We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding & Sports Team Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22595 Shaw Road, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wedding & Sports Team Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

First of all, clean, nicely appointed...but it is the attitude of the staff and management that sets this property apart. From the time you check in, to the time you need to talk with house keeping of another other staff...you realize they know how to treat a customer. Friendly, engaging and warm! We were there with a hockey team, there were other teams there as well and a rather large wedding party. There were no problems with kids running through the halls and people partying too loud in their rooms...why? Because staff were very tolerant of us (and our loud ways) by allowing us the run of the great room in the lobby. This meant people didn't have to party in their rooms and disturb those in rooms around them. I am sure sometimes people can get out of hand but you would have to be pretty much a jerk to get this staff to lay down the law. Hotels make a lot of money off sports teams and they could all learn a lesson from the staff in Sterling, Virginia.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillDulles, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with us. All of our associates take great pride in our guests satisfaction.
From all of us here at SpringHill Dulles Airport, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Manal Hanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    54
    7
    6
    6
See reviews for
67
31
30
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Hotel is VERY clean and pleasant, room spacious and comfortable, and great breakfast. Decor of room very relaxing and pleasant. Amenities are compact but more than adequate with pool, fitness, relaxing areas outside, sun bathing area, wireless access in rooms and lobby, and computers available. I always stay at Marriott properties but was impressed with this hotel. I will likely stay there for a local get-away!

Room Tip: Room 215 provided a good nights sleep although it is near the elevator. Like that TV is not near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Though this place is clean and new, there are three specific reasons why I won't be returning:

The smoke detector is positioned directly above the bed and flashes an "im in working order! light repeatedly! I found this incredibly distracting . I also had trouble with the glowing alarm clock and hair dryer/night lite! The bright lights of the parking area also found their way around the loose fitting light shade ! My room shined like a carnival all night!

Next: both the air conditioner and mini fridge gurgled and whined. Strike two.

The above can be forgiven , but an uncomfortable bed cannot!

I rate the bed and linen a D-

Sheets? Thin and scratchy.
Mattress? Lumpy and stiff!

The morning breakfast was better than expected standard fare.

I visit hotels to SLEEEP, but the distractions of room lighting, appliance noise and an uncomfortable mattress MURDERED it!! Farewell brave Springhill of sterling! Farewell!!




  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillDulles, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always our hope that every guest that stays with us has an enjoyable visit. We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.

Your concerns with the air conditioner and fridge have been brought to the attention of our maintenance team. They will be doing a review of our units to ensure that this issue does not happen again.We do appreciate the feedback and hope that you will give our hotel another try.

Manal Hanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were quite impressed with the customer service at this hotel. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly and really put us at ease during our stay. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We had an early flight out the next morning so we only stayed one night but it was a very comfortable night. Our flight left too early for us to have breakfast (breakfast service starts at 6:00 am and we had to leave at 5:00 am (it would have been nice if they had a few grab and go items such as fruit ) for the early travelers. We used the shuttle service and we pleased with the drivers promptness !

Green Features: I liked the fact that there were small blue recycle bins in the room!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My Wife & i stayed 3 nights here. The staff would welcome you every time you walked in the door.Breakfast was outstanding .Room was large,clean & bed very comfortable.Room had small fridge & microwave.. The only negative was no restaurant on site,but everything else about the place was outstanding.I used the airport shuttle drivers 6 times & they were friendly & efficient. I met the General Manager one morning & i see why all of the staff were friendly & so helpful.

Green Features: blue boxes for cans ,bottle & papers.. also they had grass on the rooftops.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We received a warm friendly welcome upon arrival. Requested a quiet room away from the highway. Our room was on the 6th floor facing the front of the hotel. Found it very clean and comfortable with all the amenities you would need. It included microwave, small fridge, Free wifi, and small coffee maker. I always take notice of the caulking around the bathtub, it's usually an indication of how well the hotel property is taken care of. This particular bathroom ranked a ten! It was in perfect shape no mold or cracks of any type and very clean. We also noticed maintenance personnel changing out air filters in the ac units.

On our way back in to the hotel from having dinner the first night, a female employee approached us with an invitation to the Managers Reception. She offered beer wine or soft drinks along with salad, breadsticks, a pasta dish and cookies. Apparently this is an every Tuesday event the hotel offers; it's basically dinner. We later learned the female employee was in fact the manager, Lynn. She was very friendly interacting with several tables inquiring about peoples trips and asking what could she do to make their hotel stay better.

Breakfast is from 6:00 a.m.to 10:00 a.m. with a variety of items, hot oatmeal, eggs, a rotation of sausages or bacon, fresh fruit, muffins and breads. Since our stay was several days we noted on the weekend they have waffles. One of the ladies "Ann" that maintains the area was exceptionally friendly and helpful to us.

Overall this was a really nice place to stay with warm friendly personnel and the facility was well taken care.

Room Tip: If you want quite get a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
Green Features: They have recycle containers by the ice machine and notices in the room regarding towel usage.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillDulles, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Buckranger,

The entire team here at SpringHill Suites Dulles want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! It is so very important to us that all our guests feel welcome and that they received the great service they deserve.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Thank you so very much,

Manal Hanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for a night using the free night certificate. Arrived at the hotel at around 8 PM, front desk was courteous, recognized my platinum status and offered welcome amenity even on a free stay. Since I had to catch a flight in the morning, desk agent inquired about the flight time and immediately put me on a morning free shuttle to airport. I also was able to park my car at the hotel for a week and was charged $20/week, which is very reasonable and cheap as compared to airport parking. Just looked at the breakfast spread in the morning and they seem to have both hot and cold items, though I dint try anything as we were in hurry. After returning from my trip, I called up hotel to pick me up from airport, and their shuttle was there within 10 mins. Very responsive and fast!!

Overall a pretty neat airport hotel with helpful staff! Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillDulles, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We appreciate the wonderful comments regarding our SpringHill Suites. It is such a compliment when our guests take the time to share feedback with us. We are always glad to see that our hotel shuttle makes our guests' stays more convenient.

We look forward to you staying with us again in the near future.

Manal Hanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport

Address: 22595 Shaw Road, Sterling, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sterling
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#5 Family Hotel in Sterling
#5 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Marriott SpringHill Suites at Washington Dulles Airport, your ideal choice for Dulles Airport hotels. The Marriott Dulles SpringHill Suites is the newest all suite hotel in Sterling, VA. The Marriott SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport features a fabulous location just minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport. The SpringHill Suites Dulles is also conveniently located near Downtown Washington D.C., Dulles Town Center Mall, Leesburg Outlet Shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Dulles Airport Hotel Sterling
Springhill Suites Sterling
Sterling Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.