We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious but ugly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21481 Ridgetop Circle, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Spacious but ugly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Photos are misleading. It's not nearly as nice. There is a noisy wall air conditioner and the place smells like mildew. It is spacious with a giant flat screen tv but thank goodness we were only there for one quick night. And it is a little far from the airport. No, not again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceSterling, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for your response as all feedback is welcome. I am terribly sorry you had such a substandard experience at our hotel. We strive to exceed the expectations of all of our valued guests and I am very disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations. I am happy to hear that you liked the space and the giant flat screen television. Please know that the concerns you expressed have already been brought to the attention of the hotel's General Manager so that those issues can be resolved. Again, thank you for the feedback and I do hope you give us another chance if you are ever again in the area. I assure you that your next stay will be much better. I hope you enjoy the rest of your week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    52
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
45
30
17
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Very large room with a couch & large flat screen TV. However, room is poorly laid out & the closet is practically an afterthought (if one person is using the bathroom sink, it is impossible to access the tiny closet). No place to put luggage except on the couch or adjacent to the desk.

Multiple requests to fix the air conditioner were ignored; maintenance simply lowered the setting & room remained too warm.

Breakfast was better than average with several different kinds of fresh fruit. However, on Sunday morning, every available space was jammed, even with an adjacent meeting room opened and in use by families.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceSterling, General Manager at Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hello ClevelandJP,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay in the hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you had a few issues with your room and air conditioning, if you would like please reach out to me via message and I would be more than happy to work with you further on this. I am however, glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast. It is an option that we are very proud of and have worked hard to make great. We had a large party in this weekend which made it pretty busy in the morning, weekends are usually much more relaxed. I'm sure when we see you next things will be much more easy going.

Thank you again for your feedback and we'll see you soon.

General Manager
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Pros: The room has a big couch (which we never used), the room layout is kinda nice with a half-divider between bedroom and living room, with good-size TV and the complimentary breakfast was decent. Price was affordable too via priceline.

Cons: The lobby was too cramped compared to other hotels - it served as their frontdesk/bar/breakfast area/sitting area. It got too crowded in the morning when everybody was trying to get breakfast. The bathroom was small, no tub and shower stall was a bit narrow. Bed was a little too hard for my preference.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceSterling, General Manager at Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hello biker_bunny,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay in our hotel. I'm happy to hear than you enjoyed the room and the breakfast on your stay. I'm sorry to hear however, that your breakfast experience was not as good as the food. We had a few large groups in over the weekend which made it pretty tight in the morning. I hope next time you are in the area you will give us a try again so we can try again at giving you a peaceful morning breakfast experience.

Thank you again for your feedback!

General Manager
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hotel is not right next to Dulles but is not that far away. The rooms are very large.
The lobby is very attractive (standard Hyatt Place) and we found the service to be pretty good.
The breakfast is of high quality. No complaints here at all -- a very attractive proposition
for the cost.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

It was big room with lot of space... although not very close from Airport... Customer service was also upto mark .booked through priceline for $90 a night.. would stay again for that price range in DC area..

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I will not recommend this hotel where I have stayed the last couple of times. As today, they remained unsolved with closed captioning problems while watching a prime HBO programs on TV (e.g. the captions suddenly disappear or become garbled). The other channels are fine.

I assume it must be the feed from HBO is just a pass through your system (TV transmitter box). Since people with hearing loss, or deafness, rely on Closed Caption, whether the problem of Hyatt end-user or your cable provider is probably required to actually FIX the problem, unlike how they can get away with allowing other aspects of your cable TV service quality to be sub-par.

I don,t think they want to resolve this – surely every Hyatt customer in this area who depends on seeing this problem too, but they just don’t know how to deal with it. It’s very frustrating.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here because our son just moved to the Sterling area. The room was clean but there was no closet for hanging clothes. We overlooked a dirty alcove/balcony area with rocks and equipment. The bathroom was extremely tight and there was no shelf for shampoo or anything which you would have had to put on the shower floor. Pillows flattened as soon as you laid on them. The room heater kept turning on and off all night with the fan so that was disturbing. The worst was that while the room had a nice sized flat screen TV, it didn't get any channels! The only channel that came in clear was the movie rental channel. The handful of digital channels had terrible feeds so they kept breaking up and the rest were all analog and were so fuzzy they weren't worth watching. We just wanted to come back and relax for a couple of hours at night and it was very frustrating. We called down to the desk and they said they couldn't do anything about the TV, that was the way it was. The topping on the cake was when the front desk person said she could not give me a receipt for my stay, that it was a confidentiality issue and if I wanted a receipt, I had to call Expedia because I booked with them. We will not stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Address: 21481 Ridgetop Circle, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Place Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Sterling
Sterling Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.