We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetwater Tavern

Sweetwater Tavern
45980 Waterview Plz, Sterling, VA 20166-6556
(571) 434-6500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 209 Restaurants in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Thousand Oaks, CA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great team service, very friendly and attentive staff. Beautiful setting on the creek, had a table in the covered patio. Started with blue crab fritters(terrific flavor and sauce). Loved the ozzie rolls. I had the drunken rib eye which was very tender and flavorful. My husband had the baby back ribs and said he had not had ribs that good in a very long time. I wish we had this restaurant back home.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    104
    24
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I sat in the bar to watch a little hockey and have a bite to eat. Atmosphere was good. Service was great. I will definitely return next time I am in Sterling.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coaldale, Colorado
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Outstanding service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

When was the last time your server noticed your food wasn't the way you ordered it, offered to replace it, a free dessert, and sent over two levels of manager to apologize & offer to make it right? All without you saying a word about it.Twice here in a month & way surpassed even my heightened expectations. Everyone on their staff is dying to help you. Best service out there by a long shot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Consistently Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We recently dined here for a late Sunday lunch. We didn't have to wait for a table, however we did have a difficult time trying to explain to the hostess that we needed a chair for a booster seat. We were eventually offered a large booth where we could have a chair with booster. Service was prompt, as usual. I had the Monterey salad, and it was very good. It's so good I order it almost each time I dine here. My husband had a burger and he said it was quite tasty. The other couple with us split a salad and an entree and they didn't even have to ask for a second plate. Our drinks were refilled, without us asking, before we were finished. We asked for extra bread and it was brought out by another server and then our server came back to see if we needed more. We had no problem getting a split check and I was able to use a survey coupon for a complimentary dessert.

Parking can be tight as there are a couple of other restaurants sharing the parking lot. They do have call ahead seating. We'll be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

For over the past 3 years I have been to Sweetwater Tavern more than a dozen times, on business, entertaining clients and on my own. It is always busy which I take as proving its always good, and it is. You will have to get there for 6pm if you don't want to wait too long and you have to be there, no reservations on a week night. When you arrive you will be greeted by someone who wants you to have a good time, you will be given a buzzer 'table ready' reminder and you can either wait in the corridor or at the bar; you should head straight to the bar, its lively and has a good atmosphere. If it is really busy order the sampler of beers and a few appetizers, they will set you up for a good 10 to 20 minute wait.

I can only add to the previous reviewers statements regarding the food - its so good and the waiting staff always tempt you with the dish of the day, I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwater Tavern also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Sweetwater Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetwater Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.