We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service - Roomy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North to your Saves list
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45520 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Washington Dulles)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fuquay-Varina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Service - Roomy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The Girlscouts Rocked the Mall June 8 - 11 so our troop stayed at this property and I was very surprised at how nice the hotel was for the money. It's a bargain considered the square footage of the room. We had a small kitchen, a great sized fridge - not quite full sized but way bigger than all the "dorm" fridges most places have. There were real plates, mugs, utensils, etc. The service was great. The pool was clean. The breakfast buffet was yummy and plentiful. Even with all these girls, the rooms were very quiet. My ONLY complaint was that the floor under the pullout couch had not been vacuumed and there were wrappers under there from the previous guest. BUT they left me two quarters - whoo hoo! =) I have absolutely no qualms about saying to all of you that if you plan to visit the DC area STAY HERE!

Room Tip: I was on the third floor and it was super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback and we appreciate the comment regarding the pullout couch cleanliness. We will certainly address this with our Housekeeping team. It is through our guests feedback that we're able to improve our services and accommodations.

We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and your Girl scout trip to Washington, D.C. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Pam Domingo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    69
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
92
59
37
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Travelling from the South, we decided to stay here 1 overnight and next day see some Washington DC, before coming home, what a great decision we had made, The room is spacious & well equiped, very clean with a very comfortable bed, would definitely highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
We appreciate your great recommendation and feedback! I am delighted that we're able to provide you with great accommodations and service. We thank you for choosing us to be your 'home away from home' while in the Washington, DC area.


Safe travels,
Pam Domingo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed for four nights to participate in charity walk/run and general "touristy" stuff. Very nice welcome from desk staff, quickly got into rooms. Desk staff did a good job explaining breakfast times, restaurant and bar hours and general directions for hotel facilities.

Basic but good sized room. Real closet (with door, not just a niche in the wall). Big bathroom, not the typical chain hotel style, really room to move around without bumping an elbow in the wall. Wall-mounted dispensers for quality toiletry products, bath gel, shampoo, liquid soap and body lotion. Bar soap also provided. Room and bath very clean. They do not change bedding every day unless you request it. This is clearly explained by in-room cards. Same with towels.

In-room coffee maker with regular, decaf and tea packets, cream and sweeteners. Real coffee mugs (not plastic or foam) and one wine glass. I'm sure we could have asked for another but chose to use one of the tumblers. WiFi free and easy access except for the bad weather day. Not a problem.

Comfortable beds. Good environmentally sensitive ventilation system but did get a tad dry at night. Surprisingly quiet considering it's proximity to Dulles Airport and the number of children in the hotel. We had a room next to a family with small children and we never head them. Know they were there and the kids were active, but not a sound.

Good breakfast buffet with a nice selection of hot and cold foods, several juice options, fresh fruit and made to order omelets. Breakfast ares can be a bit crowded on the weekends, no problem on Fri or Mon mornings. Would have liked the cartoon TV noise lowered a bit but we could have moved. If you need an early news fix, there is another TV in the back of the bar area. There is a small lounge and bistro in the hotel but no other restaurants within walking distance but lots just a short drive away Very convenient to expressways and airport.

Small but nice outdoor pool.

We paid about $120/night which I thought was a very good value for what we received..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
We appreciate the positive feedback and the details of your experience. I am truly delighted that we were able to provide you with great service and accommodations. I will share your comments to my team members.
We look forward to your next visit and you can always count on us!

Best Regards,
Pam Domingo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed here after flying in from the UK and heading down to New Orleans next morning. The hotel shuttle bus picked us up within 10 minutes of our calling them and we were quickly checked in to our large room which was clean and in good condition. The hotel had a nice bar where we had drinks and huge Club sandwiches! We had a good nights sleep, although there was a little bit of early morning noise...not from the planes, but from lorries reversing at a gravel yard across from the hotel. The breakfast was one of the nicest we've had at a hotel, with lots of choice and omelettes cooked to order. After we checked out, the free shuttle had us back at the airport within 10 minutes. I'd also like to give the staff a mention....everyone we came into contact with was very helpful and friendly....a great start to our trip!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback! We are delighted that we were able to provide you great service and accommodations.

We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Pam Domingo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I stayed here for a wedding and was very surprised at how nice the hotel was for such a reasonable price. Rooms were spacious with a great kitchenette. Lobby was nice and breakfast was well above the std hotel buffet. Pool area is small but very nice. Having just stayed at a Hyatt one week prior, I got a much better room, free wifi, free parking and breakfast for well less than half the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience with us. It is always nice to hear such wonderful comments about our amenities and the value the hotel offers.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Pam Domingo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Pros: modern design, spartan but comfortable furnishings. Walk-in shower, only moderate water pressure. Great air-conditioning. Very good blackout curtains (we were with our 3 and 1 year-old kids who nap). Pool was warm, jacuzzi was not yet hot (just opened for season). Breakfast buffet was full of options (yes, an omelet station!) and coffee is very good. Wireless internet is free, and has great signal (we were in room 413). For dinner, choices were classic american fare at budget prices, with a very friendly server/bartender (don't remember her name). Some micro-brew beers were available. We could see the arriving planes on approach out of our double-glazed windows, but could not hear them. Don't know if departures would be audible.

Cons: We booked through American Express, which was our mistake. They put our reservation in for wrong nights! At the front desk, Betty was very, very helpful in accommodating and rearranging our reservation. Better to book directly with Hyatt or through online service, not with a human (fallible) agent on phone at American Express.

We found crumbs in sofa bed mattress. That mattress had no sheets on it. Anna, also at front desk, quickly arranged for housekeeping to clean crumbs and get sheets. She was surprised the bed had no sheets on it. Housekeeping didn't really get the job done for a couple of hours. Juana (housekeeper) finally came and cleaned.

Overall: Staff was super-friendly and helpful. Hotel was crisp, modern, budget but elegant. Location, well, it's near Dulles Airport, but absolutely nothing else. There isn't anything withing walking distance.
We paid around $100/night for the one-bedroom king (french doors close the bedroom off the main room). Great value!

Room Tip: Airplane views on West side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate the candidness and apologize that we fell short of both your expectations and mine in housekeeping. We will apply your observations to our customer service improvement plan we are implementing. We thank you as well for the positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team members, especially Betty and Anna.

We encourage you to return to our location as our goal is to provide you a flawless stay. We hope to see you again in the future and look forward to another opportunity to meet and axceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Pam Domingo-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I enjoyed my stay! Wish I could stay longer though.. The breakfast was the true "continental breakfast" imo. We had the 2 double bed room and it was huge and comfortable! Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, General Manager at HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
We appreciate your positive comments and great recommendation! Thank you! I am delighted that we were able to meet your expectations on the level of service and accommodations. I will certainly share your feedback with my Team.

Sincerely,
Pam Domingo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Address: 45520 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Washington Dulles)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#4 Family Hotel in Sterling
#6 Business Hotel in Sterling
#6 Green Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington-Dulles Hotel Sierra delivers a fresh take on modern day travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 162 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or alfresco patio with fire pit and lounge seating. Conveniently located in the Technology Corridor just 2 miles north of Dulles International Airport off Route 28. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Washington Dulles Hotel
Sierra Washington Dulles Sterling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.