We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big room, nice bed & linens, window opens!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North to your Saves list
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45520 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Washington Dulles)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Big room, nice bed & linens, window opens!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Very happy with my 4 nights here for business. The beds are quite comfortable with comforters encased in clean white sheets -- so much better than those horrid, shiny polyester bedspreads that some hotels still use. There was a kitchenette which I didn't use, a couch and coffee table, and desk/bar for work or eating. The bathroom is separate from the sink/vanity area. Spacious enough for a family, it was luxuriously large for one. The windows open for fresh air enthusiasts, although you hear the rather considerable road noise. Apart from the noise I invited in, the room was quiet.

I chose to eat at the bar 2 nights, not expecting much because it's not an actual restaurant and it's quite small. On the first night, the cook was out sick (good sign that he and his germs stayed away!) and the bartender somehow managed to serve drinking customers as well as the few dining patrons with hardly a delay. My grilled cheese sandwich was tasty with fresh spinach and vegetables on good quality bread. The soup and salad on another night were also surprisingly well-made. So don't be shy about eating a light meal here.

The breakfast has an omelet option as well as lots of fatty American breakfast items, but also homemade oatmeal (good for your cholesterol!), so I was able to eat a healthy breakfast while others piled up the sausage and bacon and home fries.

Lots of towels, soaps and shampoo in dispensers instead of wasteful little bottles (a nice green option), free & decent wi-fi in the room, didn't check the movie options on the big flatscreen. Honestly, the only negative I can come up with is the obnoxiously loud "DING" when the elevator hits each floor. So take the stairs. Oh, and location is way the heck away from DC, but you're not staying here if you're visiting the monuments. For local Dulles business, it's perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for the detailed review. We are very delighted that you enjoyed our room accommodations, breakfast and H Bar offerings and our service. It is always our goal to not only meet our guests' expectations but to exceed them.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and we thank you for your business.

Sincerely,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    70
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
93
61
37
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koege, Denmark
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

A nice hotel with comfort as primary target. Breakfast was above average (seen better) but absolutely a good way to start the day. The rooms are nice, cosy and big and there is no noice from hallway. Do not stay on 2nd floor in the middle - no view and noice from ventilation.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time off your busy schedule to share your feedback of your most recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the wide variety of items in our breakfast buffet.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krefeld, Germany
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel a couple of nights for the second time already. The hotel is awesome!
It is very good located (near to the airport and shopping). It is very clean and well maintained. They have a swimming pool, laundry room for guests, free newspaper, parking is also free. We had a beautiful studio room. There was a kitchenette with stove, sink, dishwasher, refrigerator, microwave, toaster and coffee (even dishes), also a large table with free internet access and a range of coach and a TV. The bedroom had a king size, very comfortable bed and a TV. The bathroom with shower was clean. What was unusual you could open the windows a little bit (really rare in the U.S.). Breakfast buffet was just great, they even had ham (we haven't seen it in a hotel of this category in the U.S. before) and you could order fresh made omelettes. The hotel manager, Pam is awesome. She was in the restaurant every morning and welcomed all guests and asked about the condition. In the bar, Michelle was the friendliest staff during our time in the US. It was the best place we have ever been in the US so far.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Danke schön!

We appreciate the positive and detailed feedback regarding the hotel. We're glad that we were able to exceed your expectations as your 'home away from Germany'. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you soon.

Safe Travels,
Pam Domingo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I was pleased with our stay here, friendly staff and nice rooms...I would definitely go back again. The breakfast is great, there is fruit, cereal and a selection of things to choose from eggs, potatoes, bacon, muffins, pancakes, juices and so on.

We got the shuttle from the airport - but advisable to call them and not just wait at the ground transport stop.

They have menus for closeby restaurants for dinner delivery but found it a bit limiting if you wanted something less junk food like...preferred to scout around and eat before returning to hotel.

Quick tip to go to DC - take the shuttle to Dulles Airport and pick the 5A bus (about 6bucks) which takes you express to Downtown DC.

Room Tip: Always remember to ring hotel for the shuttle from airport or you could be in for a long wait..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We appreciate your positive and candid review of our hotel. Your honest feedback is always appreciated. Our breakfast variety, as you mentioned, has always been a distinguishable quality that sets that Hyatt House apart from other hotels. We are also glad that you enjoyed our services and room accommodations.

Thank you and we hope to see you again!

Pam Domingo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The suite was amazing for the price we paid. It was nice to have a refrigerator in the room with an icemaker. The room was VERY clean. The business room was a nice touch. I was able to use the computers for research and emails and the printers were free.

They routinely ran out of breakfast food and coffee on Saturday. It was usually replenished within 15 minutes. The food was good and there was a decent selection of low fat foods.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your most recent stay with us. I am glad to see that your room, business center, breakfast experience were enjoyable. We have also noted an area where we have some opportunity to improve. We appreciate your feedback!

We hope see you again in the near future and thank you for choosing the Hyatt House Sterling/ Dulles North.

Kind Regards,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed one night for business. Hotel staff were courteous and helpful from the moment I checked in. Room was clean and very nicely decorated. The free breakfast was delicious and there was plenty to choose from. Close enough to several restaurants to choose from. I will make this my hotel of choice every time I'm in the area for business.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
We appreciate the positive feedback and we look forward to your next visit. I will share your comments to my Team members.

You can always count on us!

Kind Regards,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt House in Sterling, VA on the night of September 3. At about 6:10 p.m., we (my wife, my 4-year-old daughter and I) were leaving to meet my cousin and her family for dinner. My daughter, unfamiliar with elevators, had her hand on the inside of the elevator door when it opened. It drew her hand in between the door and the wall, smashing her little fingers in the process. She screamed, and my wife and I pulled her hand from the door. A wailing child and a terrified, screaming mother did NOTHING to generate support from the desk personnel. We sat in the lobby, trying to decide whether or not to take her to an emergency room. When I approached the desk, the gentleman asked me if I needed help. I explained the situation, and he did get me some ice. He never enquired as to what happened or asked if he could get me some assistance. A short time later, I asked him for directions to the closest hospital, and he dug around and finally came up for directions to a hospital in Reston, VA. Again, no enquiry as to what was occuring.

We finally got some help from a young lady who mentioned the Inova Loudon Hospital, which has a pediatric emergency room. She got me some directions and we took our daughter there for precautionary X-rays (which turned out to be negative). Our daughter is fine, although NO ONE AT THE HOTEL BOTHERED TO ASK. Shouldn't you be prepared for "emergencies" such as this with some maps or recommendations? Shouldn't your employees be trained to care (or pretend to care) just a wee bit???

The hotel was beautifully appointed, and the beds were the most comfortable on our 8-day journey. However, the callousness of the staff was disarming. I was VERY DISAPPOINTED in the people part of a people business.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule in providing us your feedback. We apologize about the experience. This matter will be investigated and addressed with the Front Desk agent. I can assure you that your experience is an exception and not the standard at the Hyatt House Sterling. We always strive for our guests to have a safe, enjoyable and comfortable stay.
It is our hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 703-435-9002.

Sincerely,
Pam Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Address: 45520 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Washington Dulles)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sterling
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#5 Business Hotel in Sterling
#6 Green Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington-Dulles Hotel Sierra delivers a fresh take on modern day travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 162 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or alfresco patio with fire pit and lounge seating. Conveniently located in the Technology Corridor just 2 miles north of Dulles International Airport off Route 28. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Washington Dulles Hotel
Sierra Washington Dulles Sterling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.