We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel provides great comfort and service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45515 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This hotel provides great comfort and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Staff are very accommodating. They listen.Rooms are clean. Shuttle takes you to the mall, church, fine groceries & restaurants, fast foods, post office, nearby museum, airport. Free breakfast offers wide variety - fruits, breads, juices, meats, yogurt, etc. Internet is ok on some hours of the day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    65
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
42
34
26
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Whole hotel smelled like smoke. My room was non smoking with cigarette burn in comforter. Couldn't use Internet to even send a email. I need Internet for my work, so that didn't help me. This place is just plain horrible.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway is perhaps a notch above your average Comfort Inn. Like most Comfort Inns, it has comfortable bedding and solid furnishes. Bathroom was reasonably stocked, though bath towels could have been a bit larger. I found the room clean, and air conditioning worked very well. Breakfast was typical Comfort Inn fare, including both hot and cold breakfast foods. Ample free parking in the back. But what made this Comfort Inn a cut above the rest was the suite-type room. Upon entering, there's an area equipped with a sofa, coffee table, and ottoman, which offered a nice little living room in which to relax. While this is not a luxury hotel, what you get for the very reasonable price makes it a practically ideal choice of accommodation in the Virginia suburbs of Washington, DC. It location, furthermore, practically guarantees quiet, yet it's close the airport and the highway leading to Washington. So, it's really a 4-star or high 3-star hotel, but the bargain price gives it 5-star rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reisterstown
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our experience was delightful, Ms Velia was very courteous and helpful. she answered all questions we had and offered other information that made our stay pleasant. I plan to stay at the comfort Inn anytime I'm in the Dulles and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortdullesgm, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for the review of your most recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the property and the services we provided and thank you for complimenting Velia. We look forward to your next stay when travel brings you back to our area.

Sincerely,

Jay Javid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germantown, md
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Really, folks, when you get right down to it, almost all good-quality motels are pretty much the same. Good conditions, good service, good amenities. No surprises. Location and convenience are the most important things, especially when you're taking an early morning flight out of Dulles and don't want to chance the rush-hour traffic in the DC area. This one is as a good as any in the area, and all prices are comparable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhannon, West Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Thankfully it wasn't terribly hot outside when we stayed.

The room was ok - pretty clean. The drain in the shower was dislodged and one light in the bathroom was burned out. After a couple of hours we realized that the a/c was blowing, but not cooling. The a/c unit was making a weird noise, too. We told the front desk and they sent a gentleman right away. He fiddled with the a/c unit for a while and said he was sorry, it probably needed coolant. I hoped that as the evening cooled down we'd cool down, too, but by about 10 that night it was still hot. I asked the front desk for a fan - sorry. They didn't offer another room, either. I wish I had asked - in retrospect - as we spent a very hot night.

The next morning the machine wouldn't even blow any air. When I checked out I mentioned to the clerk that it wasn't working at all and we spent a really hot night. He said he was sorry and gave me my receipt. I'm a bit wimpy and just walked away. Then I decided to get a backbone and ask if they'd give me a refund. The clerk apologized and said he couldn't do so without the manager. They weren't in. He gave me a business card and wrote down Jay and Nina's names and suggested I call the next day.

I reached Nina the next day and she agreed to give me a 25% discount. I don't really feel good about that as it was a miserable night when we really needed rest.

On the up side, the hotel was quiet and pretty clean. The window bed was a neat twist.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortdullesgm, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for leaving a comment about your stay. I am sorry to hear that you had so many problems with your room. I will definitely forward this to both my maintenance and front desk department to improve the handling of such matters. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience and hope we can make your next stay more enjoyable.

Regards,

Jay Javid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Va
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We just need a place to crash before getting to the airport at 3:30 a.m. This place was not cheap ($125 for two). We did not get to the breakfast because it did not open until 5:30. The room was clean unless you looked behind the nightstand and the beds were so soft that they bowed when you sat on them. It was good enough to catch a few hours sleep, but I will look for another property next time. The front desk staff was courteous, but it took a long time to check in; efficiency was not a priority.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortdullesgm, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about the Comfort Inn Inn & Suites, Sterling, VA.We value your comments and patronage and will use your comments to enhance the quality of our product. We are sorry that your were disappointed at check in, please give us one more chance to make it right.

Regards,

Jay Javid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway

Address: 45515 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sterling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#6 Family Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway Hotel Sterling
Comfort Inn And Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
Comfort Inn Sterling
Quality Inn Sterling
Sterling Quality Inn
Sterling Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;