We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hockey Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22595 Shaw Road, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hockey Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here with my son's hockey team & families. Check-in was sub-par, but once we finally got our rooms, everything was fine. Check-in was at 3:00. Our rooms were not ready until after 4:00. We had these reservations with the hockey team for weeks, so they should have been better prepared. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff was excellent.

Room Tip: Back rooms have a terrible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    52
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
65
28
30
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

When a hotel falls short on basic amenities, I am unhappy...

Wireless Internet was very unreliable: There has been various points where either gets slow or goes out altogether. As a business traveler I require always available Internet.

Short supply of morning newspapers: I like to find a copy of the USA Today near the breakfast area. Unfortunately they probably keep a short supply so you are out of luck unless another guest happened to leave his copy in the breakfast table.

Not to bash on the other redeeming qualities the hotel has but I feel the above are minimum expected at a hotel especially if paying $175/night.

Next time if I am in the area I'd rather stay at the nearby Courtyard. They do better in these aspects plus that hotel is equipped with a bar where you can order drinks and hang out in the nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillDulles, Guest Service and Sales Manager at SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Reddaj,

Thank you for your feedback as it’s very important to our business to continue delivering a great customer satisfaction.

Regarding the internet, the hotel have a committed plan to upgrade out internet equipment for better stability connection and usage comfort for our guests in the next two months.

I will assure you that I will take care of the Newspaper as well, and make sure that it’s accordingly available. I really hope you give a chance next time when you are in the area and would ask you kindly to contact me so I can ensure that your stay is up to your satisfaction.

Yours in hospitality,
Firas N. Ghorab Guest Service & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel is about 10 minutes by airport shuttle from Washington Dulles Airport. We often use the Stay-Park-Fly package when we travel (5-10 times per year) since we live 90 minutes from the airport, and don't want to have the stress of having to drive a long distance during Washington's commuter traffic hours. When we are flying in/out of Dulles, we look first to the SpringHill Suites because we have always been pleased with our stays there. The package has free parking which usually means the total cost is less than long-term parking itself. We book the package through a third party website or directly with Marriott, whichever works best. Now, back to the hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable with kitchenette, lounge area, and bedroom and bathroom. The complimentary hot breakfast is as good as any we've had at a hotel. Check-in and check-out are convenient. Major newspapers are complimentary and taking the shuttle to/from the airport is easy and convenient (luggage hauling is at a minimum). It makes the start (or end) of a trip pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I was very impressed by the SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport. The rooms are clean. There is a continental breakfast (it looked just fine). A shuttle runs to and from the hotel. Though it wasn't running at 4am, the front desk staff arranged for another hotel's shuttle to pick me up and take me to the airport. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel if you are traveling to / from Dulles Airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Made an advance reservation based on a marriott.com special. Had a late flight that was late into Dulles so got to the hotel late. Staff was excellent and very helpful considering the time we arrived. The breakfast was very good. Left late so the kids could use the pool.
Bottom line is you cannot stay at a nicer airport hotel than the SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Nice hotel less than a half mile from Dulles Airport on Sully Road and Sterling Boulevard. Nice staff. Room was clean, and the beds were comfortable, though we wished the beds were queen size. The bathroom was somewhat smaller than usual. Jet noise was not noticeable, though the air conditioner was somewhat noisy. Well maintained hotel. .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our flight was cancelled leaving Dulles, and this was one of the least expensive hotels that was offering an airport discount for the night. My expectations were not high. I was very pleasantly surprised! Very nice and clean suites... very clean bathroom... the bed was nestled in between two walls making it nice and cozy... bed was comfortable ...customer service on this particular night was great... the breakfast buffet was very good. All in all it was a great experience for a tired group. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was the shuttle. We had difficulty understanding the person in charge of sending the shuttle, and couldn't get clear instructions on where to meet him. We had to walk miles through the airport to reach the shuttle. However, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport

Address: 22595 Shaw Road, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sterling
#5 Family Hotel in Sterling
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#5 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Marriott SpringHill Suites at Washington Dulles Airport, your ideal choice for Dulles Airport hotels. The Marriott Dulles SpringHill Suites is the newest all suite hotel in Sterling, VA. The Marriott SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport features a fabulous location just minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport. The SpringHill Suites Dulles is also conveniently located near Downtown Washington D.C., Dulles Town Center Mall, Leesburg Outlet Shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Dulles Airport Hotel Sterling
Springhill Suites Sterling
Sterling Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.