We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North to your Saves list
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45520 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Washington Dulles)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here numerous times over the past two years. My husband's employer is nearby. He travels here every few months, from our home in Ohio, and I come along to learn the area as I knew we would be moving here once our home sold. We've finally moved here, so I won't be staying there anymore but it was a wonderful hotel. The rooms are exceptionally large and comfortable, and the location is excellent. We enjoyed the ample breakfast buffet and the airport shuttle is very convenient. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, particularly Julian, who I believe is the General Manager. He bent over backward to accommodate any special requests and made us feel like honored guests each and every time we visited. Highly recommend this as a great place for an extended stay, and although I'm sure they cater to business clientele, they seemed to be very family friendly as well.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room. However, the elevators are rather slow and make annoying noises at each floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor and we appreciate your high recommendation! I am honored that you chose us to be your 'home away from home' as you relocate to the area. I will pass on your great comments to Julian as we all take pride to ensure that we take care of all our guests' needs.

I do hope that you're enjoying your new home in Virginia and you're always welcome to visit us at any time.

Best Regards,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    69
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
92
59
37
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great place with a nice location for Dulles.

Even the normal rooms are large with kitchnette, excellent layout with large comfy couch and modern furnishings. Bed was comfy, wifi fast and free, amenities great as well. And staff friendly plus large well-lit parking lot. The rooms are spotless clean with some long-term issues the one negative (embedded dirt in bathroom but not a big deal). Oh, and the rooms are nice and silent both from neighbors and outside noise, so its pretty near perfect, especially for the price.

Location itself is kind of isolated without a car but free shuttle to IAD, and if you do have a car, two exits north on Rt. 28 has a Wegman's and large shopping plaza. Would definitly stay again if needed a hotel in this area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We appreciate your candid and kind words. I am glad to hear that you found our hotel quiet, comfy and clean. I will certainly adress the embedded dirt that you found in the bathroom. Thank you for bringing this to my attention!

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel overnight on a business trip. Check in was quick, however, I was given a ground level room that had one window that looked out to a patio with guests & another window which looked out to a maintenance door that was held open with rags & a view of empty plastic racks of some type. The room also didn't seem very clean. I immediately requested another room & the front desk clerk assigned me another room on an upper floor. This room was clean w/ the exception of some type of crumbs on the sofa. The room was large & had 2 queen beds, a separate kitchenette area with full size fridge, small 2 burner stove, microwave, small dishwasher & coffee maker. The kitchen was stocked with various plates, cups, cooking utensils etc. There was a nice large desk & full size sleeper sofa. The room had a flat screen TV that could swivel between the sitting area & bed area. The bath was adequate & there was a nice sized closet that had a full size ironing board, iron & extra towels, sheets etc.

The hotel was relatively quiet and the bed was comfortable. However, the A/C didn't seem to work properly during the night. The room was hot & I had to keep getting up to adjust the thermostat. Also, the shower head didn't work very well & I was disappointed that the toiletries didn't include lotion. They did have a small tube of toothpaste though.

The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast that includes various breads, cereals, oatmeal, scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes, french toast, fruit etc. and has a omelet station. It was good.

There is an outdoor pool, fitness area & basketball courts, but I didn't utilize any of these.

I feel the hotel is a very good value. The larger rooms comfortably sleep a traveling family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We appreciate your feedback. I do apologize on the room location, A/C and the housekeeping inconveniences, but thankful that you found the hotel of good value and that you enjoyed the rest of our amenities. We use feedback such as yours to continually improve our product and services. Thank you!

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Safe travels,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaimersheim, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed a few nights at this hotel, which was my first hotel in the US (except for NYC) and I was surprised how large the room was, compared to what you get in Europe. Comfortable living space, fully-equiped kitchen and a large bed. The bath was smart and clean and there was plenty of space for my luggage in the closet. My stay would have been perfect, but... I think the sheets are not from 100% cotton, because a suffered from the static electricity all the time. I am not joking: during the night, when it was dark and I moved the sheets, I could even see the sparks! Besides that, the sheets sticked to my bare legs...

Breakfast was, for what I have heard, typical American, toast, bagels, jam and peanut butter and some fruit. It was okay, but you can't compare it to the German style.

For us the hotel was perfectly located between the airport and Ashburn. During the weekend we visited Washington DC (by driving to East Falls Church - we parked for free - and take the metro down town), Annapolis (GREAT! Was just an hour drive) and the Udvar Air and Space Center (takes you only 5 minutes from the hotel).

All in all a great hotel, smart and clean, and perfectly located.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We appreciate your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you found us 'perfectly located' and our rooms spacious and well-equipped.

I apologize that you had some issues with our sheets and I will look into it. You are the first one who has brought it to my attention and I truly appreciate the feedback so this can be address with our Housekeeping team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Danke!

Best,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here as we had to leave our hotel in Washington DC due to unforseen circumstances. We found this hotel on the internet .We found Ricardo and Anna behind the desk to be very professional and helpful and nothing was a problem for them. The rooms were well maintained and cleaned daily. Would recomend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay at very reasonable prices. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments and kind words. I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel as an 'excellent accomodation'. I will also share your comments to Anna and Ricardo as I'm sure they would be glad to welcome you back next time you are in the area.

We appreciate your business!

Best Regards,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel is located near the interstate providing easy access. Traffic can be frustrating at times, but that is life near the "big city". The hotel itself is nice. Check-in was efficient and sterile. The room was adequate and spacious, but not as described. Business center is open 24/7 with free printing. Fitness center is open 24/7 with nice weights, two stationary bikes and several treadmills. Interactive service is not the high quality of the staff, though they will react to your inquiries. Housekeeping during the nine nights was poor…minimal cleaning, toilet paper ran out and it took an hour for housekeeping to bring some to the room, glassware not replaced until the last night and only because the key card stopped working and while having it replaced for the first time I was asked about my stay. The complimentary breakfast is great…cooked to order omelets, juices, hot water for tea, coffee, fruit, scrambled eggs, breakfast potatoes, pancakes, yogurt and more. There is not much within walking distance to the hotel…a Burger King and a gasoline service station. Shopping malls within five to ten minute drive have several nice eating options and several grocery stores.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you candid feedback!

We are glad that you enjoyed our facilities and services but apologize that we did not meet your houseeping expectations. As an extended stay hotel, we provide both light and full service cleaning in our stayover rooms. I have addressed your concerns with my Executive Housekeeper about not getting your amenities replenished, which is not our standard procedure. Thank you, once again, for bringing this to my attention and apologize for the inconvenience.

We hope that you give us another chance in the future.

Kind Regards,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a terrible experience with our stay. We booked 2 rooms and the door for one room won't even lock. Hotel staff started to fix the room at 11.00 pm in the night. They would not transfer us to another room, suggesting there are no rooms available. They then gave another option to provide us 1 room somewhere in the nearby hotel and 1 room should stay with us. (who would leave their family and go stay at a different hotel). We had no option but to stay with open doors with my 16 months old (scary). Hotel staff gave a letter in the morning suggesting they are sorry for the inconvenience and would refund the amount, which they have not. We have constantly tried to get in touch of their manager (Anna Svedlow) and she would not come on the phone to authorize refund.(tried for 9 days)

This hotel is a TERRIBLE. Don't stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Many better hotels, please select wisely for your family
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhousesterling, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. I can guarantee you that this is not a norm.

I have also spoken to Anna regarding your review. Unfortunately, your reservation was booked through a third party and they are refusing to adjust the charges. Please contact her at (703)435-9002 at your convenience. The third party information is in the system and she has no contact information on file.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and we hope to have another chance to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Address: 45520 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Washington Dulles)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#4 Family Hotel in Sterling
#6 Green Hotel in Sterling
#6 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington-Dulles Hotel Sierra delivers a fresh take on modern day travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 162 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or alfresco patio with fire pit and lounge seating. Conveniently located in the Technology Corridor just 2 miles north of Dulles International Airport off Route 28. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Washington Dulles Hotel
Sierra Washington Dulles Sterling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.