We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden King Restaurant

Golden King Restaurant
21800 Towncenter Plz Ste 269, Sterling, VA 20164-1824
(703) 406-4800
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 206 Restaurants in Sterling
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Great Falls, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Restaurant Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The restaurant is nestled in a strip shopping mall anchored by a Giant grocery store and a Starbucks. It also has a McDonald's in there as well.

The food is good for Dim Sum, probably the best location for Cantonese food in the area. The dim sum is served by employees via steamed carts. The selection is the same as any other similar establishment. We typically go once a month for Dim Sum.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Very authentic Chinese food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This was a pleasant surprise as I was happy to find a non buffet Chinese restaurant let alone one that was so authentic. I could tell it was goin to be authentic when I saw the duck hanging in the warmer. I wish I knew what more of the dishes were so I could try some new cuisine. The dim sum looked good! There were three of us in our party and all enjoyed there food. The atmosphere is a little plain but the staff is great!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This restaurant serves authentic Hong Kong style Cantonese chinese food, dim sum and all. I was in awe finding this place. This restaurant serves the real deal so if you are looking for a run-of-the-mill American Chinese food, you will be quite pleasantly surprised by their menu. There is no buffet here, just traditional service, table service or takeout order.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent Dim Sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Not a grand restaurant, but the Dim Sum was good. The carts did not get logged up which normally happens in a Dim Sum Cart Restaurant. The Price was moderate. The Place was clean. Parking was easy since it was in the same lot as the Giant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Cantonese food in the Sterling area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Since re-discovering Golden King (it was recently re-opened as a more traditional sit-down Cantonese style Chinese food restaurant) - I have been there every week! They offer dim sum (carts on the weekends, order by menu on the weekdays) that is equivalent to the other dim sum restaurants in the McLean area but for me it is local and cheaper! But their dinner dishes are what has me sold. My wife is originally from NYC and I from NJ - so we're used to eating at authentic Cantonese style Chinese food restaurants up north. The food at Golden King is close enough to the NYC restaurants to satisfy our craving. The waiters and waitresses mostly speak Cantonese so if you speak the language it is helpful. But they speak English too of course.

In terms of pricing for the dinner dishes - they are very reasonable - and in some cases cheaper than NYC restaurants.

My favorite dish in general is Pan Fried Noodles - and Golden King makes a great one. Get it with pork for extra flavor.

I will definitely be back again and again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden King Restaurant also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Golden King Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden King Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.