We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normal Hampton Inn...but staff is EXCEPTIONAL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   46331 McClellan Way, Sterling, VA 20165   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersGold level
Foresthill, Ca
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Normal Hampton Inn...but staff is EXCEPTIONAL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Clean, quiet and well-priced Hampton Inn about 15 mins from Dulles airport. Staff is exceptional, truly exceptional - they set the standard for other Hamptons to follow. I'll be back......Hotel is near a few restaurants, grocery story and Dulles airport (15 mins approx)....Rooms are a bit dated and cheap fixtures. Nice lounge area for breakfast, reasonably priced. I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Hello ScottB68,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We love to hear from our guests.

We are very happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and that the team was able to be a big part of that. We strongly believe that people make all the difference in the world and we feel our team here at the hotel is very special. Everyone takes great pride in really taking care of our guests. We are actually wrapping up a room renovation and it sounds like you may have stayed in one of the last rooms that still are waiting to be updated. We hope that you like the updates to the room and all of the new fixtures and equipment we are installing.

We are looking forward to the next time you are in the area and we have another chance to serve you.

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles/Cascades Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    59
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
77
39
26
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We needed a moderately priced place to stay while visiting my father in a nursing home 2 miles away. The Hampton Inn felt like a home away from home. The desk clerk who greeted us upon check-in treated us like family. The lobby is gorgeous as is the breakfast room (free breakfast!), with dark, hardwood paneling, a two-sided fireplace, granite counters. The sleeping rooms are clean and offer the usual amenities: iron, hair dryer, toiletries, coffee and coffee maker, big flat-screen TV, and the bonus of free wi-fi. The bed was not as firm as I like, but the bedding was very comfortable. As a Hilton Honors member, I took advantage of the late check-out, which added to the entirely pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear susaness,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We always love to hear from our guests.

It is great that we were able to make you feel warm and welcomed during your stay with us. We do all that we can for our guests in order to provide them with the best. We are glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our great breakfast as well. The hotel is also in the middle of a complete room renovation where literally everything is being replaced. Hopefully that will resolve the issue you had with the firmness of the bed and hopefully add to your experience.

We are looking forward to having another chance to serve you the next time you are in the area again.

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles/Cascades Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Booked the "park 'n ride" package online at the Hampton website. If you book early enough, you may be able to secure the "advance purchase" price. Excellent price. Good service. Good breakfast. Once we returned from our trip, we contacted the hotel so they could come pick us up. They informed us that they had problems with the transporter and was unavailable. They advised us to take a taxi and be sure to get a receipt. We did exactly that. We took this receipt into the front desk and they immediately reimbursed us. Good business practice. Thank you.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Hello bonnshack,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our great Park N Fly package.

We take serving our guests very seriously and do everything that we can to provide the highest level of service possible. We apologize the shuttle wasn’t available for your return but it’s good to hear you weren’t inconvenienced at all.

We are looking forward to having another opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles Cascades Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I stayed here for a week while attending a training conference across the street from the hotel. I really only had one complaint about the entire stay. The internet was so incredibly slow! For anyone that is travelling on business and needs to use the internet at night, it just isn't near enough bandwidth. I was getting around 2K transfer rates, less than half of an old 56k modem. I had to turn the wirelss on my phone off and just go with the 3G speed because that too was much faster. Wired or wireless, speed was the same. So that was a big disappointment when trying to get work in after training was done for the day. On the plus side, the room was large, the bathroom was huge, and the HVAC worked well and was very quiet. If the internet would have been up to par, it would have been a 5 star stay for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Hello bobbaphatt,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your experience staying at our hotel. We love hearing from our guests.

We are happy to hear that for the most part you really enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your liking. Regarding the internet, unfortunately we often find that our guests experience slow internet occasionally like you did when a lot of people stream movies and other video. This is an unfortunate consequence of having unlimited free internet available to our guests despite having over 200mb of bandwidth dedicated to guest service. We are in the testing phase of a new program to resolve this issue by offering free throttled service and other higher speed options for a small additional fee.

We hope to see you again soon the next time you are in the area again.

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles/Cascades Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011 via mobile

I had a great week long stay here. The shuttle service was exceptional and the rooms very clean.

You really can't hear any of the airplane noise and there is a mall located within walking distance.

I liked this hotel alot - it felt more like in a suburb versus a busy, international transport area.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Hello ua85,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such kind words about our hotel. We love hearing from our guests.

We are absolutely thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make you feel at home. We are especially glad to hear that you enjoyed our location too. We think that our location is perfect with all of the conveniences of an airport hotel without the noise and craziness at properties closer to the airport. We also have a great mall in walking distance with many shops and restaurants for our guests to use.

We are looking forward to the next time you are in the area and we have another chance to serve you!

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles/Cascades Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades for one night last April. We arrived to Dulles Airport very late and wanted to stay near the airport. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly. There are several stores and restaurants in the surroundings, including a 24 hour McDonalds which was great for our late arrival. We had asked for a king room with a sofa bed and, eventhough we got this hotel through Hotwire, our request was fulfilled. They have serve a complimentary breakfast which was very convenient for an early start the next morning. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Hi mxtravelingirl,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We are vary happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make your late arrival as smooth of a process as possible. We do whatever we can to take care of our guests and provide them with the best service and amenities no matter how big or small the request is.

We are looking forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles/Cascades Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed at this hotel at the end of our vacation. The next day we were to fly out of Dulles. The staff was kind and helpful. The hotel is in good condition. Our room faced the highway but we could not hear the traffic. The morning we were to check out, we wanted our children to swim in the pool, to use some extra energy before heading to the airport. The pool was closed all day for cleaning. We explained that we chose the hotel mainly to have the kids swim. The staff cleaned the pool for us in less than an hour and then delivered a plate fo cookies to us to take with us to the airport. We did not complain about the pool, only expressed how we had hoped to swim. Great customer service for sure. Next time we fly out of Dules we will stay in this Hampton Inn. They won us over with their service.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear athomemom,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We love hearing fro our guests especially when it they had a great time.

We are glad to hear that the hotel was up to your expectations of cleanliness and had all of the facilities you were looking for. We know that a lot of hotels can offer guests similar amenities but we believe that it is service that lets us stand apart. We really try to go that extra mile to provide what ever our guests need and make sure they are treated like family.

The entire team is looking forward to having another opportunity to serve you again the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles/Cascades Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades

Address: 46331 McClellan Way, Sterling, VA 20165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sterling
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#2 Family Hotel in Sterling
#4 Green Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Dulles International Airport and close to all of Washington DC's attractions, you'll find the brand new Hampton Inn Cascades. Nestled in the heart of the Cascades Town Center, you'll find an abundance of restaurants, shops and entertainment opportunities just a short walk from the hotel's front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades Hotel Sterling
Hampton Inn Sterling
Sterling Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.