We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly cooked salmon and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetwater Tavern

Sweetwater Tavern
45980 Waterview Plz, Sterling, VA 20166-6556
(571) 434-6500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 203 Restaurants in Sterling
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfectly cooked salmon and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

After reading other reviews on this site, I went to Sweetwater right at six to avoid the crowds. I walked right up to the bar and was served promptly. One of the seasonal beer choices was a pumpkin lager. The beer was great but I was not a big fan of the graham cracker crust like rim. I chose the smoked salmon as my entree. The fish was cooked perfectly and tasted great. Additionally, I believe that the mashed potatoes included smoked plantains as decoration which were a great tasting surprise. The service was just as good as the food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    88
    22
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Everything was wonderful...but you must get the drunken ribeye...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

But I have to say that we get the drunken every time and it is always amazing!! I have to say if you are only going to go there once....be sure and get that...you will NOT be disappointed. The bread and the salads were awesome too. And if you sit outside.......the view is beautiful...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Avoid the wait and call ahead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A friend took me to this tavern in No VA and I could not believe how busy it was. The wait was estimated to be around 2 hours. Luckily we found two stools at the bar and were able to have an adult beverage while waiting. The actual wait was about 1 hour. I had the crab cakes which were worth the wait. The house red wine was not worth the $8 a glass. If you are going to try this place on a weekend, take advantage of the call ahead wait list service - 703-645-8100.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Very Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Good food, reasonable prices good service. I visited the Sweetwater Tavern for dinner ... had the crab cakes, very tasty and made with Blue Crab (as they should be). There were many other good looking items on the menu but, as a guy who watches his weight, I restrained myself. Definitely worth another visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Va
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't Miss the Crab Fritters as an Appetizer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I go to Sweetwater on a regular basis. The food never disappoints and the atmosphere is fun and accommodating to nearly any occasion.

I've done lunch & dinner on numerous times and would strongly suggest the Crab Fritters every time for an appetizer.

I have 2 minor "complaints" when thinking of going to Sweetwater for a business lunch -- 1) some times I feel that the ambient noise is rather loud. This should be taken into account if the meeting is critical and you need some place that you can really talk about details (if that is the case, you may want to choose somewhere else). 2) the other item is the restaurant has lots of booths...for business meetings, I prefer to sit in a table with 4 chairs....that is not always easy at this restaurant.

In any case -- both of these issues are minor but something that you may want to consider.

As for the food -- you can't go wrong! Enjoy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwater Tavern also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Sweetwater Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetwater Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.