We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I lived here for three months” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling to your Saves list
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45510 East Severn Way, Sterling, VA 26610   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“I lived here for three months”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I lived here for three months while my boyfriend and I were between leases. First, the location is far from everything but strip malls. Expect to do a lot of driving. For our purposes it was perfect, but I wouldn't recommend it for tourists. The rooms are small but have everything you need for a long stay- two burner stove, microwave, sink, table and chairs, silverware, and a tiny closet. The bathroom was relatively new and clean. Housekeeping did a great job every monday and even did our dishes! The towels did sometimes smell musty, there were scuffs on the walls, and the pillows sucked, we used our own. Parking is easy and the desk staff are friendly and helpful with things like fresh towels, change, directions, stuff like that.

In the end - This is the cheapest month to month option we could find in the area, you get what you'd expect from the cheapest.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear quixoticsplash, I am happy we got to be of service to you for three months and you found our amenities useful to you during your stay. Please keep in mind that you are welcome to contact the front desk anytime you have any concerns that need to be addressed. I will make sure that we take care of the things you mentioned in your review that needs improvement. We value your opinion and I thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    12
    4
    14
See reviews for
11
13
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

the property is in excellent location and effordable to any common tourist and business people i very much appreciate the freindly and cooperative behaviour mr mr glenn the reception staff rooms were cleanand decent overall experice is fantastic

Room Tip: rooms in gound floor are low noisy and good view also
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Hello samarroy! I am delighted that we have exceeded your expectations during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on tripadvisor. Looking forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Placed self and partner into filthy room with walls covered in filth amd shoe scuffs (as if an entire football team had a fight in there).,, floors and carpet dirt covered and disgusting, cheap pillows for toddler sized person, dirty towels received from desk, nonfunctioning $5 iron and no access to hairdryer! It was a cluster! Also, No spreads on beds , mismatched linens and towels (some with holes), no coffee at hotel, and an all or nothing air conditioner, torn up chair (not the sofa i was promised). I am enduriated and incensed.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear BJMIllerRaleighNC, I am sorry to hear you did not get the best impression of our hotel during your stay. Please be assured that we always make sure our room is clean and in good condition before we sell it to new guests. We also do not give dirty towels when a guest requests for fresh ones. Although our hotel brand doesn't offer hairdryers in the rooms, we do have a fully-equipped kitchen that includes a refrigerator, cooktop, microwave oven, coffee maker, etc. I hope you will allow us to resolve any of your issues next time you are with us. We are dedicated to ensuring you always have a comfortable stay. Please give us another try and I promise you, you will not be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I have been residing at the Suburban for approx 1 month. Being away from home is not easy. On the other hand the staff here work hard on the premises and make your stay enjoyable.

The one instance that I required assistance from the management, Mr. Hutchins, the general manager took care of everything. I would recommend this facility. It is good value for your money.

Robert

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you Robert L for taking the time to write us a review. It is always a pleasure to be of service to wonderful guests like you. I am happy you chose to stay at our hotel. Should you need assistance with anything, please do not hesitate to contact me or the front desk. I hope you enjoy the rest of your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Travelling over 70% of the month in this area - a last minute scheduling landed me in this location. My agent wasnt sure from the picture what I may encounter and there is a 24Hr cancellation had I arrived early I wouldnt be able to cancel after reviewing - but when she said what the cost would be I said are you sure - and I said what the hell I could lose that if it was a dive.

I was genuinely suprised at the cleanliness, exterior and interior of the hotel - for the value - I would absolutely utilize the facility - the fitness area is ok and the WIFI is great. My only complaint is there is a smell in the building that reminds me of doing laundry in the basement of my manhattan apartment other than that - this is a great value for the money at anytime in the Northern VA, DC market.

Most importantly the attendant at the desk - Reggy - what an awesome guy - he has the right attitude and disposition to manage customers in an hospitality environment.

I have already sent an email to my agent to add this location to my profile.

Room Tip: Stay on the side of the building away from the Candlewood Suites which shares the parking lot - they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you baker3243553 for your appreciation of our team members' hard work. They are responsible in maintaining the cleanliness of the hotel and giving you the best possible service any hotel can give. I'll make sure Reggie reads your review. I am pretty sure he'll be delighted to know that you complimented him on tripadvisor.

I never noticed the laundry smell in the hotel before but I'll see to it that this gets taken cared of. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we hope to see again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stay here 2-3 months at a time. Very happy with the accomodations. Your staff is very friendly and helpful. Reggy is great! (Very kick back, but gets the work done.) Sauron is a wonderful choice to replace Carla. He is courteous and professional. We travel alot and are impressed with your organization here. Always look forward to staying here. We recommend this place to alot of people. Thank you!

Your maintenance manager is also a big plus to the organization. He is also very friendly and courteous. The grounds are always clean and neat. Enjoyable to be here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you milly f for that wonderful review! I am happy to know that we were able to provide you excellent service everytime you come to visit us. Our team works hard to ensure we can provide you the best possible accomodations and it is a delight when our guests recognize that. Thank you for keeping us in mind when recommending a hotel to your friends. We hope you will continue to patronize Suburban E.S. Sterling and we are looking forward to being of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for about a month and I've been very comfortable here. Everyone has been friendly especially Reggy. I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: I wouldn't choose a room in the first floor. I want to open the window but I feel you can see ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Hello junesdec90! Thank you for recommending our hotel on tripadvisor. I am delighted that we made you feel comfortable while you were with us. I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to our team members, especially Reggie. Thank you for staying at Suburban Extended Stay Sterling. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling

Address: 45510 East Severn Way, Sterling, VA 26610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Extended Stay Sterling
Extended Stay Sterling
Sterling Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Dulles Sterling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.