We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable for final night before early flight” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45515 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Sterling
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Acceptable for final night before early flight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is acceptable for an overnight stay depending on what rate you pay. The room was nothing flash but it was comfortable and sufficient for a one night stay. I really don't like the small pillows, this is the second hotel in a week I have stayed in where they have incredibly small pillows so they end up with about 6-8 of them on the bed and I found I had to line them up so I could actually ensure I had a place for head to rest when I rolled over and moved in the bed at night - this was a bit annoying. Don't bother staying here if you plan on exercising because the fitness centre is a couple of cardio machines and that is all (not to mention in a terrible location). If you are going to want to get out to the nearby shopping centre during your stay then perhaps consider another hotel right next to the shopping mall because you need to get a taxi to it from this place which can set you back $20-30. Other than that, it is very convenient to Dulles International airport which is a bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    48
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
29
24
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, Sept. 28, 29 and 30, and didn't want to leave! If this hotel had been closer to the rest of our vacation travels, we would have stayed an additional 4 nights. The room was exceptional, it was a "suite," clean and very comfortable, with a microwave, small fridge, and small hand sink in the "island" seperating the bed area from the living area. There was a "bay window" type lounging area next to the bed. The front desk staff, especially Nina Morales, were GREAT! Truly a great place to stay, well worth the cost.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I booked this place as a last minute booking when my flight back to the UK was cancelled and I had to be re-routed through Washington.
The cost was reasonable, however this place does look a little worn out and is in need of some 'freshening'.
Otherwise the room was clean and comfortable, the WIFI was a little slow but tolerable. My top floor corridor smelt of cigarette smoke - but thankfully my 'no-smoking' room didn't.
There is a shuttle to pick and take you to the airport. However, please note if you want to be collected, you have to ask them or call when you arrive. This was not made clear to me when I arrived, so I waited for an hour, before taking a cab from Dulles. The hotel is close about 5-10 minute drive and the cab fare was $12 with a tip.
The breakfast was suprisingly good. There was good variety and much better than breakfasts I have had at other Comfort Inns.
Overall not bad if you want somewhere to stay before you fly! For other purposes I would think again!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a non-smoking room if you are a non-smoker!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

I was a bit disappointed with this hotel. On a two week trip, where I stayed exclusively at Choice hotels, this was the most expensive. I guess this is to be expected in Northern Virginia. The rooms were clean, well appointed and the hotel staff was pleasant. The rooms are very small though. My complaint is the amount of noise coming from the hallways, adjacent rooms and rooms on the next floor. Sound proofing seems to be poor. I heard bumping and thumping all night long. This was the most expensive room, and the noisiest room of the entire trip.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I accidently chose this hotel> I was too tired to drive 3 hrs home after working a trip> What a wonderful experience here> The manager < Jay Javid gave me an airline discount so I came here> The hotel is spotlessly clean> The rooms lovely with a window seat-I looked out @ trees>Full breakfast> Friendly staff> An A+ hotel! Will be back and will recommend this hotel to other flight attendants!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus< NC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I like this hotel but the breakfast buffet is lacking, No meats, eggs, (sorry, they may have hard boiled eggs) or yogurt. just a regular carbo breakfast, rooms are nice, TV channel selection is poor. just ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN, and ESPN No History, Disc. Natgeo or No Fox News. Staff is nice! Just crowded waiting on the elevator.

Room Tip: There are only two room views, parking lot with hotel next door or parking lot on back side where th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel is a good value at $79 per night for 2 queen beds, refridgerator, and complimentary breakfast. They will also put out beer, wine, pizza, wings and salad on some evenings. The hotel is convenient to many attractions. They have a 2 computer stations and wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway Hotel Sterling
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway Hotel
Comfort Inn Sterling
Quality Inn Sterling
Sterling Quality Inn
Sterling Comfort Inn
Address: 45515 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sterling
#7 Family Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.