We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean extended stay hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Priceline.com
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45520 East Severn Way, Sterling, VA 20164   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Sterling
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Clean extended stay hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

While not a fan of extended stay hotels or similar suite style motels I was impressed with the cleanliness and upkeep of this property. This is a high use motel but management and service seem to be on the ball. Although they were very busy when we arrived they still gave us an upgrade that was needed at a minimal cost. The area is nice in design and is close to the airport. No free breakfast here that I know of but with Hotwire it was a good value.

Room Tip: Often you will find companies send a group of workers to a place like this if their is a long term p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the compliments on the Cleanliness of our hotel! Our goal is to have every single guest have a quality experience such as yours. We appreciate you taking time to share your experience with others and are humbled by your kind words. It would be our pleasure to help you plan your next day of relaxation at the Candlewood. We look forward to serving you again. This is a great place to work and stay.

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    18
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
9
18
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

All of the staff we spoke to during our stay were very professional and courteous. Mr. Saruon Chuon was the diamond of the group. He went above and beyond to make our stay memorable and relaxing. When we wanted information on a day trip, instead of just pointing out the brochures he took the time to find out what our interests are and helped us find the perfect outing for us. In recent years it has become very noticable to me; that customer service has gone by the wayside, so quantity is valued higher than each individual customer. This employee has set a very high bar for anyone to follow. Because of this employee we will definately be a return guest, and look forward to seeing all of the friendly staff again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Yevette D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment in regards to the service you recieved during your stay at our Candlewood Suites Sterling. We pride ourselves on providing Great Customer Service and judging by your comments about Saroun, he did just that as we know he is a Diamond!

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again for any future hotel needs.

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a week during a relocation to the Washington DC area. I stayed here because of the proximity to one of my sales stops in Leesburg VA. This hotel is quite a distance away from DC (especially in traffic) and I do not recommend it for lodging if you are visiting the capital. The room was very clean and stocked with plenty of toiletries for the week. Because this is an extended stay hotel, your bed will not be made and towels changed unless you request it and pay for it. Towels are exchanged at the front desk which is kind of annoying, but it's their policy. Laundry is free at this hotel which was appreciated because I did need to do laundry and they sell detergent etc right in the pantry. There are grocery stores nearby though if you had to buy a lot for a long stay. In the lobby, there are about 20 takeout menus for guests to order from or right up the block are 3 strip centers with plenty of choices. The pnatry sells snacks and microwavable meals (1 dollar for a small bag of pretzels is a lot when you can buy a giant bag at the store for a dollar more) and drinks. It's on the honor system so you fill out the slip with what you purchased and drop it in the box. I never saw anyone take advantage. The gym has 2 treadmills, and elliptical, a bike, and some weights which was good enough for my stay. The bed was comfortable for an extended stay and I liked the size of the desk to work from. The TV had ALL local and cable channels which was great unlike some hotel chains that have just the basics. Parking was adequate and is free. Because this is an extended stay you will see people walking around in their pajamas to do laundry, etc. The hotel was ok with it, but it does attract a certain type of traveler. Pets are allowed for a fee, and I did see some small dogs. I booked this hotel on Priceline and got a phenomenal rate and I recommend that you research rates nearby and bid lower. It is a great hotel if you are flying in and out of Dulles airport. I believe the hotel has a complimentary shuttle that it shares with Suburban Inns and Suites which is right next door. The front desk is not manned after 11pm so if you need anything or have questions, keep that in mind. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor if at all possible. Larger tour groups tend to book the lower leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thanks to this guest for their honest remarks! We love that this is a place where guests can feel like they are at their home away from home and do laundry at anytime. Yes, the front desk is closed 11pm to 7am. But someone is on call and available 24 hours a day to assist you if you get locked out of your room or need immediate assistance for something else.

Shuttle, we actually do not have a shuttle service any longer. We are just 6 miles from Dulles Airport and walking distance to the Dulles Town Center Mall, the Super Walmart, and tons of shops and restaurants. We hope that you will give us a try on your next trip to Dulles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The normal for Candlewood is usually excellent. It was an older hotel, but was very clean and the staff was professional and friendly. Will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: It did not have swimming pool or restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments! This hotel is 8 years old and has recently undergone minor renovations, 32" flat panel televisions and new beds this past year. We soon expect to have a brand new bedding package through Candlewood and are hopeful it will roll out this summer. We continue to update and revise our capital budget to assure we are keeping up with the times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Saruon Chuan was extremely helpfull and friendly. Fast check in. He always remembers me by name when checking in

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear David C.,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the Customer Service you recieved by Saroun! We pride ourselves on providing the best customer service possible. And remembering repeat guests names is huge! We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I travel for work and have stayed here whenever I'm in the area. The staff is always friendly, the accomadations are nice, and the rates are very reasonable. I love the large selection of Dvd's and the free washers and dryers! If your ever in the area this place is well worth the money you pay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Steven T.,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a comment about our hotel! We pride ourselved on providing excellent customer service and the only way we know we are doing it 100% correctly is by getting the feedback from previous guests as yourself!

We love that you were able to enjoy our Complimentary DVD Lending Library. We strive to keep a full rack of movies with a variety of selections for everybody to choose from.

We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at a few other extended stay style hotels in the area and the Candlewood suites in sterling is by far the best! The Asian guy at the desk was very nice and upgraded my room and helped me with directions. The rooms were very clean and I love the silky smooth linens. Pillows were not very comfy but I got firm pillows from the front desk and they were great. Stay at this hotel for great service, clean rooms, and great shopping walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHotelMgr1, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thanks for the acknowledgment that we are the best Extended Stay hotel in the area! We hope to have a brand new bedding package by summer or fall that will include all new and additional, fluffy hotel pillows, but don't forget, you can always use our 'feather or foam' philosophy by getting additional, or different pillow from the Front Desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling

Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Sterling
Candlewood Sterling
Sterling Candlewood Suites
Sterling Candlewood
Address: 45520 East Severn Way, Sterling, VA 20164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An All-Suite Hotel with Full Kitchens, ample free parking, and Candlewood Values abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling to your Saves list