We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, clean and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45520 East Severn Way, Sterling, VA 20164   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
America
1 review
“Very comfortable, clean and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

I've stayed at just about all the major "suite" hotel chains over the last ten years. While I have found larger or more posh rooms at other chains I have never found a more friendly home-like atmosphere. There are free cookies in the evenings, an honor-system pantry, super nice hotel staff (Mohamed was once of the nicest guys I've had the pleasure of meeting in a long time) .

Its conveniently located near DC, reasonably priced, clean, and quiet. Oh and did I mention it feels like home after a long day? This hotel is really a winner.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    22
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
12
19
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

Comfortable, with walking distance to a restaurant and Walmart. Easy driving to Washington DC as well, enjoyed the comforts of being able to do laundry and be close to DC.

  • Liked — Every thing is there, if you want to cook, we did not tho
  • Disliked — Hardboard floors, could hear a brat walking above the next floor
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All Over
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

I travel about 300 out of 365 days a year and stay in alot of hotels. Candlewood Suites of Sterling is the top of my list of places I love to come too. The rooms are homey, the people are friendly, and I have never been to a place where everyone jumps to make your stay enjoyable. If your looking for a quality hotel near DC and the airports this is the place to stay!!!!

  • Liked — the friendly people
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

Sales lady Was very RUDE! Will never stay there again nor recommend this place!

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

I've stayed at this hotel twice and am really impressed with the quality of service and cleanlness.

The staff is very helpfull, very nice people. Also this property has a great gym room and the location is close to many resturants. But the best part is now clean the rooms are. Everything looked like it was wiped down from the microwave to the toaster. It looks brand new. I felt really comfortable!!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2006

We left with very mixed reviews. Firstly, we paid $159 + taxes/night for a one bedroom suite. We stayed for a week in November.


Upon booking the Candlewood website gave me no indication that you are responsible for taking your own trash out, picking up your own towels and if you run out of toilet paper you need to request it from the front desk. Half the front desk staff was amazingly nice and gracious and half was not too thrilled to be there. If you stay under a week no one will clean your room at all.


Now we booked a one bedroom suite, with a pull out sofa. The pull out sofa was painfully uncomfortable, and I would not suggest anyone attempt to sleep on it. I found the bedding to be scratchy, and the drapes allow in a great deal of light early in the morning. Also the word suite makes you think the room will be larger than you average room. However, while the suite was larger than your average hotel room, it was not that much larger.


If you are a night owl like myself, and want to ask the front desk for anything, you should do it before 11 p.m. as the front desk shuts down at 11 p.m. and starts back up again at 7 a.m. I think that someone is in the back and you need to dial 0 for assistance but they put up signs stating their hours and encourage you to come back during operating hours.


To be fair there are a lot of great things about the hotel as well. It is immaculacy clean, everything is gleaming new, it is extremely close to IAD airport and they have a free shuttle that runs late. They have all the conveniences, shopping and food within a 5 minute walk, sometimes only a 1-2 minute walk away. Walmart, Sam’s Club, Nordstrom, Cheesecake Factory, Wegman’-anything you could possibly need is right there.
The kitchen was fully equipped kitchen including full-size refrigerator with ice maker, dishwasher, microwave, and stovetop, plus a variety of dishes, cookware. There was a large area with two-line phone and free high-speed Internet access. As well 2 televisions with DVD player

However, I was really put off by the price $159/night + taxes for what seemed like an experience with almost no basic customer service. For that price one would be expecting some better customer service, a breakfast included or maybe some nicer bedding and towels.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2006

Stayed here for 9 days recently

Hotel is in a great location with lots of nearby shops (Walmart, Sams, Best Buy, Dulles Town Center) and restaurants (Chili's, Uno's, Longhorns,...).

Room was clean and had a full sized fridge, dishwasher, and microwave. There was also plates, pots, pans, and utensils.

Wireless internet is free. There is also a jack or wired internet but I did not try it. Local calls are also free.

There was a DVD/VCR player and free movie rentals. TV had a god variety of channels including HBO, ESPN, and kids channels such as Cartoon Network, Nickelodeon, and Disney.

There are 2 barbeques outside that are available for guests. They also have a free barbeque once a month which I was lucky enough to enjoy!

Laundry facilities are free to use. There is a small gym. The Candlewood Cupboard had a variety of items at a reasonable price (50 cents for a can of Coke).

My only complaint was that the water pressure in the shower was not great.

One thing that I found odd was that the only towel rack was just above the toilet so there was nowhere to hang a towel other than on a hook on the bathroom wall.

Just a comment on the other post. I inspected thoroughly and I saw no bed bugs.

I would stay here again. In fact, I have already booked another reservation for next month.

  • Liked — location, fridge, microwave, free internet
  • Disliked — low waer pressure in shower
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling

Address: 45520 East Severn Way, Sterling, VA 20164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An All-Suite Hotel with Full Kitchens, ample free parking, and Candlewood Values abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Sterling
Candlewood Sterling
Sterling Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.