We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canceled Flight, this room made it better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North to your Saves list
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45520 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Washington Dulles)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ankeny, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Canceled Flight, this room made it better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We had a canceled flight and ended up stuck overnight without our luggage. We were glad to find a nice hotel with a last minute room available. The room was nice and clean. The beds were very comfortable and plush.

The staff was nice and gave us some toothbrushes and other small necessities. :-) Having nothing with us, this was nice to have.

We had a nice dinner at the restaurant. Food was good and served quickly.

It was great that the hotel was nice during this not-so-desirable situation.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We appreciate your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your relaxing stay with us despite the unexpected visit.

We hope that you've reached your destination safely and hope to see you again under better circumstances. You have a 'home' when travelling in the DC/Virginia area.

Best Regards,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    70
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
93
61
37
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Great home away from home.

The front desk attendants was very nice.
The rooms was very clean plenty of towels very spacious.
The only thing that's keeping it from a perfect rating was the elevator I was there for a day on one elevator that was very very slow.

Other than that that it was a great experience shopping was near the airport close to freeways restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We do apologize about the elevator inconvenience. Please know that it's been on top of our priority, unfortuately the part had to be ordered. We are doing our best to get back in operation.

Thank you for choosing us and enjoy the rest of your summer!

Sincerely,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Tasteful resort-type design and furnishings (formerly part of the west coast Hotel Sierra chain). Windows open. Big open shower and waterfall spout. Great breakfast w/made-to-order omelettes, Greek yogurt and more. Excellent fitness center. Great outdoor pool, fire pit, gas grill area and sports court. Good business center w/four terminals and two printers. One exit from Dulles airport and toll road, and just a few exits/minutes from major mall w/shopping and restaurants, close to Smithsonian Air & Space annex. Great service. Downside: nothing within walking distance.

Room Tip: Back/east side faces fields and trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're happy that you enjoyed our facility and amenities including breakfast. Based on our shuttle availability, we do offer to take our guests to nearby shops and restaurants (within a 3-mile radius).

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We missed a connection at Dulles after flying many hours from Copenhagen. Our airline put us up at the Hyatt House and gave us dinner and lunch vouchers. Breakfast was included. We were not here by choice yet I have to say we had a lovely stay! The staff was very welcoming and made registering very easy. Our room was large and new with a comfortable bed and nice sized bathroom. It was very clean and quiet. We used our vouchers for dinner in the bar where many guests had gathered to watch the World Cup. Soup and salad and hamburgers and sandwiches were quite good. Breakfast was extra nice .... Even had someone making omelets to order. We selected sandwiches and snacks from their convenience nook to take with us on our flight for lunch. The shuttle van took us to and from the airport ...about five minutes away. I gladly recommend this hotel for business, singles, couples or families. We met someone staying there and sight seeing in Washington DC so the city center must not be far.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation! We are glad that you 'loved' your stay despite the unexpected visit. We hope that you made it safe to your destination.

We hope to see you again under better circumstances and we thank you for the feedback.

Kind Regards,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Perfect business hotel. well equipped with a kitchenette. we booked a studio and were not left asking for anything else. The staff are extremely warm and hospitable. house keeping can do with a bit more energy. but all others were eager to please and always smiling. breakfast was great and internet speed excellent. offers a complimentary airport shuttle and has a 24 hour shop for convenience. will certainly stay here again when i return to DC on business!

Room Tip: try not to take a room that over looks the cement factory next door. We asked not to be assigned one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We appreciate your great feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to your return whether business or pleasure bring you back to the DC area.

Safe travels,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Last week we had the pleasure of staying in this hotel with our family for a small reunion. I can't believe that it was only $100 a night. Location is great. Only half an hour into Washington. We used the extended lobby for gathering and meeting each other. Breakfast was more than I expected. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We'll stay here again when visiting the DC area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for the high ratings! We are delighted that you chose our hotel for your family reunion. It is important for us to always make our guests feel at home.

We hope to see you again next time you're in the DC area or your next family gathering.

Have a great summer!

Kind Regards,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

When I first saw the hotel (from the plane) I was petrified. How am I going to survive here 3 weeks? Well, you need a car (or good shoes :-) to get anywhere, but the hotel has many positives.
My suite was large, clean and perfectly airconditioned and isolated. Great sleep there!
It is less than 10min drive from the airport and you do not binoculars to watch landing planes. Yet the hotel is very quiet and me being on the last floor did not hear a single plane when having closed Windows.
Advantage - close to old Herndon city and great restaurants and bars. You also have a reasonable kitchenette with large fridge in the suite.
Disadvantage - no room safe, rather small swimming pool (luckily not many people around it :-)

Room Tip: overlooking the highway - unfortunatelly there is a cement factory in the rear :-)
See more room tips
Green Features: perfectly white towels, well even you do not want it they change these every day ;-) May be they would not be that white later if not exchanged daily....
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback! I am glad that despite our location, you still enjoyed your stay with us. Please know that through your feedback, we are able to improve our service.

We thank you for your business and we hope to see you again!

Best Regards,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Address: 45520 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Washington Dulles)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sterling
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#6 Green Hotel in Sterling
#6 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington-Dulles Hotel Sierra delivers a fresh take on modern day travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 162 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or alfresco patio with fire pit and lounge seating. Conveniently located in the Technology Corridor just 2 miles north of Dulles International Airport off Route 28. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Washington Dulles Hotel
Sierra Washington Dulles Sterling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.