We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so BBQ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
21080 Southbank St, Sterling, VA 20165-7273
(703) 406-9244
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 187 Restaurants in Sterling
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Western New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“So so BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Seemed like a joint that survived on reputation alone. Most of the food was phoned in commercial quality reheats. Portions were not that impressive and prices were high. Place was pretty dead on a Friday night so that should have tipped us off.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    27
    13
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Purcellville, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Have had good and bad at Dave's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

nothing to write home about by any means. one visit (my last) gave me terrible food poisoning ..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“BBQ Place Near Dulles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Chain BBQ restaurant that has fairly good food with a decent menu (something for everyone). Service was really good but booth we were in was cramped. Platters are a good bargain and there is plenty to eat. Price is reasonable for the food you get. They have lunch specials and early bird (before 5:30) specials daily. Family atmosphere.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Where's the Catfish?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We used to visit this Famous Dave's quite often when the kids were younger. We went back recently after a long absence and were bummed. The menu seems to have shrunk. Conspicuously missing was the catfish. The server said it was replaced by cod. Being a New Englander by birth, I love cod...but, I can get it anywhere. To me, the catfish made this place special. We're not the biggest barbecue fans, so this place is now just one of many bbq joints competing for our attention in the area. The food we did get was OK and the service was OK, but there is nothing to draw us back. This will probably be our last visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good value and worked on a diet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Great for a first time meeting with a group. At a table for 8, you could hear everyone talk. They had a selection for folks on a diet and I had the citrus salmon and it was excellent as was the broccoli and baked potatoe. Service was great and I would definately go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.