We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Parking Experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45515 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Horrible Parking Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I reserved a spot at this hotel to park my car here for 9 nights using a 3rd party. I showed up at 5:30am to park my car and catch my early morning flight. The guy at the front desk informs me that there are no open parking spots. I’m obviously really upset since I have a spot reserved and need to catch my flight. He starts telling me a sob story about the parking situation and how it’s not the hotel’s fault. Everything he said was garbage since it was clearly the hotel’s fault. If you cannot accommodate long term parkers, then don’t sell long term parking online! I asked him what he was going to do, and he actually told me to leave and park somewhere else! Wow, what great customer service (sarcasm). The guy was completely useless, was rude, and even started yelling at me. I saw 2 other couples after me have the same problem.

I left and parked at another hotel which was able to accommodate me. The whole fiasco caused me to miss my flight, miss my connection, and caused me a lot of unnecessary stress. The parking company online where I made my reservation gave me a refund for the parking, but told me that all other compensation would need to come from the hotel. My attempts to contact the hotel for this have not been answered, thus here is the negative review I promised.

Why would anyone want to stay at this hotel when they clearly do not care for customers? You need to train your morning shift managers how to handle situations like this and not yell at the customers, esp when the hotel is at fault. This was a horrible experience, and it only involved parking. Pathetic service and did not take responsibility for their screw up. Do not reserve long term parking here and do not stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortdullesgm, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about your parking experience. We have studied your comments and will take immediate action to resolve this break in service. Kindly accept our sincere apologies.

Regards,

Jay Javid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    92
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
54
44
47
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WV & TX
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Clean and comfortable. Nicely appointed king room with microwave, coffee etc. Didn't realize how quiet until we came down for breakfast and discovered a huge school group. They even did a good job considering the group with keeping the breakfast items stocked. Good shuttle to airport. Will definitely use again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortdullesgm, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for leaving us a comment about your positive experience. We are glad you enjoyed your nicely appointed king suite and were satisfied with our shuttle service. Our breakfast staff always receives a lot of praise for their hard work, and we are glad your recognize that as well. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Jay Javid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Well the info desk at the airport was nice enough to call the hotel to check on room availability and have the van sent over.
We waited and saw what looked like the shuttle zip by our stop. Waited some more then called the hotel and then the van showed up.
Got to the hotel. Pretty basic but super cheap rate. I unfortunately saw something crawling on the curtain so I drew the curtain back and it popped on the day bed near the window. That was the first of three attempts to rid the room of him and some freinds. Total insectoid nightmare.
Note to hotel #238 needs your attention pronto!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortdullesgm, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking your time by leaving a comment about your stay. We sincerely apologize about the stink bugs you found in your room. We always try to make our customers stay a satisfying one with prompt reactions to their needs. Had you brought it to our attention we would have been happy to take care of your unwanted visitors. We are glad you took a picture of this harmless pest; we here in Northern Virginia are daily fighting against it since there is no official pesticide that could kill them. Believe me, we are trying to do our best to keep them from getting in, but as you saw for yourself it doesn’t always work, and I am sorry for that.

Sincerely,

Jay Javid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Beds that were immaculately prepared, rooms that were thoroughly clean, staff that were courteous and helpful [Paula and Velia in our case], breakfast that was diverse and more than adequate, exercise room that was available 24/7 ... at one of the most reasonable prices around. Spend more money if want to do so, but I'll stay here and spend my savings on my family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortdullesgm, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for the review of your most recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the property and the services we provide. We look forward to your next stay when travel brings you back to our area.

Regards,
Jay Javid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I checked in late at night. Hotel waas easy to get to. The room was good very clean. I know a security guard in the hallway on the 2nd floor going to my room. Hotel Front "Velia" provided excellent service. I was able to get a late checkout which was a helped a lot for the drive to Norfolk. Well Pleased................. Thanks Velia. I will use the property in my future travels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortdullesgm, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for leaving a comment and recognizing our excellent staff and clean rooms. We are always committed to going the extra mile to satisfy our guests and we are pleased that Velia could help you out. Your experience assures us that you will choose us again on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jay Javid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Because of an incoming snow storm in Denver, our group left for Dulles a day early. With not much time, I grabbed the cheapest, decent reviewed hotel I could find on Kayak.

Upon arrival at the airport, it was easy to find the shuttle to the hotel which seemed to run consistently. Check in was quick and easy, and we were in our room within an hour of arriving at the airport.

There was only one restaurant (fast food, I can't remember what) within walking distance of the hotel. This was a negative, but we were able to order pizza which came fast enough.

The room was about as average as average can be. Nothing fancy, nothing to get upset about either. We were leaving early the next morning, so it didn't matter to us.

In the morning, we enjoyed the hotel's continental breakfast. It was actually quite nice and included waffle makers (always a plus :)).

The shuttle was ready to take us to the airport right at the time we requested, and we got there in no time.

Overall, it was a fine stay for an overnight at Dulles. We got it for a good price, and everything went as smooth as it could. Nothing special, but no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortdullesgm, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your detailed comment. We are glad to hear that your were satisfied with your stay. We truly appreciate it and look forward serving you again when you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Jay Javid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, il
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I just had to stay at this hotel for a few hours before my flight and was pleasantly surprised when I checked in VERY late night. The Hotel lobby was small, but very clean and modern. The room was very well equipped with all amenities required with fresh linens & a modern clean room. The bathroom also seemed to be brand new & very well kept. The hospitality at breakfast was excellent with a lot of hot food choices in the morning.
Overall for the price paid this hotel was a great choice in the area...

P.S. Dulles Airport (IAD) is just 5 minutes drive from here !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortdullesgm, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words on your most recent stay. It is very much appreciated. We are delighted that you found the breakfast to be excellent and look foward to your future stay with us.

Sincerely,

Jay Javid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway

Address: 45515 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sterling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#6 Family Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway. Leave your transportation needs to us, with our complimentary shuttle service to and from Washington Dulles International Airport. Our convenient location keeps you close to popular area attractions, including Dulles Expo Center and Redskins Training Park. We're also within walking distance to several eateries, such as Bertucci's and Logan's Steakhouse. During your stay, enjoy free WiFi internet access, breakfast, fitness center and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway Hotel Sterling
Comfort Inn Sterling
Quality Inn Sterling
Sterling Quality Inn
Sterling Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.