We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up happy experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22595 Shaw Road, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sister Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Up happy experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is fine as far as cleanliness, breakfast and facility are concerned. However, I am very upset about the way i was treated.. I specifically called before booking to be sure there was a late night shuttle.I was arriving after midnight with two young grandsons, I was assured that there would be a shuttle available.. But when I called from the airport at one A.M. was told that the driver had gone home. Also, had to make up (not just open, but make up!) the sofa bed myself even though I had told them that there would be three of us. The extra $18 for a taxi made this hotel less than a bargain. Not a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    65
    10
    10
    7
See reviews for
76
42
32
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stay in the Dulles area every week, but was caught off guard (and a little embarrassed) when I checked into the Springhill Suites on 4/9/13 and was told that my reservation was for the follwing week. The front desk clerk, Manal, was extremely accomodating and even gave me a courtesy upgrade.

The hotel was clean and very comfortable. I am looking forward to checking back in this week!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampasas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here during a visit to DC. Drove to DC Metro...into DC. Clean, good beds, good service, and a good full breakfast. Had two double beds with a pull-out sofa...very spacious. Friendly staff. Great value... Only paid $108.00. Would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Choose a room with a pull-out sofa, with a chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I'm local to the area but have stayed at this hotel a couple of times during power outages, held a conference, and attended training there. The guest rooms are large and spotlessly clean, equipped with small fridges, microwaves, sitting area with sleeper sofa and chair, flat screen TV, and of course a comfy King (or 2 doubles) bed. The service is always excellent, and the breakfasts have something for everyone. In addition to the airport shuttle (just 10 minutes to Dulles), they offer rides to local shopping centers. If you're there without a car this is very helpful as there is nothing within walking distance. Sterling is a DC suburb and has plenty in the way of great ethnic restaurants, along with the usual fast food options, large groceries, and big box stores like Target within a 2 or 3 mile drive. Recommended: Pattaya Thai on Sterling Blvd (Safeway Shopping Center), Emilio's Pizza on Shaw Road, and Wegman's (groceries & a gigantic variety of prepared food - a destination all its own!) on 28. A little farther: Sweetwater Tavern on Rt 7 and in nearby Herndon: Angeethi Indian, and Charcoal Kabob, both on Elden St. Once the Silver Line metro makes it out this way, there will be even easier access to DC. The conference facilities are excellent (one small board room, and a larger area that can be divided into two rooms) and catering for the conferences is very good. Parking is abundant and safe. Just what you would expect from a well run Marriott property.

Room Tip: West facing rooms can view airport traffic - taking off and/or landing. The hotel is far enough tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great location to the airport, friendly staff, first time staying here as I recently picked up the territory. I now have a place to call home (kind of) at the SpringHill Suites in Sterling VA. I look forward to coming back here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goteborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Transfer to and from the airport by the hotel shuttle fast and reliable.
Even possible to take shuttle (scheduled) to and from nearby restaurants and shopping mall.
Location great for us as we wanted a place near the airport.

Staff friendly and helpful.
Free breakfast ok for a short stay - nothing fancy but enough to keep you going for a couple of hours.
Kids used the indoor pool and jacuzzi which both were highly appreciated. We were the only ones in the pool room. However no showers or changing rooms by the pool.
Gym looked fresh and nice, not huge but had the basic stuff like threadmill, stairmaster and free weights.

Room with two queen beds. Enough for a family with two small kids. At least for one night. Maybe not for a longer stay.
Microwave, fridge and sink. No cooking utensils but plastic knifes/forks found in the microwave.
Sofa and a little table.
Sink outside bathroom.
Everything felt proper maintained and not run down at all.

Can not comment on price as I used Marriott rewards points.
Would I stay here again?
Yes, for a shorter stay with family but probably not in business.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I flew into Dulles Airport, in the Washington DC area, to attend meetings in Reston and Ashburn, Virginia. We picked the SpringHill suites because it was a short drive from all our meetings and the airport. Everything worked out fine and I would recommend this hotel.

I stayed in a SpringHill Suites hotel on a trip back in September, and like the previous one, this was nice and new. My room was a slightly larger than average with a sofa/desk work area, a small bar-style sink with microwave (less than a kitchenette), a flatscreen TV, two double beds, a decent bathroom and WIFI. A normal room, not quite a suite.

My schedule was such that I had several hours in the morning free, so I used the whole time dialing into conference calls. I found my room very well suited for getting work done. The toll free phone calls were indeed free; the WIFI service was good and included at no extra charge. I did sneak down stairs and have some of the complementary buffet breakfast -- good and generous.

Just off the front desk, there is the typical snack shoppe, with microwave dinners, soda pop, snacks, and ice cream. I like this, because it is open around the clock. But for this stay, I didn't buy from here; instead we went out for dinner at the nearby restaurant (O'Malley's Pub). The nice gentleman at the front desk was more than happy to supply directions (neatly printed!)

Since the hotel is just off the main road (28), it was easy to get to / from the airport. Likewise, anywhere we needed to go was less than a 15 minute drive. Again, the hotel was in the right location and made my business travel productive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
1.0 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport

Address: 22595 Shaw Road, Sterling, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sterling
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#10 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Marriott SpringHill Suites at Washington Dulles Airport, your ideal choice for Dulles Airport hotels. The Marriott SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport features a fabulous location just minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport. The SpringHill Suites Dulles is also conveniently located near Downtown Washington D.C., Dulles Town Center Mall, Leesburg Outlet Shopping. Enjoy spacious suites that are 25% larger than traditional hotel rooms. This hotel also offers outstanding amenities such as a 24/7 Fitness Center, Indoor Swimming Pool, Complimentary Hot Breakfast, and Complimentary Shuttle Service to Dulles International Airport by appointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Dulles Airport Hotel Sterling
Springhill Suites Sterling
Sterling Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.