We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Indian Restaurant !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balti Tandoori Indian Restaurant

Balti Tandoori Indian Restaurant
46005 Regal Plaza #140, Sterling, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 206 Restaurants in Sterling
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Restaurant !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I have eaten here a number of times, and we frequent various other Indian restaurants as well - but we keep coming back here because the food is excellent. The Tandoori dishes are very tasty, they have a wide variety of really good Naan, good wine and beer choices and the food is obviously prepared quite well.

Due to the location in a shopping center (ie; strip mall) your first reaction might be to think that this is not going to be a good restaurant, and that would be a huge mistake. If you like Indian food, you are going to enjoy the menu here, because we have been working our way through their menu and everything we have tried has been excellent.

They also have very good mango chutney !

Do yourself a favor, if you like Indian food, give this restaurant a try and I guarantee you that you will leave here happy !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Awesome find for Regal Plaza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I was definitely not expecting much from Balti when we first decided to try it. At first, the restaurant seems like an unassuming Indian place in Regal Plaza, but my impressions definitely changed when I walked in! The restaurant looks quite nice on the inside, and the aroma was wonderful. The menu is typical of a family-owned Indian restaurant in NoVA, but the food was delicious. The Baingan Bharta (eggplant) and Balti Lamb are both winners. And the best part? They deliver!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Northern VA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have dined here 3 or 4 times and the food is consistently delicious. Lived in London for
A few months and the curry here is as good as there. Have been disappointed with other Indian restaurants in the area and so pleased to find one so close to my home. The decor is nice.
Restaurant very clean and service friendly.
l

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Balti is a relatively new Indian restaurant that popped up in my area. I got coupons for buy one, get one free entree in the mail and decided to give it a try. Now I go at least every other week when I am in town. Excellent chai. Excellent korma (I like to order it in shrimp and staff has no problem accommodating that request even though that meat/sauce combo is not of the menu). The staff is very service oriented: can make dish accommodations, not pushy, will replace entree for free/no hassle if you are not satisfied with the way it is cooked. My favorites beyond the shrimp korma are bartha (eggplant) and the spinach pakora. Naan, paratha, and roti breads all look and taste the same to me (like naans at other restaurants) but are always tasty and fresh.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Who'd believe you'd find Indian food this good in Sterling, VA?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This restaurant is located in a strip mall next to the Regal Countryside movie theatres on Route 7 across from Dulles Town Center. It is so nondescript that it took us a while to even realize it was there, even though we frequently see movies at Regal. In our experience, some of the best food we have ever eaten is cooked in these hole-in-the-wall family restaurants in suburban strip malls, and Balti is one of the best such places. We've been there twice in the past two weeks, and are going again tonight because this is where my wife wants to have dinner for her birthday. This should give you an idea of how much we like it. The food is really well prepared, the service very attentive, and the atmosphere pleasant and not too fancy. I especially like the palak paneer and the naan, but everything we have eaten there is quite good. They are very good about making sure the spiciness of the food is to American tastes. We will be going back often.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balti Tandoori Indian Restaurant also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Balti Tandoori Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balti Tandoori Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.