We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North to your Saves list
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45520 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Washington Dulles)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed the stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

1. Good location: several minutes' drive from IAD, and I did not hear or see any aircraft during my one-day stay (well, approaches might be different on different days)
2. Room is clean, windows can be opened, and not a lot of buildings around: enough sunlight
3. Staff: friendly and efficient, both check-in and check-out took less than 1 minute
4. Food: good breakfast. There is a small market near the front desk, and the price is reasonable
Nice to do:
The airport staff are totally not aware of this hotel, and it is not in their directory. So if someone does not have the telephone number of the hotel, there will be quite some efforts for him/her.

Room Tip: I do not have enough experiences in this hotel to give useful tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
I thank you for your perfect rating on TripAdvisor and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are glad that you found our location, room, staff and breakfast as the highlights of your experience .
Again, thank you for your business and we look forward to your return when traveling to our area in the future.

Enjoy your Holidays!

Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    70
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
93
61
37
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

OK, ill be honest we are using points and clearly this is a category one hotel so still a good deal. However, we have stayed at other Hyatt Houses and I must admit it is a step or two down in my experience. The rooms 1 Bedroom are certainly well kept and have newer furniture.(One down side is that they do not have two bedrooms)The kitchen is not a full kitchen in my view.(No Oven) so on a long term stay you deal with a two burner stove top or a microwave. The refrigerator is a full size and the dishwasher. The beds though do not appear nor feel like what i would experience at a Hyatt. The food amenities are fair at best and after the third day we decided to cook our own eggs and breakfast.(Coffee is well brewed though) The breakfast menu and choices are poor and ill update the post with photos perhaps. They do have a omelette bar which is cool if you can find the cook but dont ask for a simple fried egg because they only have the Sysco liquid eggs which are known for flushing out your system rapidly. There also is no Hyatt House social hour which contrary to business travelers needs is actually welcomed and a relief from expense report hell. They of course use the term social hour at check in as the bar is open for a 6 dollar Sierra Nevada. However, if you stayed at the one in Herndon or others the social hour is different. Perhaps, they do this because there is a Comfort Inn next door and they may get too many visitors. I will say we two maintenance issues and they did respond quickly.. Bravo to maintenance here and too the young soviet block girl (Mona I believe) front desk clerk that gives our daughter a cute little doll almost every time.

Room Tip: My guess is that most rooms are well kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule and providing us your feedback in TripAdvisor. I apologize that your room and breakfast/dinner experience were anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Currently, the Hyatt House brand is switching from the Evening Social to the HBar offering and we are one of the first hotels to put the HBar in place. By 2014, you will find all Hyatt House to be consistent with our Brand standard. I do apologize that this has brought some confusion. We will also undergo some soft good renovation in a couple of weeks and our beds will be one of the items replaced.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us.It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Sincerely,
Pam Domingo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great spot. Good breakfast to start the day, everything was clean, everyone is nice, and the rooms are perfect whether you're there to relax or work. Lots of space, nice kitchenette, was able to prepare some meals there. Airport is nearby for convenience, also near highways to get where you're going.

Would easily go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hello Matthew R.!

Thank you kindly for the wonderful feedback and taking some time out of your busy schedule to provide us your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to always provide our guests with a exceptional stay.

We hope to see you again soon!

At your service,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This property is about a 5 minute drive to Dulles Airport. The hotel shuttle was very efficient and was available to take us to the airport at 6:05 a.m. The night prior to our departure, the shuttle came to pick us up at the Rental Car location where we returned our car -- not wanting to go thru the hassle of returning it in the predawn hours on the morning of our flight.

The breakfast was was ample and the cooked to order omelettes were delicious. Starbucks coffee was served.

The room was comfortable and quiet.

We got a very good weekend rate.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevators -- they emit a loud "chirp" at each floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We appreciate the positive feedback! We are glad that your stay was pleasant.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you for your business!

Sincerely,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The rooms were utterly spotless, the staff was friendly and incredibly helpful, and I liked the location- a bit set off to itself, but still convenient to restaurants, shopping, and somewhat near the Metro. My single complaint is that the mattress was way too hard. And to anyone wary of staying that close to Dulles, I did not hear a single plane the entire week.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor. We are all delighted that you had a 'Perfect Stay"! Our beds are scheduled to be replaced as part of our renovation.

We look forward to your return and have a safe trip!

Kind Regards,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTIOCH
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I got a great deal on priceline for this hotel, very big rooms, nice amenities, wet bar and fridge,huge writing desk, very large t.v on a swivel so it can be watched from the sitting area or bed. Good lay to the room but the bed was just o.k. expected it to be better , very hard mattress ( I do not like hard mattresses) and the sheets were not high tread count, just basic, would expect more from this chain.Lighting in the bathroom area was very dim, the sink and counter area was just outside the shower which was good but all the lighting in that entire area seemed dim.Breakfast looked very inviting, left early each morning I stayed and was only able to grab a sandwich each morning which were very good. Overall a very good hotel weather you get a deal like i did or pay the going rate.the hotel is about 15 minutes to Dulles airport, if your trying to stay see d.c. be prepared to drive about 30 minutes or so.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations on our bedding package and bathroom lighting. All our beds are scheduled to be replaced shortly.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

as am regular travileing to washngnton/usa and seeking the best hotel to stay with fair rate and clean room and in the middel of my shoping places .resently i found this proparty
and was amazing experience! Not only was the staff friendly and professiona but
From the moment of check-in, SAMERA and the rest of the staff made our stay great and enjoyab, she was welcoming every body with big smile.her suvp was ready for any assist,the room so clean the bed was cool,the room space enogh ,the bathroom acceptabel,the breakfast fair enogh with lovely touch of cooker ready to make your choice of your egges .that was unique in such small hotels.
honsily it dose worth my stay and my time to write about them .
only one notes if you come late .you will park your car far away :).. .and no reguler tea.
thanks guys for good job making hyatt house mangmnt proud having you.

Room Tip: higher floor .. ask for reguelr tea ..you can find it behind bar tabel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We are delighted that you found our hotel as 'ONE OF THE BEST" and glad that you enjoyed our facility and services. I will forward your comment to Samera and the rest of the Team.

We all look forward to your return in the near future! We appreciate your comments.

Best,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Address: 45520 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Washington Dulles)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sterling
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#6 Business Hotel in Sterling
#6 Green Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington-Dulles Hotel Sierra delivers a fresh take on modern day travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 162 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or alfresco patio with fire pit and lounge seating. Conveniently located in the Technology Corridor just 2 miles north of Dulles International Airport off Route 28. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Washington Dulles Hotel
Sierra Washington Dulles Sterling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.