We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not pass this place up. Awesome location, value and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Save Saved
You added HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45520 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Washington Dulles)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersBronze level
hampton roads, va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Do not pass this place up. Awesome location, value and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I have been staying here on and off for the past 6 years. We were initially worried that when Hotel Sierra ( what this hotel was formally called) was bought by Hyatt, it would go down in quality. It did not. This place stayed the exact same, and that is a good thing! If you are looking for a family friendly, budget friendly place to stay while visiting DC, this is it! Like many others said, you can always catch the shuffle service to the Dulle AIrport and then into Downtown DC to save on time and gas ( Lord knows how hard it is to find parking in the National Mall area). Or, the short trip it take to get to DC isn't bad either. Now, the hotel itself offers free parking. Which is a bonus. We usually get our rates online ( they are much cheaper than in person) through the Hyatt website, We have stayed in the bedroom king, double queen room, and the king studio. We truly love the bedroom with the double doors leading to the bedroom. All rooms come with a pull out sectional sleeper couch, which is always nice. The hotel itself if very modern and trendy ( non of that 60's-70's look, which is rampant in hotels). The customer service is always friendly and gets you in and out very efficiently and quickly. The buisness room is nicely done with computers, notepads and pens for your use. The concierge area is amazing, they have everything you need if you ever forget anything. The fire pit is amazing and so relaxing after a day's drive. We usually bring our camping sticks and a couple marshmellows :) The pool, in the season it is open is always clean and the cabanas are nice. The public bathrooms are always clean and smell amazingly fresh. In the winter, the front lobby area has a fireplace to warm you while you wait or read the free paper. There is free ice from the icemakers ( some places charge for ice). The rooms are quite. We have never heard anything from our "neighbors" so that's a nice touch. The rooms are nice and clean. The kitchen area ( which is amazing for people who are staying longer than a day and/or have kids to feed) has everything you could need to cook or prepare food ( even a dishwasher!). The fridge always has a nice pitcher to fill with water and turn on the ice maker. There is a little desk area with a wide, comfortable chair to do anything you might need ( check emails, look up hours of attractions, ect.). They now have a nifty thing where you can print from your laptop to the printer in the buisness area on the main floor. Perfect for buying tickets to the smithsonian! The beds are nicely firm but soft, with ample pillows and blanket options ( always having more in the closets). They have a nice closet space. The bathrooms are always clean and well stocked with the supplies they offer, and you can always call the desk for lil things you forgot. The swivel flat screen tv with alot of cable channels is always a plus. The windows open ( to a degree) for fresh air or even to get a cool breeze in on nice weather nights. We love the alarm clocks. They have ipod docks and soothing sounds. The workout area is always smelling clean and always well stocked with water for you, and towels.The breakfast buffet is amazing, there is something for everyone, including drinks! They now have a bar/food menu to order from in the evenings, and while some of it tastes microwaved, it helps when you dont want to go back out for the night. In short, this place is amazing. Every thing you could possibly think of, they have done. The rates have stayed the same, and the service and quality hasn't changed in years. Book here and you will not be sorry. And if you're like us, you'll look for reasons to stay here!

Room Tip: There is no room service, but they offer delivery menus ( the area stops after 9ish)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time in providing an in-depth review and sharing some pictures of our hotel. Your comments are truly appreciated! I am delighted to hear that you continue to enjoy our facilities as a Hyatt hotel and that we have lived up to your expectations.

Thank you very much for your business & loyalty, we look forward to your return when in our area again. Cheers!

Sincerely,
Pam Domingo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    66
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
88
56
33
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stopped in to the Hyatt House during our Holiday travels. I used Hyatt points for this stay and it was worth it! Clean, big room for our family of 5 and a great selection at the free breakfast. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time off your busy schedule to give us your feedback in TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you had a great Holiday season.

We hope to see you and your family again and we thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our family of 2 Adults, 4 Children spent 6 days over Thanksgiving and had a lovely stay at the Hyatt House Sterling. Studio Suites are roomy and comfortable, with a well-designed kitchen and comfortable beds. Bulk soaps and lotions are provided in the bathroom areas, and breakfast offers fresh omelets and a rotating selection of other entrees. Property was well-kept with all advertised amenities.

Room Tip: Although this hotel is close to Dulles Airport, very little airport noise was apparent inside the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us during the Thanksgiving holiday.

Our rooms are larger and well-equipped for families, especially the ones travelling with children. We hope to see you again in the near future and we thank you for choosing us!

Sincerely,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had a great stay from 11/3 to 11/7. We loved the room and the staff. The only part of the hotel that I really, really didn't care for were the lobby/dining/bar areas. They were freezing and really uninviting -- awful dressing room lighting and so, so cold. Also, the hotel used disposable plates and utinsels which I found environmentally regretable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay and your comment is truly appreciated. We use feedback from guests to better improve our services and facilities. We apologized that you found the temperature in our public area too cold. We will address the issues that you listed.

I can assure you that this is not the norm and I will be sure to look into your concerns regarding the disposable plates and utensils as well.

Once again, thank you for the feedback!

Best,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I take my reviews very seriously as I depend on them myself. So trust my review.
This was very easy to find by GPS and seen from the highway. FREE PARKING in a huge lot. Lobby inviting. We were upgraded at no cost to a suite w a kitchen. The concierge desk informative and personal.
Clean, spacious rooms. Good water pressure. Did not hear my neighbors. Beds roomy and sheets luxurious. In the room, were extra blankets, pillow, towels and also dispensers of shower gel, shampoo, lotion and hand soap.
FREE BREAKFAST w everything you could want. Eggs, home fries, omelets made to order,toast, bagels, muffins, sausage or bacon, waffles or pancakes, oatmeal and cold cereal, fruit, yogurt, juices coffee and tea.
They have a little menu for dinner but its limited. Good food but instead take the free shuttle to local restaurants instead!
Shuttle running to the airport every 30 minutes, sooner if they are available.
We came to visit DC on a budget. This was a wise choice for those on a budget. The closer you get to the city the more hotels cost. Then add at least $30 a day for parking. Not everyone has free hot breakfast. So we took the free shuttle to the airport. They dropped us off right at the 5A depot. 6 bucks each, we got a ride to the Lenfant Plaza metro bus stop. It takes 45 minutes. From there we could walk to the museums and some memorials. The bus runs every 20 minutes. Jump back on to Dulles and call the hotel for a ride back. Sometimes we had to wait for the shuttle coz it had just left the airport and was en route to hotel then would come back. Always with apologies to keep us waiting. Once it was already there when we got off the bus. All and all still convenient and for $98 we used the bus all week. Staying closer to the city would have been that much more per day.
This is a 3 star hotel. If you want your butt kissed pay top dollar for a 5 star. If you want a quality hotel that advertises 3 stars but could be a 4? This is your place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. Thank you very much for selecting our hotel and giving us the highest recommendation on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found our facilities and staff to be accommodating.

We look forward to you staying with us next time you are in our area.

Best,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This property and room was amazing. The staff was extremely friendly, breakfast was delicious, the room was far beyond that of any extended stay I have ever been in. If you were to talk into this room, you would assume you were in a 5 star hotel. For the price, this is by far the best you can get in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We appreciate your kind words and thank you for your positive feedback. MyTeam members and I take pride in ensuring that we not only meet our guest's expectations but exceed them. I will will certainly share your comments with them.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future. You can always count on us!

Kind Regards,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

If you like Hyatt House, this location is very good. Staff is very helpful, rooms are well sized and comfortable. I stayed here during Hurricane Sandy and we didn't get much of the weather, but they were prepared in case. I had a full suite, which gives you extra space. The Internet access was fast enough. The only downside was that the work desk in the room that I had was too high to be comfortable. A smaller room probably would have suited my work needs better. The other problem is the A/C turns off after 15 minutes when you go to sleep. Normally this would stop me from coming here again, but I did find a workaround.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent stay in the Dulles area. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services. We are very fortunate that hurricane Sandy did not affect our area as badly as other areas. We also apologize that you had some challenges with our work desk and A/C unit. My Chief Engiineer will look into this matter.

Your comments are truly appreciated and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Address: 45520 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Washington Dulles)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sterling
#6 Green Hotel in Sterling
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#8 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington-Dulles Hotel Sierra delivers a fresh take on modern day travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 162 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or alfresco patio with fire pit and lounge seating. Conveniently located in the Technology Corridor just 2 miles north of Dulles International Airport off Route 28. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Washington Dulles Hotel
Sierra Washington Dulles Sterling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.