We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Fine for an Overnight Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45515 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Sterling
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfectly Fine for an Overnight Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Because of an incoming snow storm in Denver, our group left for Dulles a day early. With not much time, I grabbed the cheapest, decent reviewed hotel I could find on Kayak.

Upon arrival at the airport, it was easy to find the shuttle to the hotel which seemed to run consistently. Check in was quick and easy, and we were in our room within an hour of arriving at the airport.

There was only one restaurant (fast food, I can't remember what) within walking distance of the hotel. This was a negative, but we were able to order pizza which came fast enough.

The room was about as average as average can be. Nothing fancy, nothing to get upset about either. We were leaving early the next morning, so it didn't matter to us.

In the morning, we enjoyed the hotel's continental breakfast. It was actually quite nice and included waffle makers (always a plus :)).

The shuttle was ready to take us to the airport right at the time we requested, and we got there in no time.

Overall, it was a fine stay for an overnight at Dulles. We got it for a good price, and everything went as smooth as it could. Nothing special, but no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortdullesgm, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your detailed comment. We are glad to hear that your were satisfied with your stay. We truly appreciate it and look forward serving you again when you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Jay Javid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    56
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
34
29
21
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, il
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I just had to stay at this hotel for a few hours before my flight and was pleasantly surprised when I checked in VERY late night. The Hotel lobby was small, but very clean and modern. The room was very well equipped with all amenities required with fresh linens & a modern clean room. The bathroom also seemed to be brand new & very well kept. The hospitality at breakfast was excellent with a lot of hot food choices in the morning.
Overall for the price paid this hotel was a great choice in the area...

P.S. Dulles Airport (IAD) is just 5 minutes drive from here !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortdullesgm, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words on your most recent stay. It is very much appreciated. We are delighted that you found the breakfast to be excellent and look foward to your future stay with us.

Sincerely,

Jay Javid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Jay and Velia took great care of us. We were stranded in the snow storm with no flights out. Jay knew none of us could get around in the snow he arranged and paid for Pizza and Noodles for all. Definitely a repeat.
Well done Jay and Velia

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortdullesgm, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for the review of your most recent stay with us. I am always pleased to read that we have satisfied the needs of our guests. We appreciate your comments and will do our best to continue to deliver the services you deserve and expect.

Sincerely,

Jay Javid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Above average Comfort Inn, but much more reasonable rates than any other decent hotel I found in the Dulles area. If you need a warm bed and a decent breakfast before a flight out, this place will do just fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortdullesgm, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay. The hotel management and staff work tirelessly to deliver the best overall hotel experience for each of our guest's and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Regards,

Jay Javid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

After missing my flight and being grumpy for half an hour my spirits were lifted by the ambience of the whole hotel and the friendly staff that was not bothered by my check in time(1am), it has a quiet rustic homely feel to it.The room was very spacious and the mini kitchen was a bonus with the most amazing coffee I have ever tasted. It was such a comfortable place would be ideal for families.Unfortunately I missed my breakfast,overslept.Comfort Inn the name suites the place.
Great place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortdullesgm, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback. Your comments are definitely shared with the staff and these words certainly cement their outlook towards guest service.

Regards,

Jay Javid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

What an extra bonus that a complimentary breakfast buffet is included. From hot eggs and bacon (or sausage) and make it yourself waffles to a quick yogurt and hard boiled eggs, not to mention the best coffee Especially if you add vanilla crime) you are set for the day. And if you need a quick snack try grabbing a mini muffin or pastry. There's even fun cereals for the kids and a juice dispenser.

Room Tip: Ask Velia for the room that best suits your needs. She knows the property very well and can put you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortdullesgm, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback and complimenting Velia. We are glad you enjoyed your stay completely and that assures us that you will choose us again on your next visit.
Regards, Jay Javid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My friend and I stay here quite frequently and we truly enjoy the hotel but the staff is what makes this a great place. Velia is always very friendly, always smiling and seems to enjoy her job. It's a pleasure seeing her whenever we check in.

Room Tip: Go for the King Room, it is so convienent to use a sink, microwave and refrigerator! Also the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortdullesgm, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to highlight Velia, who made your stay wonderful. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward seeing you soon in the near future. Regards, Jay Javid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway

Address: 45515 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sterling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#7 Family Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway Hotel Sterling
Comfort Inn Sterling
Quality Inn Sterling
Sterling Quality Inn
Sterling Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.