We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK property; great staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45515 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Washington, DC
1 review
“OK property; great staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Though the location is far from the Washington, DC tour site of my group, and the Comfort Inn is a budget property, I was very pleased with the support we received from the hotel staff.
They accommodated changed room assignments, agreed to offload and store bags when that appeared necessary, and assigned a very early room to a very tired bus driver.

The assignment of rooms corresponded exactly to our request. The staff
was attentive and working hard during our stay. I was particularly
pleased with the breakfast selection and how the person responsible was
present and took care of resupply quickly and efficiently. Rooms were cleaned
well and the hotel appeared well maintained.

I received no complaints about the hotel during our stay, though one chaperone
announced at check-in that she wanted a connecting room with her daughter.
The desk clerk tried, but because the hotel was full she could not readily
accommodate this request. While the lady was disappointed at the time,
she later told me that she was satisfied with the adjacent rooms that were assigned.

One concern for tour group participants who stay at the Comfort Inn Dulles Gateway
is the distance to downtown Washington and to Mount Vernon. We found that timing our
departure to coincide with the HOV hours on I-66 made the VA-267 (toll) to I-66 route
quick and painless. To Mount Vernon the VA-606/Sterling Rd to VA-7100/Fairfax Parkway to
US1 to VA235 route is now faster at rush hour than taking the Beltway. As the Ft. Belvoir
expands due to base consolidations the last part of this (or any Mt. Vernon) route will most likely slow a bit.

I

Room Tip: We stayed on second floor; the third smelled of cigarette smoke when I ventured up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    83
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
46
44
36
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Super comfy beds, polite positive service from front desk, spacious well designed rooms, everything in room working, fair pricing. Only small disadvantage over some other airport hotels is you have to find somehow as an international traveller to get someone local to call the hotel to request the pick up service. I think other larger hotels just swing by the pick up area every half an hour or so. I had to queue up to ask the folks at the arrival desk in the airport to call. There was a closure on the motorway which meant the pick up took almost 40 minutes, no big deal but i would imagine after a long journey and if you had kids this could be a draw back. For everything else its a great airport option in Washington DC.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We found this a great place to stay, Clean, comfortable, with a great staff. Good selections for breakfast. Fantastic for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This is my second time at this hotel. I walked in last night and was immediately reminded why I like this place. It is the best value - price wise - for this area. And it has a window seat. Okay, the window seat doesn't look onto anything, but it just makes me feel like home and it's a nice little place to read a book. The room is great and large, even a sink to wash dishes if desired - the perfect business person's place. Great customer service - your key comes in a packet that actually has a map and a list of the hotel's amenities; and, I had a personalized letter along with a piece of chocolate, some Famous Amos cookies and a bottle of water (all complimentary) waiting on the desk in my room. I felt special.

If you care about the size of the bathroom, this one is small. If you want lots of television stations, you won't find them here. I don't much care about either, but some folks will. Also, the breakfast is basic - a little hot, but no meat. I will be back when I come this area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I enjoyed my stay and service was great. Staff, like Ms Nina was very helpful and polite above normal.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Great Hotel since it offers great perks. The Breakfast was great with lots of choices. The shuttle service made it convenient to drop the rental car the day before and have them shuttle me back to the hotel and then the airport in the morning. The staff was friendly and the rooms were quiet.

Room Tip: Request shuttle reservation the night before so you get a seat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

My wife and I travel 3 or 4 times per year. The most convenient airports to our home is either Dulles or BWI. Our current trip calls for a flight from Dulles. We had never stayed here previously but price and convenience was reason enough to stay here. We will return for a various reasons! Yes, there are renovations happening currently, but that was not a problem. The employees working here are awesome! Example--My wife prefers to use milk for medication and asked the Desk Clerk, Brenda Durham, where a convenience store is located. She very graciously got milk from the kitchen for her--no charge. As always, something is forgotten, this time my wife's toothbrush. Again, Brenda came to the rescue with a toothbrush--not a high dollar one but it will suffice until we can do better. If a 5-star, over priced place to spend the night is what you are looking for, this is probably not the place for you. However, if your needs include a clean, comfortable, spacious room with a really courtesy staff and shuttle service to catch your flight, this is it!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway

Address: 45515 Dulles Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sterling
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#6 Family Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway Hotel Sterling
Comfort Inn Sterling
Quality Inn Sterling
Sterling Quality Inn
Sterling Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.