We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good price but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling

Save Saved
You added Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45510 East Severn Way, Sterling, VA 26610   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Culpeper
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“good price but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

very poor signage and located close behind another motel so a little difficult to find... room was large and roomy, lights a little quirky- standard two vertical switches do not work unless upper horizontal switch is turned on- we had never seen anything like it... on opening room, there were an odd odor of "swamp gas"... we were given "wheelchair access" room for some reason, maybe they interpreted my "must be on first floor, cannot use stairs" request as being more disabled than I am. bed was okay, room temperature was very inconsistent which affected sleep, there was a lot of hallway noise. another quirk, sig other went to get coffee in morning prior to our driving to airport and only coffee in lobby was via never before seen pay per cup coffee system, she was disappointed

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We apologize that we didn’t meet your expectations during your recent stay in our hotel. Please know that the front desk is always available to assist you should you have any concerns and we are always happy to help and ensure that you have an enjoyable experience with us. We are sorry you were disappointed that we do not provide free coffee in our hotel, but we hope you will still give us another try next time you come back in the area. Thank you for staying at Suburban Extended Stay Sterling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    17
    11
    4
    14
See reviews for
11
13
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations. A great value for the price. The front desk is friendly and helpful, the rooms are quiet, up to date and clean. Beds are comfortable. Parking is plentiful and access to nearby highways and the airport are easy and quick. Probably my favorite Extended Stay hotel-- family friendly and reasonably priced. Second floor is entirely non-smoking and very quiet.

Room Tip: Second floor is entirely non-smoking and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for writing us a wonderful feedback about your stay. We are happy to learn that we were able to exceed your expectations of our hotel. We strive to ensure that each and every one of our guests have a great experience while staying with us. We hope this won’t be the last time we get to be of service to you. Please come back and see us again when you come back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We needed a hotel after seeing a performance at Wolf Trap and before heading out early the next am. This place was fairly close but a hassle to get there as its at the edge of an seemingly industrial area without good signage. The clerk was most efficient in all ways, welcome after a tiring night and trip, the room small and very clean and basic. For the price this was a good value. Felt very safe there save for the most icy parking lot that made quite treacherous walking.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you thebiglion, for taking the time to write us a review here on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to know that we were able to provide you a clean, comfortable room during a tiring night. We apologize that it was difficult for you to locate us but we are glad you were able to find us and had a nice stay. We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon. Thank you for choosing the Suburban Extended Stay Sterling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagsboro, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stay 10 nights or so a month. Alway's clean. Comfortable beds. Very nice, helpful staff. Reggy, night manager, does a phenominal job keeping things running smooth. Convenient to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We are glad you had a very nice stay in our hotel, Tom L. It is a delight to hear a guest compliment our hotel and our team members for all the hard work they put in to their work. We hope you will come and visit us again soon. Thank you for choosing to stay at Suburban Extended Stay sterling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I have been staying here since May 4 nights a week, this place is OK, Reggie THE NIGHT TIME CLECK IS GREAT, rooms are clean and I sleep like a Baby every night. Plus you can use your Choice Rewards for a free stay. I used mine and I got a King Size Bed which was Great

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We appreciate your review Bill H. As a Choice Rewards member, you get so many incentives and we are glad that you are accumulating points by staying with us. We will surely pass your compliments to Reggy. Thank you for staying at the Suburban Extended Stay Sterling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawsonville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have stayed at this property many many times and the my check- in and check- out was fast and accurate. If I had any questions, Reggy seemed to always be there to halp and assist and way possible. Very nice and quite rooms well decorated and with all the efficiencies that you need to make you feel at home!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello William S!


Thank you for your continued patronage of our hotel. It is a delight to hear that we continue to impress you with our great service and quality rooms. We are glad that we were able to assist you with your needs, most especially Reggy. We hope to continue serving you in the years to come. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I was looking for a pet friendly hotel near a dog show. I need a refrigerator and a microwave for his food. The room was comfortable. It's not a luxury hotel, but then again I wasn't paying $$$. The staff was helpful; without asking, I was given a 1st floor room next to an exit door. There are a number of shopping malls nearby.

Shortly before leaving on my trip, I needed to check out some more info about the hotel online and saw that there were some negative reviews. I have to admit that I started the trip with misgivings. I inspected the room before moving my stuff into it. I was therefore pleasantly surprised with the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a positive review Ruaidr. I am happy that we have surprised you by our helpfulness and our comfortable room. We are one of the hotels in the area that offers basic amenities at a cost that is really affordable. We are not luxurious in any way but our hotel is clean and well-maintained. I am glad you had a good experience with us. Please keep us in mind next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling

Address: 45510 East Severn Way, Sterling, VA 26610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Extended Stay Sterling
Extended Stay Sterling
Sterling Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.