We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super quick service and somewhat friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
21080 Southbank St, Sterling, VA 20165-7273
(703) 406-9244
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 202 restaurants in Sterling
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
386 reviews 386 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Super quick service and somewhat friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My friends and I were starving so we decided to go to this place that it was nearby the hotel.

The hostess was very friendly and there was not too much of a crowd. For us it was perfect.

Our waiter was somewhat serious but efficient. But there was no friendliness about him. He was not rude but he didn't have a smile either. Nevertheless, our food come out in less than 15 minutes!! And it was good!
The only downside to this was the they only carried genetic beers and Sam Adams.

The meal was great so I'll be back for more

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    19
    26
    11
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very friendly, fast service, decent BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had never been to a Famous Dave's before, and decided to try this one since it was conveniently located. Our server couldn't have been any nicer, and we enjoyed the atmosphere. The BBQ was not bad, but we're used to better (and lower prices) back home in South Carolina. If we're in the area and in the mood for BBQ, we'll be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Grandson's favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our grandson choose this for his "special occasion" treat. This was our first time at a Famous Dave's and as someone from Florida there visiting VA we still prefer Sonny's or Woody's recipe. My ribs were a little on the dry side and not very meaty, but everyone else was happy with their selections. My husband made the mistake of ording a glass of Merlot without realizing it cost $7.75! Otherwise, the prices were reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food, great service, would come here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Best BBQ around the Nova area accompanied by great service. Only down side was that they removed the pecan pie from their desert menus.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place is in a great location. Plenty of parking. The cue really did impress me. I am from North Carolina and we know how to southern Q. Famous Dave's is a favorite stop of mine as the food is excellent. There are many choices available and I have tried hem all over the years. I have never been disappointed by anything they serve. Try it all, it's good.
My favorite stop when I am hungry!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.