We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Staff Shines” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21481 Ridgetop Circle, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hotel Staff Shines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

The Hyatt Place in Sterling gave us everything we wanted and needed with the standard amenities and a comfortable king-size bed. Two things stand out: the first is the unique floor plan. A divider wall separates the bed from the entrance area. In the entrance area is a comfortable wrap-around couch, a wet bar and granite counter, a work desk and a closet area with a large sweater drawer. The bathroom is immediately off the sleeping area. This junior suite arrangement allows a person to convene a group for coffee or for one of the couple to read on the couch while the other is in the darkened sleeping area asleep. What meant the most to me in the end, though, is that 15 minutes after I checked out I realized that I had left behind on the coffee table a folder of important papers. I called Matt at the front desk, who promised to run upstairs to "rescue" the folder before the maids cleaned the room and disposed of trash. The very good news is that the maids had recognized the importance of the folder and had put it aside for safe-keeping. Matt easily retrieved the folder, and shortly thereafter I picked it up from the front desk. So, thank you Matt and housekeeping staff for helping to end our stay on such a positive note. I will definitely return! The only reason I'm not rating the hotel "5" is that it is currently undergoing renovation, which very slightly inconvenienced us. Of course the renovation is good news for future travelers!

Room Tip: Ask to stay on a floor that is already renovated or on which the renovation has not yet begun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    52
    20
    9
    8
See reviews for
45
31
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Our second stay here - by choice. Comfortable bed, quiet room. We stayed on the top floor - #6 this time and could hear nothing below us. Decent continental breakfast included with cereal, juices, fresh fruit, yoghurt, bagels, etc. from 7:30 - 9:30. Free shuttle to Dulles airport. Staff very accommodating. You can order some pre-prepared food and beverages 24/7 by the reception desk which is particularly nice even though this is not one of the high end Hyatts. When my husband had a glass of wine ($6.50), I asked for and got a 1/2 glass of wine and was not charged for it. A nice touch. A bowl of fresh apples is always available. The price for a double room (queen sized bed) was $66. plus tax. which seemed very reasonable for the outer D.C. area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

The hotel is undergoing major renovation. If you want peace and quiet - stay away. Call ahead to see if they are done with the renovation. We stayed there for 5 days and the only days we had peace were on xmas and day after. The constant drilling and banging and dust and smell of paint, glue, latex was terrible. When I called to ask them about the drilling - the man at the front desk said, "you are more than welcome to leave." Oh wow! I cannot believe this is Hyatt. Never again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I typically stay at the Lansdowne Resort when traveling to Virginia but it was booked as well as other hotels in the area. This was the only hotel available for my stay.

Things didn't start off well, I had a late flight and called the hotel to let them know I'd be late but to hold my room. When I got to the hotel my reservation had been cancelled as a 'no show'. After a very long flight that had been delayed this was not welcome news. Because they'd given away my original room, I was assigned a room in a construction floor. The hallway had plastic on the floors and it was obvious the room across from me was undergoing major work. Just seems to be my luck, always construction around me.

On the plus side the room was really big with a very large flat screen TV, I'd say in the 42" to 45" range. The room had a little wet bar with refigerator, sink and coffee maker. This would be great for anyone traveling with a larger party.

Another downside was the lack of room service. This is important for me when business traveling since I don't always like to eat out. They had some express 24 service but there wasn't any information in the room on how to use it, they referred you to the concierge who was always busy. I did order breakfast one morning and it was horrible. The scrambled eggs were overcooked and rubbery, the bacon was also rubbery like it was microwaved. I didn't eat here much. The continental breakfast looked ok with bagels, toast, fruit and yogurt.

I wouldn't stay here again if I had a choice, more of a 4 to 5 star hotel person.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERLIN, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Great location, clean, comfortable bed, bedding and great pillows. Spacious and comfortable sitting area that I could turn the flat screen towards. (The furniture in sitting area could use an update. This is my only negative comment). The refrigerator, coffee maker and wet bar made my 2 night stay even more comfortable. The staff was efficient and checking in and out was a breeze. Breakfast was included and I enjoyed yogurt, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, excellent fuit bowl and pretty good coffee. House keeping was very quiet and I was able to sleep inn. I rate the experience and price as excellent. I made my reservation thru Pricelines bidding site Thank you Haytt Place!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

we used the hyatt place as a base for a family weekend in Washington DC. we did not want to stay in the center of dc, we chose this hotel because we have had only good experiences with Hyatt . the hotel was clean, the room large, and very clean. the staff was very accomadating. check in was easy, but the most incredible thing about the hotel was the price. our stay took advantage of the lower. weekend rate.there is a branch of the smithsonian air and space museum about ten minutes away by car, and DC is about 30 minutes by car. the complimentary breakfast was a good way to save time and money. there was a ton of places to shop and eat all within 5 miles.Perils of the lost jungle mini golf was about 9 miles away, and a lot of fun.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

The front desk staff were very friendly and efficient (especially Fabbi!). The room was spacious and clean, large plasma TV. Oh and FREE WiFi!!! Breakfast each morning is a nice continental with an option to buy a full breakfast. Nice little bar area which is really part of the front desk but perfect for a quick bite to eat or drink. They found a great way to have a limited service property with good size rooms (junior suites really) and some full service amentiies with this Hyatt Place concept. Property is about 20 minutes to Dulles and walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Short drive to outlet shopping.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North

Address: 21481 Ridgetop Circle, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Place Hotel Sterling
Hyatt Sterling
Sterling Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.