We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent - it got the job done” 3 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Save Saved
You added HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45520 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Washington Dulles)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Decent - it got the job done”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Our flight was cancelled and we needed to find a last minute place to sleep for the night. The proximity to Dulles is key, it's just a short 5 minute ride away. The room was fine, it smelled like bleach, and was fairly clean (there was a hair in the sink when we arrived and the glasses on the vanity, which I never touch, definitely weren't fresh). The sheets were very scratchy, but the bed was a King as advertised. The breakfast was standard and limited. Overall, it got the job done, it was better than sleeping on the floor in the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and would like to apologize for the housekeeping issue that you encountered. We will ensure that this is addressed.

We hope that you made it to your destination safely!

Safe travels,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    68
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
89
57
33
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We started and ended a recent trip here, leaving our car for 7 days. Clean and bright hotel with decent breakfast. Highly recommend. Just make sure to call for their shuttle if your flight arrives after 10pm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comment on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your business and keep us in mind again next time you're travelling in and out of Dulles Internatonal Airport.

Sincerely,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Located very close to Dulles airport, this Hyatt House has become my default home away from home while on business travel. It's always spotless, the service friendly and efficient, the breakfast good, and the rooms quiet. Highly recommended!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your high recommendation! We are happy that you chose our hotel to be your 'home away from home'. My team and I will always be 'at your service'.

Let us know if there is anything else that we can do to make your stay more comfortable.

Safe travels,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hephzibah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Overall a ok hotel but if you misplace an item they will tell you they have it one time and then it goes missing.... shady not to be trusted the problem is with the managers talked 2 times with the staff one said the item was found the other said it was not the problem the first manager said he had it in his hands

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and apologize about the confusion on your lost item. I'm sure this was a miscommunication on our part. Please contact our Executive Housekeeper, Doris Chavarria, who handles all 'Lost and Found items' if this has not been resolved.

Thank you,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This the the one of the best hotel i ever stayed inn. Very excelllent and hospitable staff. fd houskeeping the whole hotel staff is very helpful. They go beyond to make their guests happy. Specially Anna and Betty. Thses both fd agents are very helpful courteous. They are doing such an excellent job. i am going to refer every single person i know at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback! I am very glad that you enjoyed our service and amenities. I will also share your comments to my team members, especially Anna and Betty.

We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anigurl715
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt House for a little 3-day getaway sans baby. We had some things planned in the area and being near the airport at Udvar Hazy museum were both important to us. The hotel is very nice, clean and comfortable. The staff was polite at check in and the cleaning staff always smiled and said hello when we saw them.

The exercise facilities are some of the nicest I have seen at a hotel of this class. There are 3 treadmills, 2 elliptical, and 2 bike (one is recumbent, which some people prefer). There is also a rack of free weights and a bench. Oh, and a digital scale if you're into weighing yourself while you are on vacation!!

The breakfast was standard. There is an omelet bar but the first day here there wasn't anyone there and they she showed up after I sat down with my scrambled eggs. The second day there was a line of 4 people waiting for the omelet chef to come back(?). I think that was my biggest disappointment.

The hotel really seems to want to accommodate your needs--from the "borrows menu" (for things you might have forgotten or might need (from pool noodles and blenders and booster seats)) to the line in the information book in the room about how if you see something you like in the room, go ahead and take it--and they'll just send you a bill for it. I sat and thought about this for a while--wondering how they would feel if I walked out with the bed? (or maybe just the pillows--they are kind of nice--or the blinds because they're the roll up screen kind...anyway no I didn't take anything).

There is a pool but we didn't use it (lots of rain while we were here) but it looked nice. I also saw a basketball court which was getting some use!

Overall, if we come back to the area again for a similar type of vacation, I would definitely come back to the Hyatt House.

Room Tip: If you like aviation and watching the planes come in, request a room facing Rt 28 so you can watch t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We appreciate your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed our services and amenities, especially the fitness center and the 'borrows program'.

I apologize that you were quite disappointed with our omelet sation and will address this concern.

We look forward to your next visit next time you're in the Dulles corridor. Thank you for your business!

Kind Regards,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day stay at the Hyatt House. Pleasantly surprised by the accommodations, staff and amenities - Pool, basketball court, 24 hour fitness and full breakfast (included in room price). USA Today and the Wall Street Journal were available during the week (for free). There is a little market in the lobby with drinks and some frozen food, snacks and those personal items you forgot to pack. Also - free internet.

The room was quiet even though we were quite close to Dulles Airport, right off 28 and the Toll Road. The room was very clean & had a full size refrigerator/freezer, 2 burner cook top, sink, microwave, dishes and cooking utensils, regular coffee pot. The king size bed was very comfortable.

On the days we were there - Breakfast selection included scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, french toast or pancakes, fresh cut fruits, yogurt, oatmeal, muffins, bagels, toast, breakfast potatoes and a variety of juices. The selection of meats and breads changed on a daily basis. We had no complaints about amount of food and how well it was cooked - it was all quite good. A variety of restaurants are close by for other meals.

I can see no reason to pay more for a room in the DC/VA area when such great accommodations are close to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Ms. Deb T,

Thank you for sharing your feedback in TripAdvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed our room accommodations, breakfast, other amenities and service.

We hope to see you again next time you're in the DC/VA area. We appreciate your business.

Best,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Address: 45520 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Washington Dulles)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#4 Family Hotel in Sterling
#6 Green Hotel in Sterling
#7 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington-Dulles Hotel Sierra delivers a fresh take on modern day travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 162 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or alfresco patio with fire pit and lounge seating. Conveniently located in the Technology Corridor just 2 miles north of Dulles International Airport off Route 28. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Washington Dulles Hotel
Sierra Washington Dulles Sterling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.