We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for value for money. This is it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Save Saved
You added HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45520 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Washington Dulles)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you are looking for value for money. This is it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

It was a wonderful stay. Nice staff, awesome rooms and dirt cheap if booked in advance.
I will highly recommend this hotel to anybody. As they had advertised you get luxury even when you are in a budget. The breakfast was too good too.

I was visiting DC but the 20 min drive was totally worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are glad that you found our hotel a value for your money's worth! We are happy that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed our amenities and services. Thank you for the positive feedback.

We wish to see you again next time you travel in the D.C. area.

Sincerely,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    61
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
81
55
33
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I am a regular and loyal patron of this establishment for business and personal retreats.

For the first time in 8 years we were given a room with just beds... Claustrophobic in comparison and not even similar energy/ enjoyably comfortable experience.

If this had been my first (and. Not 51st) visit I might return for the lounge area and breakfast (perfect for family) but would not be excited about the space and comfort.

Bottom line, opt for king sized room with kitchen... If you need extra privacy there are king suites, but the space and energy are best withe the open king format.

Shuttles are always available, with a gas station, convenience store and quick meal restaurant across street.... And everything else a straight drive on Sully to wherever you wish to go.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We appreciate your feedback! We apologize that we were not able to upgrade you to a room with a kitchen, most likely due to occupancy. We guarantee guests the room type booked and typically try to accommodate requests based on availability.

We are glad that you still enjoyed the rest of our facilities. THANK YOU for being a loyal patron!

Kind Regards,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here, August 5-7, about 25 miles west of DC. Breakfast was excellent, rooms were large and roomy. Had trouble with the door keys, they kept losing their magnetic conductivity and had to replace twice. Pool and spa were welcomed relief after 8.5 miles of walking each day in SC.

Really I good stop on our way down the East Coast. Drove to DC, took about 40 minutes with heavy traffic, parked in DC for $22.00 per day and visited the city.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We appreciate your feedback! We are glad that you chose to stay with us while visiting Washington D.C.

We apologize about the key inconvenience. Most magnetic keys are very sensitive and can be easily demagnitized by simply putting them next to your cell phone, etc.

Please come back and visit us again when travel takes you back to the DC/Dulles area.

Sincerely,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed at this hotel for almost a week while we were on vacation in DC. Overall we are very pleased with our experience. The breakfast was good, although the items didn't vary much from day-to-day. Still though, there was everything we could want... cereal, oatmeal, breakfast sandwiches, french toast, bagels, danishes, juice, coffee, milk. Our room was nice with 2 double beds, pull-out couch and a minifridge. The only amenity that our room lacked and I missed was a microwave. The drive between this hotel and DC wasn't too exciting and during rush hour it can be downright frustrating. The hotel's staff isn't overly helpful or enthusiastic about their job, but they were all helpful if we sought them out. If you're looking for somewhere in Sterling to stay, this is an excellent choice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for making us your 'home away from home' while visiting D.C. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We will address some small items you mentioned to ensure that the staff are attentive to our guests' needs at all times. We appreciate your feedback!

Kind Regards,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We recently enjoyed a two-night stay here and as titled, WOW! From the moment we checked-in, to the moment we checked-out, we had a WONDERFUL stay!

This is a beautifully maintained HYATT House with attention paid to every detail! Our room was VERY nice and made us feel right at home. The beds were comfortable and my only real wish for the hotel was that they had firmer bed pillows to offer, because the ones we had made even doubling pillows not so comfortable to sleep on. We asked to be located on the side near the airport so we could see the planes, yet away from the elevator and they located us at a great spot. If you are sound sensitive, keep in mind the highway is also located on this side and you will hear it to some degree if your a.c. unit isn't on. The room itself was nice and clean, kitchen area with regular size fridge, microwave, dishwasher and stove top always a plus in our books. The table there is probably designed for working at (with just one chair), but we would recommend the addition of at least one other chair for eating at the table purposes. Several different lighting options in this room, which was a nice benefit. And if there were people on any side of us, at least with the a.c. unit running, we didn't hear a peep. The HYATT was centrally located for us and their parking lot is nice and big with plenty of lighting.

The breakfast was TERRIFIC! Talk about just the right items on a buffet - - bacon, pancakes, design-your-own omelets, home-fries, fresh pineapple fruit salad, bananas, apples, oranges, bagels, mini-muffins, pastries, cereals, coffee, milk, assorted teas, etc. The Breakfast Hostess was very friendly and each morning made a point of stopping by our table and conversing with us, which was pleasant. There is a decent amount of indoor seating at the breakfast location, although I can see if it was really busy how additional seating would be beneficial with requiring you to eat in the eating area. A nice outdoor area is connected to this area where you can eat at too pending good weather, etc.

We didn't use any of the other amenities on this trip and look forward to returning again!

Thank you to HYATT House for making our stay special in every way, something we value when we travel... having a "Home Sweet Home" away from our own! We encourage you to keep your high standards in place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We appreciate the detailed review of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your experience from your arrival to departure. We do take pride in ensuring that our guests feel safe and comfortable at all times.

Thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Our flight was cancelled and we needed to find a last minute place to sleep for the night. The proximity to Dulles is key, it's just a short 5 minute ride away. The room was fine, it smelled like bleach, and was fairly clean (there was a hair in the sink when we arrived and the glasses on the vanity, which I never touch, definitely weren't fresh). The sheets were very scratchy, but the bed was a King as advertised. The breakfast was standard and limited. Overall, it got the job done, it was better than sleeping on the floor in the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and would like to apologize for the housekeeping issue that you encountered. We will ensure that this is addressed.

We hope that you made it to your destination safely!

Safe travels,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We started and ended a recent trip here, leaving our car for 7 days. Clean and bright hotel with decent breakfast. Highly recommend. Just make sure to call for their shuttle if your flight arrives after 10pm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comment on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your business and keep us in mind again next time you're travelling in and out of Dulles Internatonal Airport.

Sincerely,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Also Known As:
Sierra Washington Dulles Hotel
Sierra Washington Dulles Sterling
Address: 45520 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Washington Dulles)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sterling
#6 Green Hotel in Sterling
#9 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington-Dulles Hotel Sierra delivers a fresh take on modern day travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 162 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or alfresco patio with fire pit and lounge seating. Conveniently located in the Technology Corridor just 2 miles north of Dulles International Airport off Route 28. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.