We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inviting, Clean, Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22595 Shaw Road, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Garfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Inviting, Clean, Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Upon opening the door to my room, I could see the king bed in the background but the half wall separating the sleeping area from the working area, clearly established a definition of spaces.

The work/living area had a wet bar area with a mini fridge and microwave. There was a love seat with 2 small tables that could be combinded to create a larger surface, and a desk.

The sleeping area was more than ample. The bed was very comfortable. The closet contained an iron and board. There was a near full length mirror outside the very spacious bathroom.

The hallways were well lite and decorated in pleasing colors. The stairwells were wallpapered and clean. There was a small exercise room. The pool had entry steps at the shallow end with only ladders at the deep end and it was a good size. The hot tub was a good fit for 4, cramped with 6.

The lobby had 3 computers for guests use. There was a small room off the lobby that sold sundries. The breakfast buffet area was very spacious. The items offered for breakfast were more than the usual fare. There was a small selection of fresh fruit as well as yogurt, hard boiled eggs, the standard breads, muffins, cereals. There were sausages and eggs but the eggs were shaped like hamburger patties and I did not try them. The seating area was very pleasing. The room had a fireplace with a wall mounted tv at one end. There were table and chairs as well as cushioned chairs appropriate for a living room.

The staff was courteous and helpful.

The overall atomsphere was friendly and inviting. This is a hotel I would certainly stay again, should I be in the area. There is nothing negative to report about this property. A very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear travelerfiveseven,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a thorough a review of our hotel! We take all of our guests' feedback very seriously.

Having said that we are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you got to experience everything that the hotel has to offer and we are glad that you felt welcomed and at home. Our team takes a lot of pride in providing excellent service and taking care of the hotel to make our guests' stays as enjoyable as possible.

We are looking forward to having another chance to serve you next time you are traveling to or through the Dulles area.

Sincerely,
The SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    55
    7
    6
    6
See reviews for
67
31
30
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
1,182 helpful votes 1,182 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed here three nights with a tour group of 30+ senior citizens. Rooms were exceptional, great layout with spacious floorplan. Housekeeping was outstanding. Room cleanliness was one of the best I've ever experienced. Bed was very comfortable, and the air conditioning performed extremely well during the recent heat-way with temperatures over 100 degrees outside.

Given the location, it is not surprising that there are a lot of tour groups staying here (I was there as part of a tour group). And, the hotel did do a good job of keeping the youth / school tour groups bed rooms on a different floor from the senior group.

The breakfast selection was good, and the staff tried to keep up with resupplying the food given the hordes of people. The problem was that the teen groups totally monopolized the one relatively small area (for the size of the hotel) to eat breakfast. The hotel desperately needs more space for places to eat breakfast; maybe separate rooms for the tours. Most of our tour group gave up and just carried breakfast coffee and food back to our rooms.

My only complaint is the crowds of unrully youth groups, and the hotel's inability to cope with this influx. The hotel offers three PCs in their business center. Although there was a sign up indicating that the PCs were only for individuals over the age of 18, the youth groups totally monopolized the computers. Even though the business center is directly accross from the front desk, and the front desk could see the kids (several kids deep) crowded around the PCs, the front desk did nothing to rectify the situation and enforce their own policy.

The one morning the loby area became a very loud, mob scene of teenagers, and the rest of us had to struggle to walk through there. Although I recognize that the hotel should not be responsible for the bad behavior of the kids (their adult supervision appeared non-existent), I lowered the rating of the hotel from Excellent to Poor because they did not set up separate eating areas for the tour groups and did not enforce their own policy of limiting computer access in the business area to adults only.

This would be a great hotel if only they implemented better policies to control tour groups (I have stayed at other hotels with tour groups that were better handled).

Room Tip: Ask for a room far-way from any youth or school tour groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear CynthiafromOhio2011,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience staying at our hotel. We take all of our guests' comments seriously so we can always improve our service.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the room was comfortable, clean, and somewhere you could easily relax. We hope that you weren't too inconvenienced by the other tour group staying at the hotel. As you can imagine there are many challenges to having such large groups in the hotel whether they are senior groups or student groups. We do our best to accommodate everyone's needs but unfortunately that can be quite a challenge sometimes. We are looking into options to remedy the issues you have brought to our attention so that all our guests feel welcomed.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you the next time you are in the Dulles area.

Sincerely,
The SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Remember the good old days when your dad took the family on a weekend adventure by car and the family would over night in a Howard Johnson hotel. Remember when you went into the lobby and it was small and cozy, and the clerk behind the small counter was happy to see you. Remember when the room was reasonably priced, ready and clean upon your arrival even if it was an early arrival. Remember waking up in the morning and having a FULL complimentary breakfast that was hot and tasty. WELL WELCOME TO SPRINGHILL SUITES at DULLES.

Room Tip: For the Price you can't beat it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Dear llinda03,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We take all of our guests' feedback very seriously.

We are very happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay and that we were able to provide everything that you were looking for during your trip. We take customer service very seriously and do everything we can to make our guests' feel right at home.

We hope to see you again soon when you are in the area again.

Sincerely,
The SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Lake, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We spent two delightful nights at the SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport. Since we had two adults and three kids, we were looking for a suite at a property that had a free breakfast. Because I have a wheat allergy, we were also looking for a breakfast and not just pastry and coffee. SpringHill Suites worked great for all our needs. The property was in a safe area with free parking and the building looked quite new. The staff was knowledgable and quite helpful. We had one minor problem with the flat screen tv which was taken care of immediately. Our room was spacious and comfortable for our group of five. Our teens loved the pool, and the breakfast offered lots of great choices. Next time we go to DC, we'd definitely stay here again. It was about a 45 minute ride of the weekend to DC.

Room Tip: Book right from the Marriott site
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Hello PSU_Crazy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We take all of our guests' feedback very seriously.

We are happy to hear that you were so delighted with your stay with us. We take pride in providing everything our guests need away from home by offering the best amenities possible. We are very happy to hear that with your wheat allergy you were still able to enjoy our great breakfast. It is also good to hear that you were able to take advantage of all the other great amenities we have to offer as well.

We are looking forward to the next time you are in the area and we have another chance to serve you.

Sincerely,
The SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stay at this hotel very frequently. As a Mariott Platinum Premier, they have to maintain a good level of service. I've found this team to be among the best. Would highly recommend the hotel. Breakfast can be a bit boring, but at least it's consistent. Once in a while they get very busy with tour groups which can be annoying but in general it's a very quiet hotel. Not close to anything so if you're looking for night life, this isn't the place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Hello JohntheLast,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your experience staying at our hotel. We take all of our guests' reviews very seriously to ensure we are always striving to provide the highest level of service possible.

We would like to start by thanking you for being a Marriott Rewards Platinum Premiere member as Marriott Rewards Members are some of our most valued guests. We are very happy to hear that you have been enjoying your stays with us. We try to provide our guests with as much as possible from a great value, consistently excellent service, and everything you need to feel at home.

We are glad that you enjoy breakfast and apologize for any inconvenience cause from tour groups staying at our hotel. We do our best to make sure that all of our guests are comfortable during breakfast which can be challenging in certain situations.

We are looking forward to the next time you are in the area and we have another opportunity to serve you again!

Sincerely,
The SpringHIll Suites Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC area
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed at this hotel due to an early flight out of Dulles. It's a good place to stay short-term. There is not much around the hotel, unfortunately, but the hotel is clean and quiet with friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Dear neavega,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a thorough review of your experience staying with us. We take all of our guests' feedback very seriously and use it to always improve ourselves.

We are extremely happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience staying with us. We do everything we can to make our guests feel at home and it sounds like you did. We are glad to hear that you got to take advantage of all the great amenities we have for our guests as well. We would have been more than happy to immediately replace the hairdryer if you were to have given us a call. We do our best to take care of all our guests' needs.

We are looking forward to the next time you are in the area and we have another chance to serve you.

Sincerely,
The SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

This was the first time we've stayed in a Springhill hotel. The location was good, but if you dont have a car, there's nothing to eat near, just a pud half a mile away. To get to DC you have to take the shuttle to the airport and then take a bus to L'Enfant Plaza.

I called the hotel 2 days before we arrived Dulles, for information and the lady was very kind to explain how to find the airport shuttle at Dulles, but when we got there, we had to called the hotel and they told us what gate we should go to get the shuttle (it was free shuttle!)

The room was nice, it had 2 double beds and one sofa bed, I've slept on it and was comfortable with great pillows! it had a litte frigde, a sink, a microwave (coffee and tea) and LCD plasma 42''. the A/C was quiet. The bathroom was spacious, with a normal tub and enough towels for 5. The only bad thing was the hair dryer, it didnt work out

The breakfast was really good! I had scrambled eggs, bagels, cereal, milk and chocolate. Waffles, orange juice and hot cocoa! it wass delicious, and enough food until 9am. The staff was really helpful and nice, specially the airport shuttle driver!. The hotel has a little market so you can buy last minute things, frozen food and chips.

I highly recommend this hotel, it's worth it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Hello neavega,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your experience staying with us.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt at home during your trip. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy all of the great amenities we provide for our guests. Feel free to come down to the front desk or give us a call whenever you have any issues with your stay. We would have been more than happy to replace the hair dryer immediately.

We hope to see you again soon the next time you are in the area visiting.

Sincerely,
The SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport

Address: 22595 Shaw Road, Sterling, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sterling
#5 Business Hotel in Sterling
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#5 Family Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Marriott SpringHill Suites at Washington Dulles Airport, your ideal choice for Dulles Airport hotels. The Marriott SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport features a fabulous location just minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport. The SpringHill Suites Dulles is also conveniently located near Downtown Washington D.C., Dulles Town Center Mall, Leesburg Outlet Shopping. Enjoy spacious suites that are 25% larger than traditional hotel rooms. This hotel also offers outstanding amenities such as a 24/7 Fitness Center, Indoor Swimming Pool, Complimentary Hot Breakfast, and Complimentary Shuttle Service to Dulles International Airport by appointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Dulles Airport Hotel Sterling
Springhill Suites Sterling
Sterling Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.