We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious/cheap Thai food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai by Thai

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai by Thai
46930 Cedar Lake Plz, Ste 180, Sterling, VA 20164-8661
703-444-8908
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 206 Restaurants in Sterling
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Delicious/cheap Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

This restaurant probably is one of the few single single $ thai restaurants I have seen. Going by my fellow Yelpers recommendation, I decided to try this on a Friday evening. The restaurant wasn't too crowded for Friday. You got to walk up to the counter and order the food and pay there, and then they bring the food to your table. Service was super fast, and the food was delicious.We have frequented this restaurant few times after that and have never been disappointed.

The wait never exceeded more than 7-8 minutes. I have tried spring rolls, fried tofu, tom kha soup, pad thai, tropical fried rice, massamun curry and green curry, and all the items have tasted great. I realized that due to their low prices and quick service, lot of folks order carry out as well. The interior is pleasing, good enough for dining in. I would also recommend trying their dessert called Roti. It's not mentioned on their online menu but I believe it's listed in the restaurant menu.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pick up at the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food we get there is definitely above average. Mostly takeout but on occasion we do the sit in dinner. Glad its close to our house and a lot of our friends and relatives love this place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quick and tasty Thai variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Love the Tom kha gai (sp?) soup with chicken. also good Pad thai with shrimp, Panang curry chicken, Thai basil fried rice, and Thai iced tea. Fast service, friendly people and pretty tables. We go here often and always leave very content and satisfied.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
“Our Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

cute little place with quick bite to eat. My thai friends said the food was not authentic but still was delicious. We frequent the Grandmart next door for Asian grocery so this is a great location for us.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I became sick after having lunch at this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

First of all, this was a fast -food joint, not a restaurant. The food seemed oK, but then I had terrible stomach cramps in the evening and had to take some medicine. What a shame to get sick on Valentine's day!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai by Thai also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Thai by Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai by Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.