We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45515 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Sterling
Texarkana, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Room was clean, had a neat window seat that my kids LOVED. Beds were comfy. Toiletries smelled nice. Wasn't too small, laid out nicely so I didn't feel too cramped. Room had a pretty good collection of restaurant delivery menus, and many of them didn't charge a delivery fee.

Didn't have many power outlets, but then again we need more than the average family when we travel (hubby is a geek and travels with a lot of phones/tablets/laptops that all need to charge). Breakfast was sub-par and all on disposable dishes, but they did have a waffle-maker and batter dispenser. No refrigerator or microwave in the room.

Close to the airport, which was nice when we got there to be able to get to our hotel quickly, but there's nothing close by. Next time we'll probably stay somewhere closer to attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    58
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
36
29
21
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

very good hotel but the location is very bad ( nothing there!! )

service + value + sleep quality + cleanliness + rooms = very good

location = very bad but it's too close to the airport

swimming pool = i didn't see an swimming pool !

restaurant = there is just a breakfast and it's very good but you have to order from any restaurant for the lunch and dinner

** thank you Velia for giving me a good price

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I am another who was stranded at this hotel during hurricane Sandy (three nights at the end of October 2012). Fortunately, American Airlines put me in touch with this property at a good rate. It was a pleasant stay despite the situation, primarily because of the staff and the clean, well-maintained, attractive property. To everybody's good fortune, we had no blackouts or damaging and rain.

The staff, especially Velia at the front desk, were friendly and helpful during a difficult time, although it would have been more helpful if they had pointed out restaurant menus, delivery services, etc., that I found by the second day. I considered giving this good hotel just three stars for location. Yes, it has shuttle proximity to Dulles Airport, but it is close to NOTHING except a Hyatt property across the driveway. As I said to my friends and family, "I am sitting out the hurricane in a field of weeds" without a car, a restaurant, or a grocery store. The first morning, I walked the distance of 3-4 blocks in pouring rain to get hot dogs from a service station I had spotted from my window. Day two: excellent Chinese food delivered to the lobby (menu hidden behind the front desk). By day three, I had learned the ropes and had door-to-door service to a hamburger place.

I appreciated the very good breakfast buffet and the hotel's ability to deliver it during a hurricane. Wireless service in my room was excellent.

The field of weeds cries out for development. Meanwhile, I would not pay this hotel's normal price to stay in the middle of nowhere, even with good weather and a car.

Room Tip: As with other hotels, I recommend staying away from the elevator area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a "park and ride" package for Dulles airport. After our international travel of 20 hours we waited for over an hour for our pickup at the airport (they kept saying 10 to 15 minutes). Another couple going here had been waiting almost an hour before us. We wound up getting a ride with a sympathetic Hyatt taxi and tipped him well..... The room is a dump. No shower in the a.m. as the water was cold. Our 9:00 wake up call came at 7:30. The wifi didn't work without going into some Yahoo backdoor. Never again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortdullesgm, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your comment about your recent experience at this year's freshly renovated Comfort Inn & Suites. I remember speaking to you the next morning about the shuttle transportation, and I am glad I could refund you for the expenses on the Hyatt taxi you've used instead. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. We are already in process to improve the communication between our Front Desk staff and our shuttle driver. The other difficulties, which you missed to mention that morning, will be addressed to our maitenance and IT department. We are deeply sorry for all the inconvience you experienced. I want to ensure you that all comments are taken seriously, so we can improve our service. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Regards,
Jay Javid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our connecting flight was cancelled due to Sandy. (We had booked this Comfort Inn ahead of time in case our International connection to domestic didn't allow enough time) The Inn is close enough to the airport. The room was spacious, well appointed with couch, refrigerator, microwave, wet bar, large LCD TV. The problem we had was that the staff were ill prepared to "manage" guests, etc. when the hurricane started to approach the area. There are restaurants in the area...but a couple miles away. They usually deliver...but, delivery, shuttle stopped while Sandy was raging. We asked the desk if they were going to open up the breakfast bar so stranded guests could get something to eat. The answer was NO! We were told that there was a vending machine with candy bars and sodas. We asked if the building was equiped with a generator in case the power went out. The answer was "I don't know". Fortunately, we didn't have a power outage. However, being stuck for 2 1/2 days with only breakfast available from 6-10 a.m. doesn't cut it when one doesn't have the means to leave to go somewhere for food. When we finally were able to rent a car (flights continued to be cancelled) we had to wait for "on the hour" shuttle service to go back to the airport. There were quite a few "stranded" guests at the hotel. It would have made all the difference in the world if management would have typed up something to sslip under guests doors, or at least post out at the desk. The desk staff simply acted as if it were any day...and not one where thousands of peoples lives were being altered...No compassion or consideration. A simple update for the guests and some granola bars, yogurt, or pieces of fruit would have garnered a lot of goodwill in a very stressful time for travelors.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortdullesgm, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It is true that many guests got stranded at our property from October 28th - 30th 2012 due to Hurricane Sandy. I stayed myself at the hotel the night when Sandy hit.
A lot of restaurants were opened during the storm, and many of the guests took advantage of their delivery services. We even had our weekly Manager's Reception, which was annouced by a sign at the reception desk. This complimentary offer includes dinner buffet, beer and wine.
We do have back up battery for the emergency lights in the hallways, which lasts up to 6 hours, but thankfully we did not have to make use of it since there was no power loss. We also purchased extra flashlights to give out to the guests in case of power outage.
We do appreciate that you took your time to leave a comment, and hope to see you again!
Regards, Jay Javid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I took a group of 14 students and two adults to Washington, DC and we stayed at this Comfort Inn for two nights. We got excellent service. We planned on the hotel's shuttle service to and from Dulles on four occasions. Because of the number of people in the group the hotel provided two shuttle runs to accomodate all of us. The wait between shuttles was minimal which allowed us to keep to our schedule. When we first arrived in the evening, we couldn't fit everyone in the group into the Comfort Inn shuttle van, so Hector, the Comfort Inn shuttle driver, arranged with a Holiday Inn shuttle driver to take the remaining members of our party to the Comfort Inn. We appreciated that a lot. In addition, Velia shuttled all of us (two runs) to the Air and Space Museum at Dulles - not a normal route for the shuttle. The hotel accomodated us very well at a very reasonable price. The continental breakfast fed 14 hungry teenagers, who had NO complaints.
Internet service was free which we all really appreciated. However, it was slow. Access to a computer and printer was also appreciated but the computer software should be upgraded so that .pdf file boarding passes can be printed. All in all, a nice experience for a group of 16. We paln to come back to this hotel next year on our annual Washington, DC trip.

Room Tip: The rooms we were assigned worked very well for us. They kept our group pretty much together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
171 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Recently renovated Comfort Inn, tucked behind a much more upscale appearing Hyatt Place hotel. Check-in was seamless. Room was actually pretty nice. It was a suite, separated by a small wet bar. Large LCD television and a sitting area by the window.

Bed was reasonably comfortable although the pillows were kind of lumpy . There were no power outlets at the bedside, but the desk had two. There was no outside noise, but there was a lot of hallway noise. Walls and doors were very thin.

Very good location - around 2 miles to the Dulles airport. Personally I think the price is a little high for this property. I would pay $80-$90 per night here, but not more. There are higher quality options nearby. Still, this was adequate.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway

Address: 45515 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sterling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#7 Family Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway Hotel Sterling
Comfort Inn Sterling
Quality Inn Sterling
Sterling Quality Inn
Sterling Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.