We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall off the bones ribs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetwater Tavern

Sweetwater Tavern
45980 Waterview Plz, Sterling, VA 20166-6556
(571) 434-6500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 202 restaurants in Sterling
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Laurel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fall off the bones ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place is amazing! I highly recommend the ribs--the meat is so tender it literally falls off the bones--but anything you get here is a good choice, from the filet mignon to the chicken sandwich. All the food is consistently delicious. The service is equally fantastic, as every server I've had provided excellent recommendations without pushing more expensive dishes or beverages.

The atmosphere is warm and friendly, but never too boisterous or loud. The restaurant has its own micro-brewery on site, which serve some spectacular options. I highly recommend their beer sampler flight during the wintertime.

The prices are very fair for the amount and (especially) the quality that you get. All around, this is a great place to go, whether on a date or out with family/friends!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    133
    78
    20
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“you can't go wrong with the crab cake its awsome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

on of my favorite restaurants in the area, you can't go wrong with the crab cake its awesome and grilled chicken is very good, its a place you can take your date too, meet friends or have fun with family.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Used to be better, but still good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here quite a few times over a decade and it seems to be going downhill. Maybe I am just used to the food, and the excitement is gone. The service is not as attentive. The food is good. The bread is still great- can never get enough of the Ozzie rolls and sweet butter.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good family spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We've been several times and have always had good meals and wonderful service. We usually go for dinner around 6pm and you can usally get a table without much of a wait. Do call ahead, it helps to wait a few minutes vs. 30 mins. But as it gets later gets crowded and the outside bar seems to be very popular. The kids have had most items on the Kids menu but they especially like the hand dipped chicken fingers, burgers and tenderloin (it's a thinner cut so we make sure we order it medium rare to get a perfect medium). We haven't tried any appetizers just the entrees and some desserts. We like the fact that the kids drinks are free re-fills whether it is lemonade or cranberry juice. If they happen to make a mistake, they quickly correct it. Good family spot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty in all aspect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

From the hostess to the waiters everybody was nice and professional. Bread was very good. Beer was excellent (ipa).
Tasty juicy burger.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwater Tavern also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Sweetwater Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetwater Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.