We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way---highest possible recommendation!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   46331 McClellan Way, Sterling, VA 20165   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersGold level
Sterling, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way---highest possible recommendation!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We live just a few miles from the Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades. But our A/C went out and we needed somewhere to stay until it was repaired. We went in and talked to the friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable front desk staff who offered sympathy for our situation, and a wide range of rooms. The Hampton Inn (as of this writing, at least) is pet-friendly (dogs must weigh under 50 lbs.) which was a requirement, since both dogs suffer in the heat even more than we do. There was no extra charge or deposit for the pups. (We had crates for them, pooper bags, and a full range of gear, so we were responsible pet owners). We were given a corner room with a kitchenette, which was very quiet.
The entire facility is immaculate! I'm sure there are cleaning staff supervisors elsewhere who check on rooms after the housecleaning person has done the room, but I have never seen supervisors be as active and diligent as they were at the Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades. (We could see her doing her inspections when we took the dogs out for their 'walks.')
The staff at this Inn are obviously well-selected and trained. EVERYONE we encountered was extremely friendly, which made our situation much more pleasant.
Another great feature is the hot breakfast, offered 6-10AM. There is the usual nutritious fare---fruit, cereal, bagels, etc.---but I opted for the home fries, bacon, sausage, bagel toppers, omelets, etc. as a rare 'treat.' (There are 3 hot selections every morning). The breakfast area is roomy and sunny, and includes a big-screen TV. A fake fireplace would be pleasant in cooler temps.
This is just a wonderful place to stay, and I cannot recommend it highly enough. It isn't too far from Dulles Airport (there's a shuttle), and nearby facilities include a grocery store, Dave's BBQ, Logan Roadhouse Restaurant, a coffee shop, and quite a bit of shopping.

Room Tip: Ask about discounts for retired government employees, AAA, AARP.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Hello StLouisnative1948,

We are very thankful that you took the time to write a review of our hotel.

We are always glad to help our our guests whether they are flying in from another country or driving from just down the road. We do our best to make everyone feel at home during their stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you were able to relax.

We are expanding the pet policy at the hotel in the near future to allow all of our guests four legged friends stay with us for free. I will also make sure to pass your compliments on to the team. We all take personal pride in providing for our guests and you comments will mean a lot to the team.

We hope to see you again soon the next time you need relief from the heat or just traveling through.

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles/Cascades Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    42
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
51
33
21
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Can't complain, the place was clean, staff was helpful and the breakfast was well stocked. The hotel was cheap and lived up to all the expectations. It's nothing special but there's nothing wrong with that. The location was nothing special but it was right next to route 7. It was definitely a good value.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Hello app05156,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your experience at our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you got everything that you expected. We are glad that our team was able to make you feel welcome and take care of any needs you had. We are also happy that you were able to take advantage of breakfast and start your day off right.

It is good to hear that you enjoyed our location, right off route 7, with easy access to several major routes in the area. We hope that you were able to visit some of the many shops and restaurants in the Cascades Market Place all in walking distance of the hotel.

We are looking forward to the next time you are in the area and we have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles/Cascades Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I traveled for DC for a week long course that was scheduled to take place at this Hampton Inn. Due to some communication conflicts between myself and the course manager, I didn't have a room reserved. The hotel staff went out of their way to make sure I was taken care of even though they were completely booked. They guaranteed a room for the first two nights, but were sold out the last three. The staff check for reserve rooms that had been blocked so I could continue my stay.
All the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a true bar with fresh fruit, hot meal (different each day) and cold cereal. The hotel is walking distance to shops and restaurants. Also, the neighborhood is safe for running in the morning. If I travel out this way again, I will definitely give this hotel a look.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Hello travbud540,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear that you had such a good time while you were staying at our hotel for your training. We are sorry that there was a mis-communication with the course instructor that resulted in you not having a room reserved. We are glad to hear that we were able to accommodate you for the entire week regardless.

We are glad to hear that you were able to start your day right and take advantage of the hot breakfast buffet that we serve every morning. We are also glad to hear that you could take advantage of our location and try out all of the restaurants and shops that are within walking distance of the hotel.

We are looking forward to the next time that you are in the area and we have another chance to serve you again.

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles/Cascades Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

The hoted is in a great location, clean, good value and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Dear CatsMom2,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and, from what it sounds like, able to take advantage of our great location.

We are looking forward to the next opportunity we have to serve you again.

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles/Cascades Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

I arrived here after 36 hours of travel, and 12 hours from my timezone, and yet managed to have a very good night's sleep here - such a comfortable bed, and quiet hotel.

Things I liked about this hotel:
- very comfortable bed
- all the essential facilities in the room - refrigerator, iron etc plus a recycling bin which I thought was great
- very clean
- great staff at front desk and at breakfast
- lovely breakfast, and enough variety to have a range, whether you were healthy eater (fruit salad, yoghurt, oatmeal) or wanted to try donuts, waffles etc
- nice atmosphere - warm feeling in breakfast room/lobby, and lounges and TV
- rooms very cosy and comfortable - I would've been very content to just stay in and not venture outside
- free ample parking
- small shop downstairs to buy the essentials
- very convenient location for both the airport and shopping
- business centre/internet free, accessible by the room keys

I would definitely stay here again, anytime, and not even bother to look further at other hotels in the area - loved everything, and there was absolutely nothing that I didn't love.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
Dear EvilGeminiTwin,

Thank you very much for writing such a detailed and thorough review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear that you had such a pleasant experience staying with us at the hotel. We know how difficult traveling can be and we do our best to take care of all our guests' needs so that they can relax. We are very happy that we were able to accomplish this for you. We are very happy that you got to take advantage of all the great amenities that we offer our guests.

We are looking forward to the next time you are in the area and we have another chance to serve you.

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles/Cascades Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

I was recently here for an evening while stranded at Dulles Airport. Although the hotel's airport shuttle had ceased operations for the evening, they paid for a taxi to the property. The room was a pretty standard Hampton layout - large & clean but not luxurious. The free wi-fi available was a bonus.

The breakfast buffet was varied with hot and cold choices. As mentioned, there is a free shuttle to the airport. There is a fitness room in the property but I didn't get a chance to check it out. There is also a little store adjacent to the check in counter for sundry items.

I was satisfied with my quick and unexpected one night stay here and would recommend this Hampton to others.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management at Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Dear rjc260,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We value all of our guest reviews and take each seriously.

We are glad that you had a positive experience and that we were able to take care of you after being stranded at Dulles. We are glad that you were able to start your day off right with the complementary breakfast and that you could take advantage of the shuttle to get to the airport at least.

We hope that we will have another opportunity to serve you on your next planned trip to the area.

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles/Cascades Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Everything about this hotel is great. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. Their continental breakfast is one of the best I've ever had. It includes everything from fresh fruit, to scrambled eggs and sausage. You can even make your own waffles. The selection is vast.

The pool is inside, so weather is never an issue. They say it's heated, but it still feels cold when you first get it. It take a moment to adjust, then it's nice. It's a little small, and only goes from 3.5 to 4.5 feet in depth. There is a nice jacuzzi outside. They also have a basketball court.

The room was clean, and problem-free. A very comfortable place to sleep.

There were several large groups staying there during my stay. A family reunion, and some kids sports teams. Even so, I never heard them at night. Guess they weren't on my floor. ;o) (The pool got a bit crazy sometimes though.)

I would *highly* recommend this hotel.

(Since the management reads these - Thank you for making my stay so pleasant!)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management at Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Hello kray257,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We take all of our guests' feedback seriously so that we can always try and improve their experience at out hotel.

We are very happy to hear that you had such a positive experience while you stayed with us! We know how difficult it can be when you are traveling to find a comfortable place to stay and do our best to consistently provide that to our guests. We are glad that you were able to start your day off with a great breakfast after a comfortable nights rest. It also sounds like you were able to take advantage of our indoor pool and enjoyed that as well.

We are looking forward to the next opportunity we have to serve you again!

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles/Cascades Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades Hotel Sterling
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades Hotel
Hampton Inn Sterling
Sterling Hampton Inn
Address: 46331 McClellan Way, Sterling, VA 20165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Sterling
#4 Family Hotel in Sterling
#7 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Dulles International Airport and close to all of Washington DC's attractions, you'll find the brand new Hampton Inn Cascades. Nestled in the heart of the Cascades Town Center, you'll find an abundance of restaurants, shops and entertainment opportunities just a short walk from the hotel's front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.