We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Packed on a week night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetwater Tavern

Sweetwater Tavern
45980 Waterview Plz, Sterling, VA 20166-6556
(571) 434-6500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 204 restaurants in Sterling
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Thousand Oaks
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Packed on a week night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place was jumping. We arrived with a group of cousins (chosen by a local cousin) on retreat in the area and I was astounded at how busy they were early in the evening on a week night. We had quite a wait and there was no hope of all of us being seated together. The service was cheerful and reasonably prompt but I'm sure the kitchen was stressed big time. The food, for a chain restaurant, was quite good. This is NOT a place to come for deep conversation or romance but it's popularity speaks to the quality of the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    137
    78
    21
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, IN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Craft Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Sweetwater Tavern is a top restaurant. The food is wonderful - everything is well seasoned with lots of flavor. My favorites here are the jambalaya pasta and the salmon although the salads or burgers are a good pick for lunch. Portions are generous, and the complementary bread that arrives on your table is delicious (a cross between bread and a mini donut!).

Sweetwater brews their own beers and they keep five on tap on a rotating schedule. The beers are complex and run the gamut from light to dark. The pumpkin ale around Thanksgiving is unique and surprisingly delicious.

Be aware that if you're looking to go on a weekend evening you need to call ahead to put your name on the list as the wait can be 2 hours.

The service has always ranged from good to great. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best food around and has a pretty outside view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Love this place. Salmon melts in your mouth and they have fantastic salads. It's always a go-to when we don't feel like traveling or testing out new places.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott in Dulles and their shuttle took us to the restaurant. We arrived about 10 minutes before the kitchen was scheduled to close. Despite this we were warmly welcomed and received the most amazing service from Hunter. He was friendly, knowledgeable and superbly efficient. He recommended the salmon steak which was the best we have ever had. As visitors we asked lots of questions which he answered with patience and humour. A truly lovely welcome to Washington.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great atmosphere, was pretty full, even on a Tuesday evening (and it's a big place), own brewed beers, friendly bar staff, and I had a really great rib eye steak.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwater Tavern also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Sweetwater Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetwater Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.