We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Hyatt Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21481 Ridgetop Circle, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Gas Card Package
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Another great Hyatt Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

I've stayed at other Hyatt Place hotels and always expect the best - and this did not disappoint. Very clean comfortable rooms - large rooms with a sofa area and desk. Giant flat screen TV. Great customer service - a greeting every time I saw an employee.

Just what one would expect from a Hyatt property - an excellent stay - top notch!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    49
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
43
30
16
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Visited Washington area for two nights. Hyatt Place was under $65 per night on AARP. Wondered what might be wrong with it at that rate but took the chance. NOTHING was wrong and SO MUCH was right. Great room with separate sitting and sleeping area, free wireless WiFi and 42 in TV. Great staff. Good complimentatary continental breakfast with hot food option. Fairly close to Dulles airport. A little far to drive into the city but it was an easy and pleasant 35 minuted drive - and its parking was free (unlike city hotels). Good area with nearby restaurants. Definitely a place to stay if heading to the capital region. It was a great find.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

We booked a room at the Hyatt Place Dulles Airport North because we had an early flight from IAD the next day. We booked the room through our travel agent, and paid a higher rate for "Park, Sleep and Fly". The agency, International Holidays, has a contract with the hotel to provide 24 hr. "on-demand" shuttle service to the airport if you need a ride outside of the hotel's usual shuttle hours. I always double-check and confirm all of our details before we start our trips, so days ahead of time, I called the hotel directly and asked if it was true that we would have 24 hr. on-demand shuttle service. The man on the phone, "Samir", said yes; "if you need a shuttle outside of our normal hours, the hotel calls a cab for you and it is paid for by the hotel". I wrote down his name for confirmation. When we arrived at the hotel, we told the people at check-in that we would be needing transportation to the airport for a 6 a.m. flight., and we wanted to use the 24 hr. on-demand service that their contract with International Holidays provides. We were told that there was no such service and that we would have to pay for the cab ourselves. I said that I spoke with Samir on the phone, and he had told me we would have that service. He said that that was him, but that he never said such a thing. Mind you, this is the night before we left the country on a well-planned vacation. There was nobody we could call for help at the travel agency at that time, so we just paid for the cab and hoped to straighten it out once we got back. We were also booked at the same hotel on the night that we came back from our vacation. The man at the Hyatt front desk said to keep our cab receipt and "maybe" they could "do something" for us when we returned. On Friday night, March 13, 2009, we called the hotel at 10:45 p.m. to ask for a shuttle back to the hotel. We were told that the last one just left, and that they couldn't wait for us, and there was nothing they could do for us. So, after nearly a week out of the country, we paid for another cab back to the Hyatt. I asked to speak to the manager, and was told that he wasn't there. The front desk person said he was scheduled to be there at 8 a.m. on Sat. March 14. We checked out of the hotel at nearly 10 a.m., and were told he was still not there. While we have always stayed with Hyatt in the past, this mess has caused us to lose faith with Hyatt. The people at the desk should know about the contracts and policies and guests should not have to deal with that level of stress while away from home. We paid $35. for the cab to the airport, after the front desk person told us it should be $20. The ride back to the hotel was $30. I think that an additional cost of $65. after we booked the hotel with the assurance that those rides were included is ridiculous. And the fact that nobody was willing or able to help reflects very poorly on the reputation of the Hyatt name.
After we returned home, I emailed the manager at the Hyatt. He did confirm that the contract with International Holidays entitled us to 24 hr. shuttle service, and agreed to pay for the cab fare to the airport, but he refused to pay for the return trip to the hotel at the end of our trip. The Park, Sleep and Fly servuce doesn't end until they get you back to your car, which is at their hotel. I stated that to the manager, Mr. Sharma, but got no reply. A couple of weeks later, we received a check in the mail for only the cab fare TO the airport, and not the return fare.
All in all, we chose to stay at a Hyatt because we love their beautiful rooms and nice breakfast. These things were all good, but the general incompetence and lack of knowledge of policies on the part of the check-in staff has left me doubting that we'll ever stay in a Hyatt again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
2,285 helpful votes 2,285 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for two weeks for business training. The location was excellent, as it was located on the same street as the company. This hotel is completely set up for the business traveler.

The reception was friendly and efficient. Check-in took less than five minutes. The receptionist explained all of the hotel amenities. Since there are no smoking rooms in the hotel, the receptionist was gracious enough to locate us in a room that was close enough to an exit to be able to smoke outside conveniently.

The room rate included a simple continental breakfast consisting of bagels, a variety of bread, cold cuts, fresh fruit, cereals, coffee, tea, orange juice, milk, and for an extra fee, you could have made a made to order warm breakfast of bacon, eggs, etc.

The hotel room was big, and set up like a suite. It had a sitting area with a table, love seat and chair, and there was also a desk and chair, with free internet access. The room also had a very large flat screen LCD tv, mounted on the wall on a rotating arm, and could be moved around so you could watch the tv from any angle in the room. The tv also had mounted wall jacks so you could actually hook your computer up to it, and use the tv as a computer screen.

The bed and pillows were comfortable. The black-out curtains were very effective in blocking out light, so you could get a good night's sleep. There was a coffee maker in the room with an assortment of teas and coffees. The coffee maker was set on it's own little sink in the room, so you did not need to use the bathroom sink to make water for your coffee or tea.

The bathroom was clean and roomy. There was a full complement of complimentary toiletries, replenished daily.

There is plenty of free parking. The hotel also had a small bar. Although the hotel does not have it's own restaurant, there are plenty within walking distance.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again next time we need to return to the Virginia office. A good choice for the business traveler. We were so impressed with this hotel that we recommended it to other colleagues.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

I decided to try Hyatt Place to change it up as I usually stay at the Marriott Residence Inn. While the hotel itself was nice and offered free wi-fi, the bed itself was way too firm. I like soft mattresses. I woke up several times thru the night. I've stayed at regular Hyatts before and always found their beds comfortable so this was a surprise. Its cheaper than the Residence Inn but I will not be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Fl
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

Ok, we went there as a little romantic getaway spring break 08, and the main purpose was to go to Washington DC, but we didn't find anything reasonable for our budget so we stayed here. It is a little far away from DC, maybe half hour, it took us like an hour to get there b/c you have to get the free shuttle to the airport, then get on the metrobus in the airport and get off at Roslyn... but we were up for that b/c the hotel was great. The staff was amazingly friendly, helpful, the breakfast was actually very good, everything was very clean. The rooms were beautiful, they had the big screen tv, bigger than in my own house, a little sink and fridge, closet, private little living room and comfy clean bathrooms....I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. It may not be the best choice if your planning on going to DC every day and your not up for the bus rides and the adventure :-) Recommend to anyone!!!!

  • Liked — Friendly Staff - restaurants walking distance!!!!
  • Disliked — Nothing..
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightwood, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

One of the best places to stay in the Sterling area. The decor is upscale and modern; large LCD TV in the room; high quality continental breakfast; convenient bar/refreshment area in the lobby; free internet; within walking distance to TGIFriday's, Sweetwater, etc.

  • Liked — Amenities
  • Disliked — Small closet
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Address: 21481 Ridgetop Circle, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Place Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Sterling
Sterling Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.