We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20 minutes from airport - Shuttle stops at 11pm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21481 Ridgetop Circle, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Gas Card Package
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“20 minutes from airport - Shuttle stops at 11pm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I booked through Hotwire and was very unhappy to learn that the shuttle stops running at 11pm AND it is very far from the airport. The taxi driver and I passed at least a dozen hotels on the way to this one. Without any traffic it took 20 minutes to get there. And cost me $23! I would have paid the same amount if I'd booked directly with a hotel AND I would have been certain the shuttle was running. Huge. Hassle. But Hotwire's fault - not the hotel's.

But. The hotel is very nice! The night manager was very polite and checked me in quickly. The room is a two room huge suite - attractive and clean. The manager clued me into some delicious breakfast offerings in the morning (I got a tasty egg bagel sandwich to go). There was a nice selection of fruit and hot tea, too. He also asked the shuttle to take me to the airport at 6:30am while they normally run the shuttle every hour.

If you're driving or you're getting into the airport before 11pm I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Remember the airport shuttle stops at 11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney S, Manager at Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Greetings!

Thank you for staying with us here at Hyatt Place Sterling and for sharing your experience!

We are happy to hear that you were able to check in so quickly and that you enjoyed your stay! Also, it's great to hear you were able to take the shuttle to the airport the next morning while enjoying on our breakfast sandwiches!

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    48
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
43
28
16
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel was designed with the customer in mind. The layout of the room is perfect. It has a sitting area with a large desk, empty fridge and a granite countertop with small sink and coffee maker. The tub/toilet is a separate room from the dressing area so if one is showering, another may use the sink and counter area without a fogged mirror. Also storage drawers are located below the dressing room counter for easy access. Really convenient. Towels are large and fluffy, the bed is comfortable and a large screen TV swivels between sleeping and lounging area. The water from the dressing area sink spigot comes out warm. I thought that was really a nice touch.
Breakfast is included and egg entrees are changed daily for variety. Bagels, sweet rolls, cereal, oatmeal and fresh cut fruit is also included.
Something unique is a bar area where you may order flatbread or sandwiches and a nice glass of wine in the evening if you just do not feel like going out. Salads are also available and a nice array of desserts are on display as well. Warm cookies too!
However, if you need to rely on the hotel shuttle to/from airport as we did, it is a fair distance and the hotel provides only hourly service. Shopping and restaurants are not within walking distance so a car is really important.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney S, Manager at Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Good evening Sandra,

Thank you so much for staying with us here at Hyatt Place Sterling and for taking the time to share your experience while you were here! We truly appreciate it since we know there are so many hotels to choose from in the area.

I don't think you could have described our rooms more perfectly and you touched on all of my favorite things as well! Especially having an area to get ready for the day away from the shower and steamy mirror.

Hopefully you were able to try a few of the many different options we have to offer off of our 24/7 gallery menu during your stay. We are looking forward to your next visit with us so we can recommend a few of our favorites.

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayville, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here last month for a softball tournament. Hotel accommodations were topnotch as I have come to expect from this chain. Rooms were large and comfortable, with the living area being adequate for a group of girls to watch movies.

While there during the week, we received a discounted rate because of the tournament. We needed to extend our stay by an additional day, and found online that the rate for the additional day was lower than the weekday rate. When I stopped at the desk to extend, the clerk offered me my current rate. When I mentioned that the online rate was lower, the response was "go book it online then". This is something that I have not experienced with Hyatt previously. I am currently a Platinum Club member with Hyatt, and was quite surprised that this was their attitude.

Other than that, I would recommend this property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney S, Manager at Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Good afternoon Jeff,

Thank you for staying with us here at Hyatt Place Sterling! We truly appreciate your loyatly to Hyatt as we know there are many properties to choose from in the area.

I completely agree with you on the room size when it comes to a bunch of girls wanting to spend time together watching movies. Our large sofas are great for making sure there is a seat for everyone!

Next time you are in town and need to extend your reservation outside of the block dates, please let myself or any manager on duty know and we will be more than happy to take care of that for you.

We are looking forward to your next trip to Hyatt Place Sterling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stay here everytime I come to the area and I'm never let down. The staff is great and very helpful. The amenities are abundant and make you feel right at home. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable which include a refrigerator and extra couch living area.

Room Tip: You'll always get a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney S, Manager at Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hello Danny,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share one of your many experiences here with us at Hyatt Place Sterling!

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay once again, and are a fan of our spacious rooms. That is one of my favorite aspects of Hyatt Place's.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Average hotel in a great location. Nice breakfast buffet. Close to Dulles Airport and the Air and Space Museum (you've got to go there, what an experience for space travel experts). Very polite and helpful staff. Outside pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney S, Manager at Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for staying with us here at Hyatt Place Sterling as well as providing us with your feedback! We truly appreciate your business!

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast, pool and the close distance to the airport! The Air and Space Museum is a great spot to visit while in the area so we are glad to hear you were able to visit. It is quite the experience!

Our staff is looking forward to your next visit to the area and we hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenshaw, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed there June 18-22nd with my husband, who was there on business, and it was quite enjoyable. Everyone who works there is so pleasant, and the maids did a wonderful job of cleaning the rooms every day. The rooms have a small sink & fridge (no microwave), and the tv is in the middle of the room so you can face it towards the living room or bedroom. The free breakfast in the morning had a great selection. The hotel was really full while we were there but you would not have known it, the rooms are really quiet. There is a bar and food for purchase in the lobby if you don't feel like going out, and there are really great restaurants in the strip mall down the road, which is within walking distance. The pool could have been cleaner - there was dirt, etc floating daily and guests were actually using the pool net to scoop debris out, but there are plently of towels and chairs in the area for you to use. My only problems with the hotel is the lack of drawers to put clothing, etc in. - there is only 1 drawer, so we had to leave most of our stuff in suitcases, and there is no safe in the room. Overall I defintely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney S, Manager at Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Good afternoon Yvonne,

Thank you for staying here with us at Hyatt Place Sterling! We truly appreciate your business as we know there are many hotels to choose from in the area!

Hyatt Place is designed mainly for business travelers by providing you with a bit of extra space in your room in addition to our other ammenities. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of the majority of them, and we are looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The value for this hotel was really good. The breakfast was good and they have a variety of stuff to pick from. The hotel and the rooms itself were really nice. The hotel staff where all friendly. The location is good it's about 30-45 mins away from D.C., without traffic. Well stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney S, Manager at Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Greetings Nancy!

Thank you so much for staying with us here at Hyatt Place Sterling as we truly appreciate your business as well as your feedback.

Our new breakfast items are wonderful and the variety can't be beat! We are glad that you were able to enjoy the variety we have to offer.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Address: 21481 Ridgetop Circle, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Place Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Sterling
Sterling Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.