We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bombs Away!! The continuous slamming of the doors by staff and guests makes this nice hotel a NO for me!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45520 East Severn Way, Sterling, VA 20164   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Sterling
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bombs Away!! The continuous slamming of the doors by staff and guests makes this nice hotel a NO for me!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

I had a 2 week reservation at this very convenient hotel to my business location. After 2 days of housekeepers SHOUTING down the hallways and SLAMMING doors constantly, beginning at 8:30 A.M.......I checked out! And guests slamming doors continuously! While relaxing in your room it sounds like a battlefield in the hallways! And you mean the management doesn't hear this?!?!
Obviously the staff needs to be trained and the guests are not all at fault. If the management would just adjust the doors so they can't be slammed. It's pretty simple. I have stayed in hotels that have these very same doors and they are next to impossible to slam shut.
Also, at this hotel they put the open trash carts (full) near the doorway, inside. By 4:00 P.M. it is awful!
As for the room, it was fairly clean upon my check-in. The door latch was loose....obviously beacuse the staff puts them between the door and bangs them each and everytime they go out of the room.
It's too bad because all this hotel needs is some management follow-up. I met most on the staff and all were very nice and well groomed.
Make it better, folks, because I'd love to give it one more shot!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
It is unfortunate that these issues were not brought to the Managements attention prior to the guest leaving. However, we are so grateful that we were made aware of the noise problem! It is only with feedback like this, both negative and positive that we can continue to improve our hotels service and customer experience so that each and every guest can be as comfortable as possible during their stay at their home away from home.

Immediately after this situation prevailed, the room doors were adjusted, trash is taken out on a regular basis, and the staff has been strictly advised to remember to keep their voices down. Mornings with the staff are generally a time not only to get their work assignments, but a time for group meetings. These meetings are often like a pep rally to get everyone esthetic for the day! However, we have since moved the location of the meeting to the employee break room to keep the noise level away from any guest rooms.

Again, we so much appreciate all and any feedback, and hope we are able to address anything immediately, prior to guest’s departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    21
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
10
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

This is a nice hotel, close to the Dulles airport (15 minutes drive) and the hotel also provides a complimentary shuttle back and forth from the hotel to the airport (and also within a 5 mile radius from the hotel). This is very good for travellers and people with work in this area.

I have there over 3 weeks and had a kitchen suite. they offer free laundry machine and dryer and a free gym. The only thing that i missed was lack of a swimming pool.

There is a walmart and a best buy next door, and also the dulles town centre for shopping. Lots of places to eat nearby.
They also have free dvd rentals from their small but decent inhouse collection.
I would recommend this hotel highly to business travellers or people needing a place for a longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

We found this hotel online, and thought we were getting a really great deal! It was advertised as being close to Washington D.c. and the Dulles Airport, as out of towners we spent almost our whole vacation getting lost and driving. The actual hotel was really nice, no problems at all there, the staff was great, room was clean, etc. just didn't like the location At all

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

This was the best hotel we have been to. The evening clerk, Viet, was extremely helpful. We only had one issue with our room, the exhaust fan didn't work. Since it was late the maintentance team corrected the problem the next morning. The hotel was very close to shopping and only about 20 to 30 minutes from Washington, DC. My family and I would gladly choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterling
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

I had the opportunity to stay at the Candlewood Suites in Sterling for several months as my husband adjusted to a job relocation to that area. The amazingly kind services from the staff eased a nervous family almost immediately. The room was open, extremely clean and very family friendly to our every need. Having a baby as well as a young child, safety was also another concern swiftly taken away. The staff was always immediate in assisting in any and all needs we had. I would highly offer this property to any family in the same boat. We even came to miss the staff in leaving. it really should be modeled after as the Sales Manager even made herself available to our needs. That is a service just now found these days. Kudos Candlewood for having equipped that property with the right staff to truly stand out in todays market.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

Lived at the Hotel for approximately 7 months. During my period, the staff treated us very well and the amenities were adequate. The service was that of a three or four star place. The only complaint I had was the billing cycle and when my card was billed.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterling, va
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

This hotel is very clean, very organized and the people at the desk are very professional, especially Boyd. I would really recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling

Address: 45520 East Severn Way, Sterling, VA 20164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An All-Suite Hotel with Full Kitchens, ample free parking, and Candlewood Values abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Sterling
Candlewood Sterling
Sterling Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.