We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and service plus a FREE shuttle to/from the airport (IAD) and child friendly!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22595 Shaw Road, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Northern Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent staff and service plus a FREE shuttle to/from the airport (IAD) and child friendly!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband, our 2 1/2 year son and I stayed for almost a week in November 2012 (I apologize for the delay my child is very active!). We initially stayed in a handicap accessible room b/c my mom was going to visit us and use the pool. She changed her mind so we moved into a regular room -- the staff didn't have any issues with this at all. Usually if you want to change rooms mid-stay you get an attitude and extra fee. The regular room had a bathtub and was bigger. They also have a handicap accessible pool and hottub; both of which have a lift if you are wheelchair bound -- I've never seen this at any hotel. They have a full breakfast every day: eggs, sausage, cereals, fruit, yogurt, juice, milk and coffee. Most hotels have a continental breakfast. Granted, the hot food reminded me of the mess hall but, that's most buffet style meals (in my opinion). My husband went to get another cup of coffee about 10-15 minutes after breakfast had officially stopped and there wasn't one sign that it had been packed with people only a short time before. There is a free shuttle to and from the airport (Dulles) and you can even schedule your pick-up/drop-off. ***Beware of other vans saying they are the Springhill Hotel***. Their van is clearly marked with the hotel name. It's right off 28 (a major hwy for those of you that are not from the Sterling area), about 5 miles from the airport. The rates are great during the week, $80-$90/night however, the rate almost doubles on the weekend. We stayed there b/c it was close to my mom's.

If you're a tourist, it's about 20 miles to the nearest Metro (Dunn Loring) on Gallows Rd if you want to take the subway into DC. I have heard there is a new bus stop in Herndon (about 4-6 miles from Sterling) that will take you to the Metro. You will need a car if you plan on sight-seeing. Enjoy your stay, we did!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    57
    7
    7
    6
See reviews for
71
33
30
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

A perfect 2 night stay in a very clean and comfortable hotel. The room was extremely comfortable, nice to find a large room with all we may need: large desk to work, comfortable chair to read, nice flat screen TV, a mini kitchen with sink, refrigerator and microwave. Large bathroom. And a very good breakfast (with a box to go if you are to rush to eat there!). The area being mainly hotels and fields, there is not much restaurants around. Better to eat first if you plan to be there late. A couple of gas stations are pretty close if needed. A recommended place for a quiet and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the main floor and they are all for handicaped persons - the bathroom only is...
See more room tips
Green Features: They have a recycling basket in the room! We filled it with pleasure with our plastic bottles and more. Very few hotels are doing it and I think they all should do it. I didn't know about the rest but I am glad they do all these efforts.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

My stay at the spring hill suites was really exceptional. The rooms large and comfortable. The free breakfast was good and slightly varied But the service was amazing! I would give them 5 out of 5. It made my stay very enjoyable.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sister Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is fine as far as cleanliness, breakfast and facility are concerned. However, I am very upset about the way i was treated.. I specifically called before booking to be sure there was a late night shuttle.I was arriving after midnight with two young grandsons, I was assured that there would be a shuttle available.. But when I called from the airport at one A.M. was told that the driver had gone home. Also, had to make up (not just open, but make up!) the sofa bed myself even though I had told them that there would be three of us. The extra $18 for a taxi made this hotel less than a bargain. Not a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stay in the Dulles area every week, but was caught off guard (and a little embarrassed) when I checked into the Springhill Suites on 4/9/13 and was told that my reservation was for the follwing week. The front desk clerk, Manal, was extremely accomodating and even gave me a courtesy upgrade.

The hotel was clean and very comfortable. I am looking forward to checking back in this week!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampasas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here during a visit to DC. Drove to DC Metro...into DC. Clean, good beds, good service, and a good full breakfast. Had two double beds with a pull-out sofa...very spacious. Friendly staff. Great value... Only paid $108.00. Would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Choose a room with a pull-out sofa, with a chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I'm local to the area but have stayed at this hotel a couple of times during power outages, held a conference, and attended training there. The guest rooms are large and spotlessly clean, equipped with small fridges, microwaves, sitting area with sleeper sofa and chair, flat screen TV, and of course a comfy King (or 2 doubles) bed. The service is always excellent, and the breakfasts have something for everyone. In addition to the airport shuttle (just 10 minutes to Dulles), they offer rides to local shopping centers. If you're there without a car this is very helpful as there is nothing within walking distance. Sterling is a DC suburb and has plenty in the way of great ethnic restaurants, along with the usual fast food options, large groceries, and big box stores like Target within a 2 or 3 mile drive. Recommended: Pattaya Thai on Sterling Blvd (Safeway Shopping Center), Emilio's Pizza on Shaw Road, and Wegman's (groceries & a gigantic variety of prepared food - a destination all its own!) on 28. A little farther: Sweetwater Tavern on Rt 7 and in nearby Herndon: Angeethi Indian, and Charcoal Kabob, both on Elden St. Once the Silver Line metro makes it out this way, there will be even easier access to DC. The conference facilities are excellent (one small board room, and a larger area that can be divided into two rooms) and catering for the conferences is very good. Parking is abundant and safe. Just what you would expect from a well run Marriott property.

Room Tip: West facing rooms can view airport traffic - taking off and/or landing. The hotel is far enough tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport

Address: 22595 Shaw Road, Sterling, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sterling
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#5 Family Hotel in Sterling
#11 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Marriott SpringHill Suites at Washington Dulles Airport, your ideal choice for Dulles Airport hotels. The Marriott SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport features a fabulous location just minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport. The SpringHill Suites Dulles is also conveniently located near Downtown Washington D.C., Dulles Town Center Mall, Leesburg Outlet Shopping. Enjoy spacious suites that are 25% larger than traditional hotel rooms. This hotel also offers outstanding amenities such as a 24/7 Fitness Center, Indoor Swimming Pool, Complimentary Hot Breakfast, and Complimentary Shuttle Service to Dulles International Airport by appointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Dulles Airport Hotel Sterling
Springhill Suites Sterling
Sterling Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.