We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely professional and helpful staff, rooms clean and secure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22595 Shaw Road, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Extremely professional and helpful staff, rooms clean and secure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Absolutely great staff. Rooms clean, comfortable, well furnished. Just minutes from Dulles Airport, hotel shuttle accomodating. Limited food within walking distance but Italia's delivers and is great Italian/Greek. Good breakfast. Several hotels sometimes share a shuttle which could be confusing. Shuttle arrived at airport 10 min after calling hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management at SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
Hello JulianSC,

Thank you very much for taking some time and writing a review of our Hotel! We really appreciate the feedback we get from our guests and take everything they say very seriously so we can always try and improve.

Having said that we are very happy to hear you had such a great time while you were staying with us. I am glad that you found some good restaurant to deliver. Out shuttle will also take you to local restaurants and businesses so that you can have even more options to choose from. All you need to do is call or go to the front desk and request a shuttle ride and they will schedule you one free of charge.

We are looking forward to being able to serve you the next time you are in Northern Virginia!

Sincerely,
The SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    56
    7
    6
    6
See reviews for
68
33
30
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
trevor-wa
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

a nice family hotel in the middle of nothing , one restaurant (a pub in the sister holiday inn, very good) a mile walk away so you should have a car. Excellent free wired in room internet. Nice Staff. The breakfast quality wasn't up to normal Mariott quality (worst breakfast sausages I've ever had).

A hint, the hotel airport shuttle when I arrived at midnite didn't have the hotel name on it (it said a sister hotel, hampton inn) and the driver didn't speak english, so it took me 2 hrs to get to the hotel because I didn''t print out their phone number (stupid me) and they aren't on the hotel phone board.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management at SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, July 5, 2010
Dear trevor-wa,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! we appreciate and take very seriously all of the reviews and guest feedback so we can always try and improve our guests' experience.

We are glad that you liked O'Malley's Pub and we would like to let you know that our shuttle will take you to O'Malley's upon request and that O'Malley's does provide room service to our hotel! Our Shuttle will also take you to any of the many local businesses and restaurants in the area so our guests without a car can still get out and enjoy the area.

We will look into the issue that you had with the breakfast sausage and make sure that we fix it. We are also in the process of figuring out how to improve the shuttle service at the airport. We don't ever want our guests to be stuck for any more time than they need to and we will make sure a better solution is found.

We hope that you will think of us next time you are traveling to the Northern Virginia area and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Sincerely,
The SpringHIll Suites Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

The layout of suites in this hotel is perfect for relaxing as well as for work. Well lighted areas thrroughout the suite. It has reliable wired and wireless network.A good flat screen TV with ok channel selection. Airconditiong is efficient and less noisy. Bed quality is good for sleep.Breakfast has good selection and breakfast area is large and clean. Hotel provides USA Today and Wall Street Journal. Location of hotel is good - closer to shopping centers, office complexes and highways. Staff is very good.
Needs improvement in coffee selection and once a week reception.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management at SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, July 5, 2010
Dear SD1234sd,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel! We take all of the guest feedback we receive very seriously so that we can always try and improve.

We are very happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the business amenities that we provide to our guests traveling on business. We know how important reliable and fast internet is so we take special care to provide the best options. It is also good that you were able to easily relax and sleep in your room and that breakfast was enjoyable for you. We know its important to start your day off right and we provide the best options we can for you to do so.

We will look into alternate options for the coffee we provide for our guests so that we can try and offer a better selection.

We look forward to the opportunity to being able to serve you again when you are in the Northern Virginia area again!

Sincerely,
The SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

We stayed at this hotel and drove into DC everyday, was not that bad of a drive. We had three kids 7,5 and 1 so we did not want to take the metro in. We drove in to DC paid for parking 18.00 a day not bad then drove back to the hotel when we were done. The staff was wonderfull, the room was very clean, it did not have one thing wrong with it. We had a king bed and the 2 kids stayed in the sleeper sofa, and i brought a playpen for my one year old. Nice size rooms for everything. Rooms had little sink, counter and cupboard space and a microwave. Kids enjoyed the pool, and we all loved the breakfast in the morning. The front line staff was so helpful with telling us about local resturants, directions on how to get around, and made you feel at home. Next time i go to DC they will see me again!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management at SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 21, 2010
Dear tschupp,

We would like to start off by saying thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! We really appreciate and take seriously guest feedback good or bad.

It is really great to hear that you had such a great trip visiting DC. I know that traveling with young children can be a daunting task and we are happy to know that we were able to be a part of that success. It sounds like our 25% larger rooms were really helpful with all of your family. We are glad that you liked Breakfast so much as well. Since breakfast is the most important meal we want our guests to have the option to start their day right with more than just cold options.

We are glad that you were able to use the pool too. I will make sure to pass on to the team your compliments about their helpfulness! We want to make each and every guest feel like they are at home while they stay with us and I will let them know they are doing a good job.

Thank you again for writing a review and we are looking forward to the next time you come and visit!

Sincerely,
The SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

We stayed here for two nights while waiting to fly out of Dulles back to the UK just after the ash cloud problems. There are some very good points about this hotel but other areas let it down:

The Good Points
- Every member of the staff is very friendly and extremely helpful.
- The rooms are spacious, very well equipped and decorated to a good standard.
- Free wifi and free wired high speed internet are available all rooms.
- There is a free shuttle bus to and from the airport.
- There is a free shuttle bus in the evening to local restaurants.

The Bad Points
- Breakfast is ok but everything is served on plastic - bowls, plates, knives, forks - the lot.
- Maintenance of the breakfast area was lacking on both days.
- The hotel doesn't provide evening meals so you have to go out to eat.
- There isn't much nearby, you need a car to go anywhere but the airport.
- The previous comment about hoards of noisy kids at the weekend is very accurate.

For a hotel that has such facilities, eating off cheap throw away plastic plates is poor. I have never experienced this at any hotel before, even budget brands in the UK. Had I known this before booking I'd have paid more to go elsewhere. If the hotel addresses this and the general maintenance of the breakfast area it will be a great place to stay. But these issues are probably enough not to stay here again when we are next in Washington.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management at SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
Dear Narratore,

We appreciate you taking the time to write such a thorough review of our hotel. We appreciate all guest feedback and take it very seriously in order to improve our hotel and our guests overall experience.

It is very good to hear that you enjoyed the room and found it to be well appointed to your liking. We are also glad you were able to take advantage of the free internet and shuttle service around the area.

Thank you for letting us know about the lack of service during breakfast we have informed the responsible departments and the issue is being addressed immediately. We understand that it can be a less than ideal situation to have large groups of children running about. However spring time in D.C. is the hight of the tourist season and you will find large tour groups in every hotel in the area.

We are sorry that you were not please with there not being a restaurant on the premises but all SpringHill Suites are select service hotels. We try to keep costs down as much as possible, none have restaurants, so that we can pass the savings on to our guests. That is one of the reasons we provide free shuttle service to local restaurants so that our guests will still have dinning options.

We are also sorry you did not like the plastic plates and utensils we provide for breakfast. However we can not change this. We are required to carry that type of plate and utensil because they are a Marriott brand standard.

We hope that you will give us a second chance and stay with us again the next time you are in the D.C. area! We will do our best to make your experience great!

Sincerely,
The SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

From check in to check out everything was great. Very friendly staff who are willing to answer any question. Daughter was sick one day and said it was the best room (very spacious) to be stuck in all day as we toured Washington. Nice basketball hoop out back for the bored teenage son plus a little putting green.
Exercise room small but well equipped and pool and hot tub are very nice. Breakfast buffet was very good also for a hungry family of four. Even though it takes about an hour to get into Washington by airport bus($3.20 exact change, bus 5A) we will return!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management at SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2010
Hello Mailmanwill,

We are very glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience while you stayed with us to visit DC! We truely appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel! We take reviews seriously so that we can alway try and improve our guests experience.

It is too bad to hear that you Daughter was sick but we are glad that it wasn't too bad for her to have to stay in the hotel. Our rooms are 25% bigger than the average hotel room which makes it a lot easier to stretch out.

We are happy that your family was able to take advantage of all of the great amenities we offer to our guests like the illuminated basketball court and putting green as well as the pool, hot tub, and fitness center. It is also good to hear that you enjoyed breakfast because we know how important it is to start your day right.

We truly look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Sincerely,
The SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimac MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

We didn't want to leave! Great staff from the people at the front desk to the lovely woman in charge of breakfast. The shuttle to Dulles was very handy in catching the bus that brings you into DC.

The breakfast had a nice selection each day. I didn't care much for the items in the warmer (it changed each day) but my son liked the french toast sticks. We enjoyed the waffle maker and its really a nice touch that they change the hot foods daily.

We were pretty much the only people using the pool and hot tub. The hot tub is hot! 104 degrees! The pool felt a little chilly to me at 84 LOL. My son loved the pool though.

At night they have cookies at the front desk and invite you to have some when you walk in the door. Parking was no problem whatsoever.

Found a great pizza place less than a half mile away called Emilios. Found them on yelp. Also had great ribs at Williards.

The nearby Walmart lost my photos or Fuji did and not sure if I am getting those back. The only negative on the whole trip.

Folks in DC can't be any nicer.

Orbitz told me in my confirmation that if I booked 2 nights I get a third free at check out. When I asked at check out the woman at the desk said it should be a credit from Orbitz. I was in a hurry and didn't have my paperwork but I did send an email today to the Manager and I have every confidence it will be handled.

Great place, sorry to leave and will for sure recommend it and go back again. There is so much to see in DC that I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kberkhimer, Owner & Management at SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, November 9, 2009
Dear Oceangal313,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Dulles Airport!

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and had a good experience! We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm Regards,
The SpringHill Suites by Marriott Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport

Address: 22595 Shaw Road, Sterling, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sterling
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#5 Family Hotel in Sterling
#11 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Marriott SpringHill Suites at Washington Dulles Airport, your ideal choice for Dulles Airport hotels. The Marriott SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport features a fabulous location just minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport. The SpringHill Suites Dulles is also conveniently located near Downtown Washington D.C., Dulles Town Center Mall, Leesburg Outlet Shopping. Enjoy spacious suites that are 25% larger than traditional hotel rooms. This hotel also offers outstanding amenities such as a 24/7 Fitness Center, Indoor Swimming Pool, Complimentary Hot Breakfast, and Complimentary Shuttle Service to Dulles International Airport by appointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Dulles Airport Hotel Sterling
Springhill Suites Sterling
Sterling Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.