 80 rooms sold that night but hotels.com and expedia.com, that the hotel did not have. Here is where it gets very impressive: hotel employees were very friendly and helpful, and did not turn anyone away. They were offering pillows and blankets, and opening conference rooms for people to stay overnight while waiting for the airport to open. There was also breakfast offered in the morning. My mother ended up getting a room later that night, where she could rest before continuing her journey. She was very happy with her room, breakfast, and check out. This was the first time I heard about Hotel Sierra - due to computer error! - but if I ever travel to a city where there is one, I will make sure to check it out myself. I am very grateful to the hotel employees for taking such good care of my mom, who does not speak much English and was very tired at the time. While there are other choices to stay in the vicinity of Washington Dulles airport, I recommend Hotel Sierra for its outstanding customer service on a snowy, stormy night.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSDullesGeneralMgr, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

It gives me great pleasure to read your review regarding your mother's recent visit at Hotel Sierra. While the snowstorms did cause havoc in the area, it is great to know we able to help turn a negative travel experience into a positive.

Thank you for the glowing comments regarding the staff at the hotel and how they helped the stranded travelers. We take pride in providing great customer service and it sounds like we were successful!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we thank you for recommending to others. We hope to see you soon here in Dulles or at one of our other locations.

In hospitality,
Michael Gouzie, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    85
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
119
68
44
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

The hotel itself is fabulous. The beds were very comfortable. Dirty q-tips on the living room floor in our suite was a pretty big turn off when we first got there. 3 of us in one room and not enough towels. The staff was less than friendly upon check-in. Breakfast was top notch and the morning staff seemed much friendlier than the grouchy condescending little girl that was working the evening shift. Her very poor attitude is enough to keep us from coming back. Who needs that when you just spent four times the price of a Comfort Inn? Beautiful hotel + poor management = WE don't come back. Oh, and one of the rooms was smaller than described. Not that it made a difference, but we were charged extra.

To the hotel Sierra management.should you decide to respond. You chose to do nothing when we were there, I could care less what you and your staff have decided or think at this point. Poor poor top management.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSDullesGeneralMgr, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am pleased to read that you found the beds to be very comfortable and the breakfast top notch.

I am sorry to hear that the combination of an indifferent front desk representative when checking in and your room being unacceptable detracted from what otherwise could have been an enjoyable experience.

I hope an opportunity presents itself for you to return and experience a level of service that Hotel Sierra is known for.

In hospitality,
Michael Gouzie, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

Love, love love this hotel! Beautiful rooms with full kitchen. The beds were wonderful and so comfortable. By far the best sleep we have gotten in a hotel at any price. The blankets were heavy goose down with soft fluffy pillows, and not just one per person, more like three. The fixtures and appliances were very high quality. We just loved everything about the hotel. The staff was wonderful, especially Cesar. My kids loved him so much they asked him to be Facebook friends. The breakfast was amazing, Made to order omelets and delicious danish with fresh orange juice. I can't recommend this hotel enough!!! Can't wait to go back. Just a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSDullesGeneralMgr, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, January 8, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

The best hotel you've ever stayed in is a very nice compliment. Thank you for recognizing the staff as they work hard to ensure every guest has a great experience. We are so glad you loved everything about the hotel and look forward to you staying with us again!

In hospitality,
Michael Gouzie, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

I just loved my room so much that I didn't want to leave the Hotel. Everything about the hotel was more than I expected considering it was only $69. My room had king size bed, a huge sofa, a flat screen TV with free cable, a regular size refrigerator, a stove, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker, all the utensils necessary and more. The bathroom was nice and clean. I stayed one night so I didn't get a chance to use the robe. The computer room was free of charge with printers and everything. After tax the total was $76. Did I say the staff was superb? I will not only recommend this hotel to friends but I will make sure I stay at one wherever I go there is one.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSDullesGeneralMgr, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so glad Hotel Sierra exceeded your expectations. Thank you for the great comments regarding the hotel and the staff. We are happy your stay was so great you are recommending to others and will look for Hotel Sierra when you need a hotel.

In hospitality,
Michael Gouzie, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel several times now for business. Convenient - right off Rt 28, near Dulles airport. You wouldn't know you were close to the airport as the rooms, especially at the back, are very quiet. Very confortable beds and well appointed rooms - most with fridge, microwave, and flat screen. Modern decor and clean rooms and public areas. Feels very safe.
Some very minor complaints - the elevators are really slow and since they don't seem to have a staff or maintenance elevator you also have to compete with cleaning crews at 8 AM. Also, the staff at breakfast could pay more attention to refilling food and coffee - I have had to ask for fresh coffee and eggs and noticed that others have had the same experience. Overall a good value and I would recommend for single travelers.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSDullesGeneralMgr, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, October 24, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at Hotel Sierra. I do apologize for the lack of service during breakfast. I have met with the breakfast staff to ensure this doesn't happen again. Thank you for choosing Hotel Sierra and recommending to others. We hope you will stay with us in the future.

In hospitality,
Michael Gouzie, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
303 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 641 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed here one night when visiting the D.C. Area. We read the reviews on tripadvisor and stayed here because of the good reviews. The Hotel itself was right off the highway, and only a 3 mile drive to the airport (Dulles). Not a far drive from Downtown D.C. and we will stay here again when visiting the area. The Room was very clean and spacious and also very comfortable, breakfast was very good and very delicious. The staff was very friendly and also helpful. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSDullesGeneralMgr, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so glad you enjoyed your night at Hotel Sierra! Thank you for the great comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and the staff. It is great the hotel was in the perfect location for your visit to the area and we hope to see you again!

In hospitality,
Michael Gouzie, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

The hotel turned out to be, for the most part, everything that the reviews mentioned. The breakfast was great, the reception desk would answer immediately, the beds were comfortable and the rooms were generally clean.

The bad part is that it is far from Washington DC. You absolutely need a car if you are going to stay here. It is impossible to go to DC without a car - we asked the reception desk, and we were told that we could not get to Washington DC using public transportation - not good!!! unless you have a vehicle.

The other dissapointment we encountered was that there were five family members in our group, and the person(s) who cleaned our rooms would not leave enough towels, toilet paper or tissue. We had to call the reception desk as many as three times (we stayed five nights there) in order to get toilet paper or towels - it was ridiculous. Having said that, as soon as we called, we would get the items and they were very polite. It could have been just one of the housekeeping staff who did not know how to do her job.

The Internet was a bit slow, but I guess the hotel was crowded over the Labor Day Weekend because on Tuesday it was pretty good.

The guard kept looking at my nephew when he went to the swimming pool even though he was accompanied by my niece who is over twenty - they had to leave. We did not understand why he was so watchful even after being told that they were both good swimmers.

If you have a vehicle and do not mind driving, by all means, this hotel is great and I would recommend it to someone based on that.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSDullesGeneralMgr, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, September 26, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Sierra. We are located outside the city, but within a short driving distance to get to the tourist sites in DC. I am pleased to read you found the beds comfortable and the breakfast great. I do apologize you had to contact the front desk more than once because housekeeping didn't leave enough towels in the room. I have spoken with the housekeeping staff to ensure they are replenishing the rooms with the proper number of towels and paper products. Thank you for recommending Hotel Sierra and we hope to see you again soon!

In hospitality,
Michael Gouzie, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Dulles at Dulles International Airport
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Address: 45520 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Washington Dulles)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#4 Family Hotel in Sterling
#4 Business Hotel in Sterling
#6 Green Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington-Dulles Hotel Sierra delivers a fresh take on modern day travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 162 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or alfresco patio with fire pit and lounge seating. Conveniently located in the Technology Corridor just 2 miles north of Dulles International Airport off Route 28. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Washington Dulles Hotel
Sierra Washington Dulles Sterling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.