We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for overnight stay near Dulles Airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45515 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Sterling
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good for overnight stay near Dulles Airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here for one night after arriving at IAD late at night. There is a free shuttle to/from the hotel; you have to call for pickup. The time between the call and the pickup was about 10-15 minutes; the hotel is less than 10 minutes drive from the airport, so it is fairly convenient.

The hotel itself is pretty typical for this class of hotel. The rooms are clean and large, though somewhat dark. Amenities are average (coffee, fridge, basic toiletries, etc.). The staff are cheerful and helpful.

The location is somewhat isolated, and really only convenient for the airport. The shuttle does NOT run to the metro, which is somewhat disappointing.

Complimentary breakfast is provided (waffles, cereal, eggs, breakfast meats, etc.), as is complimentary wireless internet. Wireless speeds were okay, but not great.

Overall, a reasonable place for an overnight while transiting through IAD, but nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    58
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
36
29
22
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The rooms are nice. My particular room was a single bed and smallish, but worked well for my one night stay. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel staff went out of their way to make you comfortable. I would recommend as a good location to stay at prior to a next day flight. I don't know if I would want to stay here a week without a car as there really is nothing within walking distance, but I ordered delivery and the restaurant provided speedy service. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nederland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Rooms are a bit dark, but large. Toilet flushes loud. Good shuttle service for Dulles Airport, friendly front desk staff. Stayed here twice in three weeks' time and they returned my kettle, which I had forgotten after my previous stay. My compliments on that point!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I checked into this hotel late at night (without a reservation) and would be happy to stay again. The front desk staff was quite friendly and helpful, offering me coffee and cookies. The rate wasn't terribly low, but I didn't expect a room near Dulles to be low-priced, and I believe it was comparable to the other hotels nearby.

The room was spotless and well-maintained. I saw no maintenance issues, and the bathroom was quite large. The beds had fresh, comfortable linens and the air conditioner was just loud enough to cover any noise from outside, but not loud enough to keep me awake. I didn't even need to use the noise app I generally must have to get to sleep in hotels. The room had a large TV with plenty of channels as well as free wifi.

I was in a hurry so I didn't make in-room coffee, but there was a selection of both coffee and tea, and the coffee pot is located in the room, not the bathroom. The hotel also has complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The lady called Velia is doing great job in the hotel. The location is acceptable. Stayed one night there, the room are comfortable, good space for one night stay. Ver good location to the Dulles Airport, and good shuttle service. Their stuff are very nice, helpful, and friendly. The complimentary breakfast is nice. Totally worth its price.

Room Tip: Higher floors got more privacy.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is acceptable for an overnight stay depending on what rate you pay. The room was nothing flash but it was comfortable and sufficient for a one night stay. I really don't like the small pillows, this is the second hotel in a week I have stayed in where they have incredibly small pillows so they end up with about 6-8 of them on the bed and I found I had to line them up so I could actually ensure I had a place for head to rest when I rolled over and moved in the bed at night - this was a bit annoying. Don't bother staying here if you plan on exercising because the fitness centre is a couple of cardio machines and that is all (not to mention in a terrible location). If you are going to want to get out to the nearby shopping centre during your stay then perhaps consider another hotel right next to the shopping mall because you need to get a taxi to it from this place which can set you back $20-30. Other than that, it is very convenient to Dulles International airport which is a bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, Sept. 28, 29 and 30, and didn't want to leave! If this hotel had been closer to the rest of our vacation travels, we would have stayed an additional 4 nights. The room was exceptional, it was a "suite," clean and very comfortable, with a microwave, small fridge, and small hand sink in the "island" seperating the bed area from the living area. There was a "bay window" type lounging area next to the bed. The front desk staff, especially Nina Morales, were GREAT! Truly a great place to stay, well worth the cost.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
Free Parking, B...
Show More
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
Free Parking, R...
Show More
1.7 mi away
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles Int'l. Airport
Budget, Free in...
Show More
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway

Address: 45515 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sterling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#7 Family Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway Hotel Sterling
Comfort Inn Sterling
Quality Inn Sterling
Sterling Quality Inn
Sterling Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.